petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark

Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark

Natural product made from the ground bark of fir treesPerfect substrate for all high humidity loving reptilesMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.522 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 out of 23(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Review 1 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific!

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
from California, CA
I use half coconut fiber and half Repti-Bark. My hermit crabs love it, it doesn't stick when they get out of their water bowl like the coconut fiber, but i use half of the fiber so it is easier to burrow in and keep humidity. In the pic it shows a painted shell, but the petco where i live only sells painted ones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best!

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
We have had our Greek tortoise for a long time and this is the BEST bedding we have found. It stays clean longer and does not create dust when our tortoise marches around. Try it, you will love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Stinks

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NY
When I first put this in my animal's habitat it smelled nice but it took up little space. After a couple of weeks, though, it started to stink and would make my room smell bad. I eventually just replaced it with some rocks.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect All Round

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Delco, NC
I love this product and so does my Ball Python, Alexstrazsa. It holds humidity well, doesn't smell, and easy to clean. As because is rough it helped Alex shed a complete skin, nothing broken or stuck to her. As sinces it's thick you can put good 3inches of it in the tank and actually put the heat source under the tank without worry of belly burn. Ball pythons naturally come out at night to warm up from the ground so Alex was happy when I bought this, she lays out every night almost all night.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but could be better

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Aberdeen, SD
I use this for my young water dragon. I like this because the pieces are large enough that should he mistake a piece for a cricket he is able to spit it out. Reptibark also absorbs water well and makes his tank smell fairly pleasant. However, the pieces are about the same size as some of the crickets so it can be hard to find them should he not eat them all. The larger pieces also make climbing objects and water bowls unstable if not completely cleared away. The pieces also seem to splinter fairly easily which can make it difficult to clean out-especially if you use fiberous tank liners. Overall, I do like this product but it has some problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Box Turtles

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Stone Mountain Ga
My pet Box Turtle loves it! He likes digging down and burring himself and it gives a nice natural looking enviorment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but.....

PostedApril 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from CT
I have Anoles and I first used organic potting soil and wanted to try this. I like the reptibark. It looks and smells good but since my anoles eat small size crickets. They will hide in the bark. Thats the downside for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
This is the best substrate around for tortoise turtles. I've tried the other bedding and in my opinion, it doesn't look appealing in the tank or absord moisture as well which is definitely important.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This bedding is perfect!!

PostedJune 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Nueva York, NY
Every time I change the bedding my tortoise lowers his head to enjoy the fresh scent of bark.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent and it does what it says

PostedApril 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Conifer, CO
I bought the four quart bag on this for my 10g anole tank. It smells just like garden centers (awesome!) and it really keeps my tank humid. When I spray it, it stays at 70-90% humidity for hours! A must buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Portsmouth, NH
I use this bedding for my Chinese Water Dragon. First you gotta love the smell...its just like a moist forest. Its great. Second, if your like me and need something to hold on moisture, this bedding will do the job.
Third, what can I say? It just looks natural along with other plant decorations.
And also a added note: when moist the bedding is quite soft. When its not as moist the stiffness of the bedding is quite helpful with the shedding process...at least for lizards I don't know about snakes!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Luv It

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Washington DC
Works well for My Box Turtle as well as My Bearded Dragon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedMay 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
This product is one of the best for reptiles.
I have a tortouise and he loves this for his bedding. Easy clean up and excellent bedding for a tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best stuff ever

PostedFebruary 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
from cottage grove, or
when i frist got my chinese water dragon i really had no clue what i was doing so i went thru many types of substrate and tycen really had a hard time from the coconut bedding that got in his eyes to the small shreds of bark that he ened up eating finally i found this stuff and its amazing for my little guys i now own 2 tycen and ike yea i know mike tycen trust me didnt even think about that till after i named them lol well i would recomed this to almost every one it might be to big for a baby anole but grate for every one ealse
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good

PostedJanuary 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
It is pretty good. The bark holds humidity fairly well, is easy to clean, and doesn't smell. It is fairly rough and jagged, so I wouldn't suggest using it for day geckos (Phelsuma) or amphibians.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJuly 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Bedford, NH
I use this product on my Russian Tortoise Ben. I love this product. It smells so good when it is poured into his pen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
This bark is great because I can clean out my iguana's cage and rinse this and set it in the sun to dry..and reuse. Great value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SNAKES LOVE it

PostedMay 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
I went to Petco today in Mooresville, Nc and I was so happy to see how well they take care of their animals. I went by the reptile section and asked a few questions and the people who take care of the snakes were so helpful. I was very happy with the store. It is the best Petco that I have ever been to. Now about RetiBark. It is so good for snakes because it maintains proper humidity levels and it is very easy to clean. All the snakes seemed very happy with it. They also like to dig in it. I hope that the people who own Petco recognize this store for great animal care and service.(sorry about talking about the store most of the time. RetiBark is good though!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great for boxes

PostedMay 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Broomfield, CO
I bought this for my western ornate box turtle and she loves it! Even in her old age she still loves to dig and crawl around in this stuff. If my Bamboo loves it, then I love it too!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zoo Med Premium Repti Bark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME substrate!

PostedJanuary 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Paragould, Arkansas
My little ig, Akasha, hasn't had the best life so far thanks to misinformation and ignorance, but now that she's with me, she's gonna get the best that life has to offer, and Repti Bark is part of that. She used to have a glass aquarium floor to sleep on, but now she's got vines and logs and Repti Bark to play in. You can just see in her eyes how much more comfy it is to crawl around in the warm, soft bark, rather than slip and slide over the aquarium glass.
It's easy to use (no breaking it apart), it keeps the humidity up, and you can safely use it with a multitude of species. I use it in my anole tank, my box turtle tank, and my ig cage. You don't have the worry of ingestion and impaction.
I love this product and have recommened it to many of our reptile clients at the vet clinic where I work!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>