petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Feline Pine Cat Litter

Feline Pine Cat Litter

100% Pure pine cat litter naturally destroys odorsThe non-tracking formula is dust freeNo mess; leaves kitty litter box clean and dryEnvironmentally compatible chemical-free formulaSafe for kittens and post-surgical cats
Average Customer Rating:
4.175 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(120 Reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 120 reviews
5 stars
78
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
11
1 star
10
96 out of 120(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Review 1 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shannonganz
I will never use any other kitty litter again! I can stand right over the cat box and i can't smell anything! Plus there's no dust from the litter, a great plus, because i live with people who have asthma. I would recomend this product to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
20of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

the scoop...

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
chilledmac
from Baltimore, MD
About one month ago we rescued a kitten, whose rescue recommended Esquisicat pine litter as the litter. It is what our kitten was used to so we went with that.
Through coupons offered through Petco for adopting a kitten, we decided to try This version of litter.
Though it looks very similar to Esquisicat, it does not control odor at all, in comparison.
We have been using it for a couple weeks now, trying to give it an opportunity, however it is not measuring up.
Absorption is about the same, which is good, but the odor control is not good.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

won't use anything else

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
felinesrule
from Henrietta NY
When I got my first cat and read the directions pertaining to her neutering , it said no dust. I researched litters. Feline pine was different and it said no dust. I have been using it for 6 years. With two cats, smell is almost non existence. I do agree that the older formula was better. The new stuff gets tracked into the house. So I have to sweep more. I only use about 2 coffee cans of feline pine and change it weekly. My cats hide the solid matter. I like that there were no chemicals and is from a renewal source. I have friends that use the clay and the perfumes of them is worse that the cat smell. I am very pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kitty Litter

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jeff22
from Brooklyn, NY
I switched to Pine litter about a year ago from the clay based kind. I couldn't be happier. My cat, Olive didn't have any problem transitioning.
A lot of people say one of the biggest benefits of pine based is that it smells better, but really I haven't smelled much at all, and that's a good thing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
catfish24
My niece asked us to watch her cat for a month and gave us this litter. Our cat had long been in kitty heaven so we were use to using Johnny Cat. We didn't know what to expect. We were amazed! There is NO odor and all you do is take the solid waste out and shake the box from side to side and the sawdust goes to the bottom and the pellets come to the top. We were more impressed that it was literally odorless!
We tried the Petco brand of Feline Pine. We thought it had to be the same ... IT IS NOT. When you shake it, the pellets do not come to the top as easily. It is far more odorless than other litters, but not as much at Feline Pine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent - best litter EVER!

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shannono
from Evanston, IL
This is the best cat litter ever, and I've tried pretty much everything on the market for my 2 male cats.We have a small apartment and they share one litter box which is an a small, enclosed space.
You cannot smell ANY urine or feces odor, just the fresh scent of pine. It is long-lasting and my cats love it. I went a week without scooping the box (oops) and it did not smell AT ALL. My cats are both neutered, but those of you with male cats may know that their urine really smells strong. Other brands somehow seemed to magnify the odor, or just didn't mix so it ended up smelling worse.
Feline Pine absorbs all the smells -I'm really in disbelief, and I wish I would have started using this years ago! It does not clump, but where the cats urinate it sort of disintegrates the pine chunks and turns them into a sawdust-like substance (not dusty, however) which is SUPER easy to scoop.
As for the price, it is a much better deal than any other litter because it lasts so much longer, and a large bag is no more expensive than a traditional litter of any brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I highly recommend it!

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Thinkplease
from Nevada
This was a great product! It is all natural and I don't need to worry about the cat eating it and getting sick. as for the sawdust well just get a different litter box. One that has holes in the bottom so the sawdust can fall through and has a panel in the bottom you can just take it and dump it out. I have this kind of litter box and it is very useful with this product. Makes cleaning a breeze. No smell. Safe for my kitten that's just turned 3months. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cat Litter

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
gbaerial
from Forestville, CA
This is the best cat litter on the market. Period.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Try it - You WON'T regret it!

