petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps

Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps

Ideal for regulating terrariums that house either tropical or desert varieties of reptiles and amphibiansProvides heat as well as beneficial UVA raysBasking bulb promotes breeding, feeding and overall physical and mental health in your petsFeatures a unique patented double reflectorFocuses 35% more heat and light into a tight beam for greatest effectReptile heat lamp can last up to 2,000 hours
Average Customer Rating:
3.49 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
11
32 out of 51(63%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Review 1 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

does not last

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
I got mine in the Zoo Med bearded dragon kit and it lasted 4 months I keep it on for 13 and a half hours every day which means it lasted not as long as it is supposed to.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Short lifetime

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from lincoln ne
I bought it on 09/07/2014 online and it took several days to arrive, now on 09/20/2014, it burned out, so.... I just throw away 8 dollars, which is not good.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not last 2000 hrs

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
We have been using these bulbs for a bearded dragon for about 2 years with the lights are on a timer. They are on 14 hours a day and we have been changing the bulbs every 90 days (range 84-92). Doing the math, they last 1260 hrs. This is considerably less than advertised. Looking for a new bulb.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really Great Overall

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
I've been using the Zoo Med Basking lights since January and am quite pleased with them! My turtle loves basking under the warmth of the light. The only flaw I'd say is that the bulbs tend to go out within 3 months. I'm on my third bulb in 8 months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not that hot

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington
I have a bearded dragon and I keep her basking light 10-12" away from her basking spot. The highest temperature this even reached was 90 on the hot side. This may keep her alive, but it in no way keeps her completely warm. She constantly had to be right on her basking spot and wouldn't do anything else. I've no idea how this is possibly the #1 bought reptile basking light!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Doesn't last long

PostedJune 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
The box says it should last up to 2,000 hours. Based on my 12-hour time cycle the bulb should last around 5 months. I've had a few burn out in less than 3 months. Other than burning out quickly these bulbs work efficiently for bearded dragons.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Basking bulb!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Penn Yan, NY
The 100 watt provides the proper amount of heat, and he enjoys it! I have no problems with it blowing out, and I would recommend for a good heat bulb!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these lights!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Puerto Rico
These heating lights have always been my favorite and once they went on sale I had to get them. My beardies love them too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my Gecko

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Aurora, IL
I have been looking for a new type of "day" light for my albino leopard gecko, and found this. I ordered it and with fast delivery, was able to try it right away. Seems that I can never find a light like this one in the stores in the smaller wattage (50 Watt) - it works great, and creates a nice warm environment for my gecko without getting too hot. I would recommend this to anyone with a small tank ( mine is a ten gallon), looking to enhance their pets beautiful colors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect temp

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from IL
I got the 100 watt bulb for my bearded dragons basking area and it keeps it at just the right temperature :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT!

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
I really like these bulbs, they work great, perfect size and temperature for my lizards. They last a long time too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice bulb for clamp lamp

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Haverhill, MA
My turtle really enjoys this bulb, gives a good amount of heat and light and she's definitely more active when it is turned on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Zoo Med Basking Lamps = Waste of Money!

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
These bulbs are a waste of money. The first one I bought burnt out after only 6 days. I thought maybe it was just a fluke, so I took it back to the store and they let me exchange it for another one. The second one lasted only 7 days. These bulbs are too expensive to only be lasting one week. I think I am going to try looking for heating lamps at a hardware store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Basking lamp

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Nj
It works for my tortoises! They sit under it and love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not very good

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
I bought two of these, one for my anoles and one for my leopard gecko. they are bright and provide heat like the box says but the problem is that they burn out too soon. I have them on only 12 hours a day and the box says it lasts 2,000 hours. for me that would be the equivalent of about 23 weeks but these barely lasted a month! even after i went to the store to replace them the same thing happened to the new ones. i would not reccomend getting these unless you want to spend $9 every three weeks on light bulbs
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best out there

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from OH
it is hard for me to buy just because i trust exo more but i like the light from zoo it works its hot and i have lest time and money when i buy it since it last longer as long as your careful
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from detroit, mi
My baby bearded dragon's tank was too cold so i bought this and it boosted my tanks heat by 15 more degree! its an excellent product. he also loves to sit and bask in it all day
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Baton Rouge, LA
These bulbs do not last long. I bought a two pack a couple months ago, the first bulb burnt out today. I screwed the second, un-used bulb in and it didn't work at all!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's a nice bulb

PostedJune 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Reading, PA
I had 4 bulbs that i got about 4 months ago. One I sprayed with water and one dropped.I have on right now and one that hasn't been used. These light bulbs work well, just be careful not to move it too much. This is NOT a bulb for nighttime.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice and bright, but nothing special.

PostedJune 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Idaho
They do get brighter than normal household bulbs, but as far as heat goes, like mentioned in an earlier review, a regular household bulb can emit the same amount of heat, if not more. These bulbs do indeed burn out quickly, making the price not so great for something that only ever lasted a few weeks for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>