petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Feline Pine Cat Litter

Feline Pine Cat Litter

100% pure pine cat litter naturally eliminates odorsSpecial dust-free non-tracking formulaNo mess - leaves kitty litter box clean and dryEnvironmentally conscious chemical-free formulaSafe for kittens and post-surgical cats
Average Customer Rating:
3.843 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(140 Reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 140 reviews
5 stars
80
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
13
1 star
23
100 out of 140(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Review 1 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
I will never use any other kitty litter again! I can stand right over the cat box and i can't smell anything! Plus there's no dust from the litter, a great plus, because i live with people who have asthma. I would recomend this product to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
25of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

From Amazing to Horrible

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
Feline Pine used to be the best cat litter around. What happened? Imagine switching from paper towels to looseleaf paper for cleaning up spills, and that's what the new Feline Pine is like. Urine just flows straight to the bottom of the litter box and forms a pool, in which whole pellets just sit, damp, not absorbing any of it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

From GREAT to HORRIBLE!!!!

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Schererville IN
I have used feline pine for 10 years for 3 cats and loved it, not anymore!!!! I called the company a couple times re: the change in the pellets and was told the formula has not changed just the packaging with Arm & Hammer after reading all the recent reviews I now know I'm not the only person who noticed a newer non-absorbent darker pellet, it's a shame I will look for a different litter...very disappointed!!!!!!!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hard to tell where to clean

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Corpus Christi, TX.
I prefer the pellet pine products but this doesn't seem to be the same quality as the original litter I purchased from this company. I tried to order SoPhresh b/c I've liked the firmness of their pellets but it wasn't offered online so I went back to the Feline Pine that I got years back - won't do that again. Guess I'll have to go to the store after all to get the better quality SoPhresh only offered in the stores.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

what happened?

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu
I used this litter for years in my multi (for a brief moment 7, average 4) cat household. And then I noticed the shape and color of the litter changed. And then I noticed it no longer smelled particularly piney. And then I noticed that the litter stunk to high heaven. And then I switched brands.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful New Formula

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
I used the old formula for 11 years with two cats and loved it. This new Arm & Hammer formula is absolutely terrible and I will no longer use it. This litter used to have a fresh pine scent, break down nicely into sawdust, have very little dustiness, and low tracking. Now the breakdown is powdery, the smell is just weird, and it tracks all over the place. The litter doesn't last as long either. I used to be able to go a full week before changing litter (scooping solids daily) and now I have to change it every few days. Also, the old formula was flushable; there is a warning on the bag now stating not to flush. Terrible, terrible idea to change the formula.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Change Unwelcome

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Waterville, OH
I have used Feline Pine for my two cats since I first discovered it, a couple of years ago. Lately, Ive noticed a change in its composition, and the shorter life it has. I used to have it last at least five or six days. Now I have to change it more often, which means it smells early. The cats track the product almost right away, and I loved the fact, before, that it didn't track. Now it's too costly, and sadly, I will have to go back to a cheaper kind. Please change it back to your old formula! I liked it so much better. In fact I loved it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

feline pine, what a shame

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from maine
Have used feline pine for 15 years. Since company was purchased by Arm and Hammer the quality has tanked. Doesn't absorb, mushy sawdust that sticks to everything, and the bottom of the litter box is wet.
I would not recommend this to anyone. what a shame.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feline pine

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Great product. I have used this for 16 years. Easy purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No longer absorbs

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
Feline Pine pellets changed. Now with baking soda, it no longer absorbs.
I heard that standard animal pellets absorb well and are cheaper.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

USED to be great!

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
Been using forever, the new version is HORRIBLE!!! WHY WOULD YOU CHANGE A GREAT PRODUCT? Going to try the petco version if I can find it, my local store usually doesn't have it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I love it, my cat doesn't.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, OH
In terms of tracking and odor control, you can't get any better. The litter smells so good and it completely 100% hides any urine or feces odors. The pellets are so big they do not get tracked anywhere at all. However, it's the size of the pellets that my kitty is not happy with. They are uncomfortable on her paws (especially since she is declawed) and she can't "dig" to "hide" her feces, which is a natural instinct for cats. Also because the pellets are so big, it makes it very hard to scoop out waste.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall Good

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
I like that this is 100% natural litter. It does a great job of covering odors from 3 cats, but I will say it takes some getting used to. I don't like that the used litter essentially turns to sawdust, so it falls through the slits in the scooper I use to clean it. So as you might surmise, the clean litter (pellets) is what usually gets scooped out. I eventually decided to use less litter than normal, and instead of scooping I just dump the whole box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

From Best to Worst Litter!

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
Feline Pine was the only cat litter I've used for the past 5 years. I have 4 cats that use one litter box. I've had them since they were kittens and for the past 5 years Feline Pine was the greatest litter. Never had a problem with urine smell until now. The pellets are darker in color, don't absorb as well, leave lots of residue and instead of being dry in bottom of the box is a mess to clean out. The box needs more frequent cleaning and tracks up everywhere.. So disappointed but will definitely
need a new brand of litter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great gone bad

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta GA
What happened to the high quality litter our 2 high-energy cats had used for their entire 4 years? Now the litter is gray in color, hard to remove the feces from the litter, lasts only 3 days versus 7-10 days. Time to find another pine litter manufacturer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Feline Pine has gone from best to worst :(

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Frederick, MD
Ever since Arm & Hammer bought out the company this product is dreadful. There's a kind of sour, oily smell when you open the bag, the pellets are a grayish color as if they're made from sawdust used to clean up wet spills, it's not very absorbent, and it forms a kind of dark, wet sludge on the bottom of the litter box. No odor control either.
Feline Pine used to be the very best cat litter I could find. When you opened the bag there was a fresh pine smell; the pellets used to break down into a kind of moist sawdust; and there was no smell!
Needless to say, I'm looking around for a substitute...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

FORMERLY the best cat litter ever

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from East Coast
I wish I could give this a NEGATIVE 5 stars! Up until the last bag, I had been happy with Feline Pine (non-clumping) for 10 years. For 10 years, I never, ever smelled the cat box. Ever. Whatever Arm & Hammer did to the formula, they ruined it. The new version is now much dustier and has NO odor control at all. I'm so disappointed! I will not be buying this again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feline pine litte

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Neligh NE
This is a great product. Cat loves it and no mess. Does what it says it will do. I would recommend it to anybody.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good anymore.

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bergen County, NJ
It is not the Feline Pine I used to love. The new formula doesn't absorb enough and control ordor at all. My cat smells stinky now. I will switch to something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Cat Litter

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MA
I've used this product for years and it was the best litter by far that I had ever used. That being said, since it was bought by Arm & Hammer, it is now the worst I've ever used. It only takes a day for the litter to start smelling and by the second day the whole floor the liter box is on smells. The litter used to become a nice non-smelling bunch of mostly dry saw dust you could change every week to 10 days, now it becomes little pieces of pellets mixed with wet slop and a horrible ammonia smell after two days tops....
Had they changed the price instead of the formula I would have paid 50% more for it, that's how good it was, but now I will never buy another bag of this, or of any Arm & Hammer product again. I would give this "New Formula" zero paws if I could...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>