petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand

Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand

All natural substrate for desert dwelling reptilesPure, very fine quartz desert sand--better than silica sand stimulates natural digging and burrowing behaviorNatural colorsNo added dyes or chemicals
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
21 out of 24(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Review 1 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not so good with water

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oxford, IN
I bought this for my aquatic turtle. I had read a review where it was good for them. I rinsed it twice before putting it in the aquarium, and adding water. It has remained cloudy still, even after several days.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Returned this item

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lake Charles, La
I decided against using this sand and returned it once I received it because after much research found that Washed play sand, from most hardware stores, was most recommended.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-18points
2of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great substrate

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from FL
Easy to clean with a waste scooper gives your pet the chance to dig like it would in the wild and its more soothing for your pet the sand is warm under there basking light and cool on the cool side of the tank no complaints from me used it for 10 years and not one problem yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

don't listen to "geckomaster"

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Contrary to what the "geckomaster" states about the safety of this substrate for Leo's or other geckos, this is an excellent product. I have been a breeder of desert geckos for several years now, and use this product faithfully. I've never once had a losses or any impaction problems. This is not like common play sand, which is a silica based product. That is what causes the problems when ingested. This is a quartz based natural product, and simulates the natural environment. Its safe and small enough that it will pass if ingested. Low dust and no dyes. Natural heat absorbtion and retention. Excellent product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
26of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor product for geckos

PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Look. If you have a Leo, don't use sand! Leopord geckos are known to eat sand, and become impacted. If you want to be a good caretaker for your gecko, don't us it. Use affordable paper, or paper towels. You can use repti carpet, but it tends do become disfigured after several washes. Do your research. I talked to a Gecko breeder, and she said that on her first gecko, she used repti sand. 5 years later, her Gecko was dead. So, it's up to you. dead gecko, or natural aquarium.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-20points
6of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

gritty

PostedJune 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
the 25 lb bag has large coarse pieces that the 5-10lb bags don't. It even states on the box that it is coarse sand although it is sold as fine sand. Beware if you have young bearded dragons to get the smaller bag.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

online deals=happy customer

PostedNovember 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
grains are smaller than the vita-sand, dont recommend it for baby beardies, but my big guy seems to like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deal!

PostedOctober 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, Ca
We've have bearded dragons for about a year now and it always amazes me how much they can charge for sand. When I found this sand online for only $20 I was more than excited, not to mention free shipping. Reptile sand is still just reptile sand but this was a bargain!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gibbs Home

PostedOctober 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pleased with the order & delivery. He likes sand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedMay 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Stratford, CT
I got this san with my first bearded dragon and i never had a problem with him eating it or anything. It's a little pricey if you have a bigger cage, but deffinitely worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not just for reptiles!

PostedJuly 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
I purchased this sand for my two male gerbils. As desert rodents, I figured they might appreciate something that is more like their natural habitat. If you're going to use this sand for rodents, I suggest that you provide a lot of toilet paper to use as bedding, because sand won't hold heat very well, and that you line the bottom of the cage with wood shavings first, to absorb liquids. I gave this a 4/5 because it can sometimes get stuck in a critters' eyes, but as far as sands' go, it's the best out there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product!

PostedMay 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
from IL
This sand works great in my leopard geckos home. It's very soft and isn't too rough. It gives it a nice desert look as well. The sand heats up nicely from my Zoomed Under Tank Heater to make sure my gecko has a warm belly. I've also used this sand for my hermit crabs and it worked great then too. Getting this product wasn't a mistake!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great sand

PostedMarch 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
this sand is awesome.Its also safe for sensitive reptiles. You have to buy it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedFebruary 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Quincy, MA
About a month or so ago I purchased a bag of ReptiSand for my boyfriend's baby turtle. At first there was a small problem of the sand getting stuck in his eyes and ingesting some, but now he loves to burrow into it for bed. I also have used ReptiSand for my leopard gecko and red foot tortoise. I'm very happy with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Repti sand a good product

PostedFebruary 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hello I would recommend repti sand for people with leopard geckos, bearded dragons, sand boas and many more desert reptiles. Repti sand helps my reptiles and all desert reptiles. It helped my leopard gecko alot. I would buy this product for desert reptiles. Plus other zoo med products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJanuary 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Durham, CT
I have had the white sand and at the moment i have the orange sand and it is amazing i always buy this brand and my gecko loves it! He know spends less time in his cave and more time in the sand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

buy this sand!!! its worth it!!!

PostedJanuary 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
from MA, ashby
this one bag of sand has just enough for my leopard geckos 30 gallon tank. its thin and easy to clean through. buy this its worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I've been through the Desert...

PostedMay 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Broomfield, CO
This sand is awesome! I've collected several different desert reptile species and this is the only sand I use because this is truely the best. No added dyes or chemicals so it is perfectly safe for your animals, unlike other "major name brand lables" that end up dying your pet an odd colour, and staining your terririum. But this sand does niether. Low dust, and very fine grians so its super smooth and gentle on your reptiles tender bellies. 10lbs is the perfect amount of sand for anything between 10gallon and 30gallons. Just save whatever you dont use for later. Overall: amazing natural sand that looks perfect with any desert decor and animals. It'll seem like your'e really in the wild!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good, but...

PostedApril 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis, IN
I like the sand that Zoo Med has provided. My soft shelled turtle has a blast, atleast to me, digging in the sand like he should normally. But I've found that if I put plants, he doesn't dig. Maybe it's my turtle or what, but overall a good product if you need sand on the bottom of an aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zoo Med Desert White Repti Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Uromastyx

PostedNovember 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I have a Mali Uromastyx and I have tried different things including Vita Sand and he is definitely most comfortable in this sand. I found the Vita Sand got into my lungs when I poured bags in and even when I cleaned regularly dust would accumulate so I assume he was breathing it in as well. The Zoo Med Repti Sand produces little if any dust even when pouring in 3 10lb bags together. Vita Sand also left a layer of white dust on my lizard which this sand does not, since he sleeps with most of his head under the sand this didn't seem healthy. It's very easy to clean up, even small pieces of food come out easily because the sand is so fine. He seems to love digging in it especially when I put it in, I fill the terrarium 2 1/2" deep or more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>