petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top

Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top

Place on top of an aquarium or terrarium to create a secure area for your reptileEndures high temperatures from heating devicesMade with galvanized wire, then powder coated for extra protectionUse with Petco Screen Cover Clips, sold separately, for added security
Average Customer Rating:
4.622 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
44 out of 45(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Review 1 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally- a functional lid that fits!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
After unfortunately not purchasing the screened top for a 40 Gallon tank in the store (only had two in stock & gone by the next day), I saw the online special for free shipping, etc. purchased the top & very pleased! The lid is hinged which is very convenient for feeding purposes & seems sturdy too. Time will tell in terms of it holding up to a heating lamp for our turtles, but don't foresee a problem. Definitely recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect fit

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boston,ma
Bought this for my 40g breeder,fits perfectly and supports 2 double lighted zoo med lamps.Even supports my tabby cat when her curiousity strikes and observes from the top of the tank.GREAT product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wilkes Barre, PA
I have a 50 gallon tank for my red ear slider turtle and this is a great top for the tank. It makes it easy to feed Tommy every morning. Great fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy cover

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I bought the hinged variety of this screen cover.
This screen top cover is of good quality plus it's well made and very sturdy. It fits well on my 40 Gallon Breeder tank. The screen is tightly fitted to the rims of the lid on top and doesn't gap down like some other screen tops that I have tried. The hinged cover makes it easy to access the tank in the front without having to move lights, foggers, etc. that sit on the cover in the back.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Fishtank Lid

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oakland, CA
My only complaint is that the lid doesn't fit neatly over the filter for my fistank. Other than that, it's a solid, well-designed product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Terrific Easy Access Lid For 40 Gallon Breeder Aquarium

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
I'd been hunting for a lid for the 40 gallon breeder tank I'd purchased at my local Petco for my bearded dragon. I needed a lid that was hinged lenghwise in the middle, giving easy access to the interior and this WAS IT! It's heat resistant so the heat lights don't hurt it and can stay in place on the back part of the lid, when the front of the lid is opened for feeding and cleaning.
II was a little worried because the picture showed the unhinged version, however, I took a chance since the text said it was hinged. I held my breath when ordering it, and, indeed, it was HINGED! YIPPEE AND THANKS PETCO!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is sturdy

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
I recently bought this for my turtle tank. It seems more sturdy then the last top and I like that it is heat resistant.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Hermit Crabs

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Nj
I bought this lid for my 50 gallon Breeder tank, I use it to house 11 crabs (9 Purple Pinchers, and 2 compresses) I find it very easy to use because the lid has flaps so its easy to use, it would hold in humidity t first but I wrapped the lid with plastic to retain moisture. My crabs love climbing on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great screen

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MA
the screen top is solid, does what it says, easy to put on the enclosure. would buy this again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turtle tank topper

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from walla walla, wa
works great at keeping my sneeky turtles in their tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

FITS PERFECT

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from MEMPHIS, TN
I was able to turn a fish tank into a turtle haven! Fits my 10 gallon easily
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product! just wish there was an opening

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
This is a really good product. Everything you'd expect in a top for an aquarium/terrarium. It's a little difficult getting cords in and out of the aquarium so it'd be nice if there was an area you could flip open for room for filters/cords etc. Other than that, it's awesome=)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great screen top for my terrarium!

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
This is a great screen cover. I bought it online and got a 20% off. This is a must buy for your terrarium. Definitely heat resistant!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy access to my tortoise now

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
Was looking for a sturdy replacement lid because our cats decided to make their new sleeping spot on top of the tortoise tank and well they ripped right through it, poor tortoise! This lid is sturdy and allows for easy access to the tortoise for feeding and cleaning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT SECUITY FOR SMALL ANIMALS

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from HOPKINSVILLE,KY
I JUST LOVE MY NEW SCREEN TOP FOR MY PYTHON, BEFORE I HAD THE FISH AQUARIUM TOP WITH ALL THE HOLES DUCT TAPED CLOSED. BUT WITH THIS TOP, I NO LONGER HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT HIM GETTING OUT!! I ALSO RECOMMEND THE "REPTILE SCREEN COVER CLIPS" WITH THIS FOR ADDED SECURITY!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I finally found one!

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Salt Lake City, Utah
I have bought these horizontal spilt screen tops in the past. Now, I can't find one to fit my 40 gallon breeder tank in any of the pet stores, including Petco, where I bought my tank. I was told they weren't making this size anymore. WHAT? These are the best tops for any tank that I've found. I have one on my old 20 gallon long tank. I love not having to move the lights off the lid to reach into the tank. What a relief it was to find the 40 gallon breeder tank size lid online with Petco. Why doesn't Petco sell these in their stores? I hope Petco will consider stocking these hinged screen top lids in their stores soon. My lid arrived yesterday and it is perfect. This lid is much more convenient to use than the flat screen lids. Thanks for making this size available online. Now, I will enjoy my bearded dragon more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best screen top I've used

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
Very sturdy and great design. Makes it very easy to feed without needing to take the whole top off. You can also just open one side to take your pet out and put them back in. Great product for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits perfectly

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Raleigh
This fits my 10 gallon tank perfectly. I don't even need screen clips (also my hermit crabs cant get all the way up there:). My two crabs are perfectly happy in there 10 gallon habitat and this lid keeps the mist and humidity in surprisingly! Great lid.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprised and happy

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
I bought a lid for the 40 Breeder tank and It fits perfectly. I wasn't sure at first what it would look like, because the picture on the site only shows a general rectangle, however this size has a hinge that runs horizontal. I could not find this anywhere...not even inside a Petco store, so I am glad they offered it online.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cheap and does the Job

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
I purchased the 40/50 gallon top and I really like it. It fits properly, but the hinge isn't a good quality. If you are purchasing one without the hinge, you should have no issues. I recieved this product just a couple days after ordering, but the package was pretty damaged and the lid was bent. However Petco gave me a full refund and let me keep the package. I think this is a good lid for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>