petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med All Natural Hermit Crab Sea Sponge

Zoo Med All Natural Hermit Crab Sea Sponge

Hermit crabs enjoy drinking their water through a sponge rather than an open dish of waterAnd, it helps prevent accidental drowning of your hermit crabProvides beneficial humidity which is necessary for the long-term health of your hermit crabMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med All Natural Hermit Crab Sea Sponge
Review 1 for Zoo Med All Natural Hermit Crab Sea Sponge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

To Sponge or not to Sponge

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
Let's be honest, the hype on sea sponges is just that...hype. If you provide a shallow bowl for your Hermits than they do not need a sea sponge.
Sponges are best used for retaining your humidity when placed in a corner of your tank (Not in the bowl).
The only time this product should be placed in a Hermie water bowl is if you have an extremly deep bowl and if your a good Hermit Crab owner, you simply wont use one because a sea sponge is no gurantee that smaller crabs can escape the depths of the water.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med All Natural Hermit Crab Sea Sponge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Sponge!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Glen Ellyn Il
My hermies loved this!! They would suck the water out of it instead of not drinking the water out of the bowl. It made me feel better that they wouldnt drown. I put this in the freshwater and they would lay in the saltwater bowl. I dont mind that it dried over night because I think it reminded me to put new water in the bowl. I LOVE THIS SPONGE!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med All Natural Hermit Crab Sea Sponge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Other uses

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
My hermit crabs like to bathe in their water more than they like to drink. I keep this in their pool for them to cling on if they ever "drown." Its alright.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med All Natural Hermit Crab Sea Sponge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not bad

PostedDecember 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
None of my hermit crabs drink from sponges, but it acts as a stepping stone for smaller hermits. It also slightly helps with humidity. Overall don't rely on it as a water source. The crabs prefer to drink straight from the dish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med All Natural Hermit Crab Sea Sponge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sponge Is Ok

PostedNovember 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Jacksonville,AL
I got this sponge for my two madagascar hissing cockroaches. It is ok but it does not hold water for more than 3 days, and if it is allowed to get bone dry after getting wet it will break into dust. I reccomend to always put your sponge on a lid of some sort. (I used a ragu pasta sauce lid)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med All Natural Hermit Crab Sea Sponge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedJuly 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
i have 4 hermit crabs and a big tank i bought two of these sponges and they love em...my hermit crabs prefer drinking from the sponge not the dish they bathe in the dish....they use it as a toy also to climb over it...it is a good product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med All Natural Hermit Crab Sea Sponge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great item

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
my hermit crabs love this sponge.well worth the price.it keeps the tanks humidity level constant.They also love to climb it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med All Natural Hermit Crab Sea Sponge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great thing to have around

PostedJuly 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
from west seneca NY
Since the sponges will provide heat they are way cheaper than a heater and then hermit crabs won`t drown.Nobody wants that to happen,right?My hermet crabs loved it they also use it as a climbing toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.