petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Feline Pine Cat Litter

Feline Pine Cat Litter

100% pure pine cat litter naturally eliminates odorsSpecial dust-free non-tracking formulaNo mess - leaves kitty litter box clean and dryEnvironmentally conscious chemical-free formulaSafe for kittens and post-surgical cats
Average Customer Rating:
3.962 / 5
4
 / 
5
(133 Reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 133 reviews
5 stars
80
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
11
1 star
19
100 out of 133(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Review 1 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
I will never use any other kitty litter again! I can stand right over the cat box and i can't smell anything! Plus there's no dust from the litter, a great plus, because i live with people who have asthma. I would recomend this product to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
23of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feline pine

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Great product. I have used this for 16 years. Easy purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No longer absorbs

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
Feline Pine pellets changed. Now with baking soda, it no longer absorbs.
I heard that standard animal pellets absorb well and are cheaper.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

USED to be great!

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
Been using forever, the new version is HORRIBLE!!! WHY WOULD YOU CHANGE A GREAT PRODUCT? Going to try the petco version if I can find it, my local store usually doesn't have it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I love it, my cat doesn't.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, OH
In terms of tracking and odor control, you can't get any better. The litter smells so good and it completely 100% hides any urine or feces odors. The pellets are so big they do not get tracked anywhere at all. However, it's the size of the pellets that my kitty is not happy with. They are uncomfortable on her paws (especially since she is declawed) and she can't "dig" to "hide" her feces, which is a natural instinct for cats. Also because the pellets are so big, it makes it very hard to scoop out waste.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall Good

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
I like that this is 100% natural litter. It does a great job of covering odors from 3 cats, but I will say it takes some getting used to. I don't like that the used litter essentially turns to sawdust, so it falls through the slits in the scooper I use to clean it. So as you might surmise, the clean litter (pellets) is what usually gets scooped out. I eventually decided to use less litter than normal, and instead of scooping I just dump the whole box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

From Best to Worst Litter!

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
Feline Pine was the only cat litter I've used for the past 5 years. I have 4 cats that use one litter box. I've had them since they were kittens and for the past 5 years Feline Pine was the greatest litter. Never had a problem with urine smell until now. The pellets are darker in color, don't absorb as well, leave lots of residue and instead of being dry in bottom of the box is a mess to clean out. The box needs more frequent cleaning and tracks up everywhere.. So disappointed but will definitely
need a new brand of litter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great gone bad

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta GA
What happened to the high quality litter our 2 high-energy cats had used for their entire 4 years? Now the litter is gray in color, hard to remove the feces from the litter, lasts only 3 days versus 7-10 days. Time to find another pine litter manufacturer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Feline Pine has gone from best to worst :(

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Frederick, MD
Ever since Arm & Hammer bought out the company this product is dreadful. There's a kind of sour, oily smell when you open the bag, the pellets are a grayish color as if they're made from sawdust used to clean up wet spills, it's not very absorbent, and it forms a kind of dark, wet sludge on the bottom of the litter box. No odor control either.
Feline Pine used to be the very best cat litter I could find. When you opened the bag there was a fresh pine smell; the pellets used to break down into a kind of moist sawdust; and there was no smell!
Needless to say, I'm looking around for a substitute...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

FORMERLY the best cat litter ever

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from East Coast
I wish I could give this a NEGATIVE 5 stars! Up until the last bag, I had been happy with Feline Pine (non-clumping) for 10 years. For 10 years, I never, ever smelled the cat box. Ever. Whatever Arm & Hammer did to the formula, they ruined it. The new version is now much dustier and has NO odor control at all. I'm so disappointed! I will not be buying this again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feline pine litte

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Neligh NE
This is a great product. Cat loves it and no mess. Does what it says it will do. I would recommend it to anybody.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good anymore.

