petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for API Rena Air Aquarium Air Pumps

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

API Rena Air Aquarium Air Pumps

Rena Air's powerful motor maintains optimum air flow, even in the deepest aquariumsSo silent it can be used in any room of the house, even bedroomsAvailable in sizes for aquariums up to 150 gallons
Average Customer Rating:
3.167 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
6 out of 12(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for API Rena Air Aquarium Air Pumps
Review 1 for API Rena Air Aquarium Air Pumps
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Rena air pump.

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
jeep2001
from boston mass.
This pump is so loud I can hear the vibration all the way from my family room to the upper living level. I had to put a sponge under it to absorb some of the vibration.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API Rena Air Aquarium Air Pumps
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this product is loud not silent

PostedJuly 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
fish100
from ct
air pump is loud, cheap ones are quieter and at least 1/2 the price
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API Rena Air Aquarium Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Air pump

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lyle
from Sun City, CA
I have had Rena 400 over 15 years and still works. I now use it for my pond which is over 3000 gallons.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API Rena Air Aquarium Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedNovember 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lillywhite
Rena air pumps are very silent and they put out a lot of air. I'm using the 400 in a 125 Gallon and my goldfish are very happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API Rena Air Aquarium Air Pumps
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Little Power

PostedAugust 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
19Heather76
I had this for about a month and its quickly losing power. Very dissapointed. It barely blows bubbles out of the bubble bar. Its all hype...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API Rena Air Aquarium Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quite as a mouse

PostedFebruary 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Starsprinkle
from Williamsburg, VA
I love it compare to my many other air pumps it is very quite.... i cant wait to change out all the noisy ones for this model!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API Rena Air Aquarium Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rena Air Pump

PostedMarch 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
PawPrint
from San Francisco
Pros:
Quiet! While you can hear the hum of the motor, there is virtually no vibrations on your counter/table/stand. It is just as powerful as any air pump. I really like this air pump for my aquarium. It is the most quiet one I have ever seen. And it is also very small no matter which model you buy.
Cons:
Price. I think it is the most expensive air pump I saw at the aquarium store.
Comments:
If you are putting your tank in a room without anyone sleeping, it won't matter what pump you get. But if this will be in a focal point for your house/room, cough up the extra $$ and get the Rena.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API Rena Air Aquarium Air Pumps
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth the price

PostedOctober 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
vhx5438
from l.a.
this air pump creates lots more noise and vibration then my other air pumps, but it does pump out good amounts of air. there are better choices with lower price tags.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API Rena Air Aquarium Air Pumps
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor product

PostedJuly 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Acquariumguy
After a month of trying to adjust this pump I finally gave up. It is supposed to be super quiet, but it buzzes like crazy. You can adjust the airflow back and forth to get it stopped for a short time, but 5 minutes later the buzzing is back again. I finally replaced it with a $15 pump which is totally silent.
Avoid spending the extra money on this and go with the cheaper models. they work better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API Rena Air Aquarium Air Pumps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gradually Gets Noisier

PostedJune 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mumusuki
from Bluffdale, UT
I bought this pump with the promise of quiet running. And that is what I got....at first. I have had this pump for 5 months now and it has become gradually louder and louder. I guess that it can be expected, but I did not forsee the disintigration of this pumps quality to come in such little time as it did. However, if you do buy it and don't care about the increasing noise, it does produce a large amount of air.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for API Rena Air Aquarium Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely quiet air pump

PostedJanuary 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Fishmaniac
from Socal
I have several different kinds of air pumps and by far, without a doubt, the Rena Air is the quietest. And it's not just a "little bit" quieter, it night and day. This is the only pump I can have running in my bedroom. I can't even tell if it's on sometimes. If you're 5 feet away, I guarantee you won't hear it! It's a lot more expensive compared to other pumps, but if noise is an issue, get this pump. My only gripe is that it's weaker than other pumps rating for similar size tanks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for API Rena Air Aquarium Air Pumps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

rena

PostedNovember 29, 2005
Customer Avatar
pets
from Minneapolis, MN
quiet, but weak
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.