petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips

Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips

Easy to use design fits most aquariums & terrariumsSecures screen top providing added securityEach package contains two clips
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
2
8 out of 15(53%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Review 1 for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING product!!!

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
LAPueblan
from Louisiana
I had lots of issues when my cornsnake hatchlings escaping from my 10 gallon, years ago. Well I'm about to purchase a milk and use my old 40 gallon. I figured I'd try these puppies out since apparently I can't keep snakes in tanks. Well, I bought 4 and place two on each 30" side. You do have to slightly bend them to a custom fit, but I think that's great, because petco doesn't really know your tank. They install very easily and mine are very snug. I tried pushing up on my lid from the inside and it didn't even budge, even with a good amount of force. I'm now completely confident my Pueblan will NOT be escaping, at least from the top. This is an amazing and CHEAP product. It also is more visibly appealing than a rock or something.
I access the inside of my tank from the sides, so I can see the slight hassle of having to un-clamp everyday to change water, etc. But, it's still a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Clips

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
KGDIO
from Greensburg, PA
These clips work great on my 50 gal tank. If you are having trouble using them, try bending them a bit so they fit tighter. Recommend using 2 sets of these for larger tanks though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointed

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
prith
I've used items similar to these years ago when I had small pets regularly, so I didn't think twice about buying some when I just got a new hamster. I'm not sure if it's the clips, the lid, or both, but these do NOT work, at ALL. You'd think something so simple would have consistent results but apparently not... complete waste of money, and now I'm at a loss of how to keep the cats out of the cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT CLIPS!!

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
NANNATERRY
from HOPKINSVILLE,KY
I BOUGHT THESE BECAUSE THE BALL PYTHON I HAVE KEPT GETTING OUT. I WAS USING A BIG ROCK ON TOP THE SCREEN, BUT THEN I BOUGHT THESE CLIPS. WHAT A GREAT PRODUCT! NO MORE HIDE AND SEEK FOR MY SNAKE!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

These work great for me!

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tarantula
from Salt Lake City, Utah
I'm so glad I bought these for my young pastel ball python, Casper.
They work very well for him. They were loose on my tank at first, but I applied a little thin line hot glue to the top of the small part that goes under the plastic lining of the top of the tank and I let it dry. When it was dry I slid it up inside of the plastic like the directions implied and It fit a lot better. They are very strong and keep Casper in his home! I recommend them. If they don't fit your tank at first, try getting a little crafty!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Clips fit our tank well

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
SteveinKentucky
I originally had two spring clips that I don't like at all. These work fine for me. The long piece fits underneath the plastic frame, while the clip fits over the edge of the screen frame. It might take a bit of moving clips around to find the best spot as you are basically wedging them against silicone caulk underneath the plastic rim. If you don't have adequate holding power, put some caulk or something under the tank frame to tighten it up. I haven't found them to be difficult to take off at all. I plan on buying more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Very Secure

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
ballpythoncollector
These clips don't fit very tightly on my aquariums, I bought several of these and plan on returning them all. Not entirely sure they will keep my snakes in the cage with the loose way they fit.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT GONNA WORK!!!

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
ZooInTraining
the clips dont fit the lid, which doesnt fit the tank perfectly, but hey my mice dont get out, before you buy this product, make sure the clips will hold your lid firmly
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not good clips

PostedApril 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Roho
from Marietta, Georgia
I purchased these (and returned them) for some of my geckos' cages. They are extremely difficult to put on the cage, and even harder to get off. Maybe I was not putting them on correctly, but if you can get them on and off easily enough, they are very secure.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Instructions?

PostedDecember 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
TempeScorpions
There are no instructions! I have a 15 gallon tank, and a tight fitting screen. Where am I supposed to put the clips? Large side to tank, or large side to screen? What are the little parts for? If one of these Emperors gets out, it's gonna be divorce. No marriage counselors, no trial separation -- divorce.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT for pythons!

PostedJuly 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
SandyMF
These clips are not as strong as the slimmer Zilla clips. Many snakes have the strength to push the screen up despite the clip, which is enough to escape. I have a python, which could definitely push the screen up--even after my husband adjusted them several times, the clips were still too springy to hold the screen TIGHT against the top of the aquarium. NOT recommended.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Lock, Yet Annoying to get Off.

PostedMay 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
CobraKing
from Sun Diego....Yeah!!!!
These are great for keeping snakes in, yet when it comes time to remove them, their an absolute pain. I use them on my Cali. Kings, which love to escape, yet removing them is extremely annoying and difficult.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Naja
from Michigan
I am a herpetologist and these work extremely well to prevent herps from escaping from glass tanks. Most snakes and lizards are escape artists. So, if you don't want your precious reptile friend exploring your house on it's own, I highly recommend these. They can be a little tough to get off at times but there are ways to easily remove them. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product, one problem

PostedDecember 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
LizWithAZoo
from Jonesboro, AR
I love these clips. They are excellent for keeping nosy critters in, especially the snakes which can get their nose out of almost everything. The ONLY thing I had a problem with, it that the package says that the SMALL size clips fit an aquarium up to 50 gallons. They are NO where close however to large enough for my 40 gallon breeder style aquarium. I've used them on 10 and 20 gallon tanks and they are perfect!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Reptile Screen Cover Security Clips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

screen top clips

PostedJuly 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
mike
from Fortwayne, in
I have 2 of these clips for my screen top. It really works great. My gerbil loves to jump and with these clips he can't get out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.