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bergen County, NJ
It is not the Feline Pine I used to love. The new formula doesn't absorb enough and control ordor at all. My cat smells stinky now. I will switch to something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Cat Litter

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MA
I've used this product for years and it was the best litter by far that I had ever used. That being said, since it was bought by Arm & Hammer, it is now the worst I've ever used. It only takes a day for the litter to start smelling and by the second day the whole floor the liter box is on smells. The litter used to become a nice non-smelling bunch of mostly dry saw dust you could change every week to 10 days, now it becomes little pieces of pellets mixed with wet slop and a horrible ammonia smell after two days tops....
Had they changed the price instead of the formula I would have paid 50% more for it, that's how good it was, but now I will never buy another bag of this, or of any Arm & Hammer product again. I would give this "New Formula" zero paws if I could...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not "new and improved"

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fort Lee, NJ
I have used Feline Pine for six years, but the new formula is awful! The pellets break apart faster and don't absorb as much of the urine smell, and the sawdust is wetter and more easily tracked across the floor. We're changing out the boxes twice as often, because the litter simply doesn't last as well as it did.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

the scoop...

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
About one month ago we rescued a kitten, whose rescue recommended Esquisicat pine litter as the litter. It is what our kitten was used to so we went with that.
Through coupons offered through Petco for adopting a kitten, we decided to try This version of litter.
Though it looks very similar to Esquisicat, it does not control odor at all, in comparison.
We have been using it for a couple weeks now, trying to give it an opportunity, however it is not measuring up.
Absorption is about the same, which is good, but the odor control is not good.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

won't use anything else

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Henrietta NY
When I got my first cat and read the directions pertaining to her neutering , it said no dust. I researched litters. Feline pine was different and it said no dust. I have been using it for 6 years. With two cats, smell is almost non existence. I do agree that the older formula was better. The new stuff gets tracked into the house. So I have to sweep more. I only use about 2 coffee cans of feline pine and change it weekly. My cats hide the solid matter. I like that there were no chemicals and is from a renewal source. I have friends that use the clay and the perfumes of them is worse that the cat smell. I am very pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kitty Litter

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
I switched to Pine litter about a year ago from the clay based kind. I couldn't be happier. My cat, Olive didn't have any problem transitioning.
A lot of people say one of the biggest benefits of pine based is that it smells better, but really I haven't smelled much at all, and that's a good thing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
My niece asked us to watch her cat for a month and gave us this litter. Our cat had long been in kitty heaven so we were use to using Johnny Cat. We didn't know what to expect. We were amazed! There is NO odor and all you do is take the solid waste out and shake the box from side to side and the sawdust goes to the bottom and the pellets come to the top. We were more impressed that it was literally odorless!
We tried the Petco brand of Feline Pine. We thought it had to be the same ... IT IS NOT. When you shake it, the pellets do not come to the top as easily. It is far more odorless than other litters, but not as much at Feline Pine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent - best litter EVER!

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Evanston, IL
This is the best cat litter ever, and I've tried pretty much everything on the market for my 2 male cats.We have a small apartment and they share one litter box which is an a small, enclosed space.
You cannot smell ANY urine or feces odor, just the fresh scent of pine. It is long-lasting and my cats love it. I went a week without scooping the box (oops) and it did not smell AT ALL. My cats are both neutered, but those of you with male cats may know that their urine really smells strong. Other brands somehow seemed to magnify the odor, or just didn't mix so it ended up smelling worse.
Feline Pine absorbs all the smells -I'm really in disbelief, and I wish I would have started using this years ago! It does not clump, but where the cats urinate it sort of disintegrates the pine chunks and turns them into a sawdust-like substance (not dusty, however) which is SUPER easy to scoop.
As for the price, it is a much better deal than any other litter because it lasts so much longer, and a large bag is no more expensive than a traditional litter of any brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I highly recommend it!

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Nevada
This was a great product! It is all natural and I don't need to worry about the cat eating it and getting sick. as for the sawdust well just get a different litter box. One that has holes in the bottom so the sawdust can fall through and has a panel in the bottom you can just take it and dump it out. I have this kind of litter box and it is very useful with this product. Makes cleaning a breeze. No smell. Safe for my kitten that's just turned 3months. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>