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leigh9
I tried this litter after having it recommended to me by a vet. I will NEVER use another. We have a two cat household and you can't smell a thing! The litter is good on our allergies because it doesn't have dust, it doesn't get tracked outside of the catbox badly at all, we even use it as bedding for our rabbit (who also lives inside without being smelly because of Feline Pine). Just to let you know, we live in a tiny town and recently our store ran out....we drove two hours to stock up on six bags just in case. It has made normal litter completely intolerable. Just try it; you will understand. The litter starts as pellets which fall apart as they absorb liquid AND ODOR. This gives a great visual cue to when it is time to change the box. It's unbelievable; two cats and a rabbit, no smells. No odor. I'm a believer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Litter!

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
AliCatNYC
from New York, NY
I love this litter - there is never an odor, it doesn't track and I know it's healthier for my cats than the clay alternatives. Only downside is that my two cats don't like it as much as they like the smaller granules. They still use it, so I've had no issues, but when I first switched I could tell they were reluctant. They've adjusted just fine, however!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Persiangirl
from Florida
This litter is the best! I started using with my Persian baby when she was 10 weeks old. She was skeptical at first, maybe because she was so little and couldn't dig very easy, but now at 16 weeks she is a pro! There is NO ODOR with this litter when fresh solids are removed promptly. I use a sifting tray with a bottom drawer, line the drawer, and merely remove the sawdust-filled liner every 5 days to 1 week. Even when the drawer is full of sawdust from liquid waste, NO ODOR! Just a piney smell. No dust for her sensitive nose, very little tracking, all around great product! I love that it's health and environmentally friendly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best and only cat litter we'll use

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Longrunner
from St. Thomas, VI
This is the best litter on the market hands down. Smells great and the little tracking that does occur is very easy to clean up, unlike the clumping varietys that can track all over your house (or boat!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Litter Ever

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
CatLuva04092
from Maine
I been using this litter loyally for over 8yrs now. I will stock up before I buy another brand & i never buy another brand!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

feline pine

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
374253
from ct
I have two adult ferret's the oder control is not bad but other than that I would never buy this liter again, what a freaking mess as soon as it's wet it turns into saw dust and is everywhere.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best litter ever!

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sprout
from Bay Area, CA
I've been using this litter for at least 10 years! I love this stuff! It's affordable, easy to clean up, gets rid of odor and I've always recommended it to people.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok Litter

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
hailstorm
from New York NY
I needed something to cover the smell in a small NYC apartment and this is just ok. The huge plus is there is a bit less litter getting outside of the box and it is flushable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

only litter i use!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
misslove
i have used this litter for over ten years. it contains odors, lasts a long time and has minimum tracking.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cat litter!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gemmi05
from Cleveland, OH
I have used Feline Pine Cat Litter for several years & it is the only litter I will use. I love the fact that it is environmentally friendly. Urine will turn soft which I then scoop out with an old, big metal spoon. Solid waste can either be taken out with the old, big metal spoon or a slotted spoon. I'm not a fan at all of clumping litter because many cats lick their fur. If there is clumping litter on their backside, they can lick the clumping litter, ingest it, and then it can cause the clumping litter to become solid in their intestinal tract.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best stuff ever

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chat
from Baltimore, MD
After years of dealing with clay litter and then clumping litter which advertises as 99.9% dustfree, I have found that Feline Pine really delivers. The other litter literally left white dust everywhere, and with my sinuses and some of my cats' allergies, this has been a godsend. Very little residue and easy to clean up and to dispose. A lot lighter than the clay litter or scoopable litter to handle especially when it is time to get rid of it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Feline Pine Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

falls apart.... cats don't cover, therefore stinkier than regular litter

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sammy2cats
from Fort Lewis, WA
When the cat urinates on this... the granules dissolve, fall apart, and sit there stinking/getting tracked sawdust in the bottom of the pan. The granules are too big for the cat to care to try very hard to cover number 2 with them... plus they are so big the air spaces between let the smell go about even if it IS fully covered. Just wasn't for me and my cats. Same problem with the newspaper one...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>