petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top

Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top

Place on top of an aquarium or terrarium to create a secure area for your reptileEndures high temperatures from heating devicesMade with galvanized wire, then powder coated for extra protectionUse with Petco Screen Cover Clips, sold separately, for added security
Average Customer Rating:
4.641 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
52 out of 53(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Review 1 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect cover

PostedMay 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
This cover fits perfectly on my 40B tank. I like being able to get into my beardies tank without having to take the whole thing off. It helps to have a lighting/heat system that hangs under the back half of the lid.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fits perfect

PostedApril 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from grand island,ne
Did't expect lid to be two piece hinged,love it. Floor mat also fit . Materials and workmanship excellent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect and well built

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Crestview, Fl
Fits a 10 gallon tank well. The screen is heavier construction than other ones I have used. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good, sturdy top

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Godfrey, IL
I have been using these tops for years without any problems. Currently have three now. Never any issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this!

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Cortland, OH
I absolutely love this screen top! I was a little worried it would not fit my 40 gallon tank I just bought for my hamster, but it fits perfectly! And I like how the lid I got opens half way and it is durable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

sturdy but oversized

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
I ordered the size for a 10g tank and it turned out to be very oversized in both horizontal dimensions. Maybe this is deliberate, to allow room for cords such as for heat rocks when it's used for reptiles? It makes me a bit uneasy, using it for mice, but I'll have to see if clips hold it solidly enough (forgot to order those, been using weights until they arrive). Meanwhile, the mesh is exactly what I hoped; wide enough to let me tie sisal twine through it for hanging toys and strong/hard enough to stand up to chewing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good lid

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from DE
Very sturdy, solid lid. Fits my 10g tank well enough - about 1/2 inch too big in width but no biggie, still gets the job done. I did purchase Petco's locking clips with it to keep my mice from escaping and the cats out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Green Bay, WI
These screen tops are of good quality and last forever. I Have used them for everything from lizards to rats and they hold up very well. They sit on top of the tank and don't have clips, so I use a decorative statue or small bungies to secure them. Very nice product at a great price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally- a functional lid that fits!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
After unfortunately not purchasing the screened top for a 40 Gallon tank in the store (only had two in stock & gone by the next day), I saw the online special for free shipping, etc. purchased the top & very pleased! The lid is hinged which is very convenient for feeding purposes & seems sturdy too. Time will tell in terms of it holding up to a heating lamp for our turtles, but don't foresee a problem. Definitely recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect fit

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boston,ma
Bought this for my 40g breeder,fits perfectly and supports 2 double lighted zoo med lamps.Even supports my tabby cat when her curiousity strikes and observes from the top of the tank.GREAT product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wilkes Barre, PA
I have a 50 gallon tank for my red ear slider turtle and this is a great top for the tank. It makes it easy to feed Tommy every morning. Great fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy cover

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I bought the hinged variety of this screen cover.
This screen top cover is of good quality plus it's well made and very sturdy. It fits well on my 40 Gallon Breeder tank. The screen is tightly fitted to the rims of the lid on top and doesn't gap down like some other screen tops that I have tried. The hinged cover makes it easy to access the tank in the front without having to move lights, foggers, etc. that sit on the cover in the back.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Fishtank Lid

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oakland, CA
My only complaint is that the lid doesn't fit neatly over the filter for my fistank. Other than that, it's a solid, well-designed product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Terrific Easy Access Lid For 40 Gallon Breeder Aquarium

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
I'd been hunting for a lid for the 40 gallon breeder tank I'd purchased at my local Petco for my bearded dragon. I needed a lid that was hinged lenghwise in the middle, giving easy access to the interior and this WAS IT! It's heat resistant so the heat lights don't hurt it and can stay in place on the back part of the lid, when the front of the lid is opened for feeding and cleaning.
II was a little worried because the picture showed the unhinged version, however, I took a chance since the text said it was hinged. I held my breath when ordering it, and, indeed, it was HINGED! YIPPEE AND THANKS PETCO!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is sturdy

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
I recently bought this for my turtle tank. It seems more sturdy then the last top and I like that it is heat resistant.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Hermit Crabs

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Nj
I bought this lid for my 50 gallon Breeder tank, I use it to house 11 crabs (9 Purple Pinchers, and 2 compresses) I find it very easy to use because the lid has flaps so its easy to use, it would hold in humidity t first but I wrapped the lid with plastic to retain moisture. My crabs love climbing on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great screen

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MA
the screen top is solid, does what it says, easy to put on the enclosure. would buy this again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turtle tank topper

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from walla walla, wa
works great at keeping my sneeky turtles in their tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

FITS PERFECT

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from MEMPHIS, TN
I was able to turn a fish tank into a turtle haven! Fits my 10 gallon easily
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Heat Resistant Screen Top
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product! just wish there was an opening

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
This is a really good product. Everything you'd expect in a top for an aquarium/terrarium. It's a little difficult getting cords in and out of the aquarium so it'd be nice if there was an area you could flip open for room for filters/cords etc. Other than that, it's awesome=)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>