petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring

Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring

Large - for dogs up to 85 lbs.Aircraft steel cable with protective vinyl coatingSafer and stronger than chainRust and corrosion resistant swivel boltsCushion spring for active dogs
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
5
14 out of 24(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Review 1 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tie-Out Cable with Spring

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
JoClay
from Milwaukee, WI
Our dog (Missy) enjoys getting further out in the yard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

thing's to try for those having problems

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
moonwoof
from Waterloo, IA.
I have a Husky/Shepard mix (12yrs. old). I've always used these cable tieouts. The first cable I bought I thought had snaped. However after buying a 2nd cable I noticed Bella would knaw on the cable (that puppy-4yr. old stage, all dogs are different) which not only made it look as though the plastic coating was cracking right away but it would also cause the cable to frey there by exposing the cable to the elements and jepordizing it's strength.
I switched to a heavier gage cable and that solved the problem. Once Bella was older and beyond the chewing stage I switched back to the original lighter gage cable for better comfort. I've had no problems.
I will admit I buy a new cable aprox. every 3yrs. because the plastic will dry rot and crack and the cable becomes more ridged if left outside. That's just normal especially if you live in a cold weather climate.
A chain link type tieout might last longer but will tear up your lawn where as a cable won't. I would rather buy an inexpensive cable every 3yrs. than haveing to deal with the time and cost of yard work not to mention the eyesore of what a worn lawn looks like.
As for rust on the clasp's; a simple S.O.S pad will clean that up in a matter of minutes.
Hope this info. helps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

tie outs

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
nanner1155
from minnesota
Not recommended for Minnesota weather, crack in the cold easy and cause wire fragments to embed owners and pets. I have replace 5 in the last yr.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok Tie out

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
TimD
from Maine
The tie out is ok for the price. Have only had for 2 weeks and already has some rust showing on the clips. Will have to see how it holds up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trustworthy Tie-Out

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
KittyMcD
from Pittsburgh, PA
This tie-out is sturdy, well-made and reasonbly priced. I have no fear that it will break or come apart so I can rest easy, knowing my dog will not get loose. A fine product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rusted too quickly

PostedApril 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
AndreaLS
The cable rusted on both ends after only a few weeks and the clips became difficult to open and close. I returned it to the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I use my tie outs for play time : )

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
DebGspz
from New York
I live in New York, have a small backyard and 4 dogs. I take my dogs to the park and use the Tie Outs there and they have a ball. For anyone with a small yard and more then 1 dog, these tie outs allow you so much more freedom, a dog can only get so much exercise from walking on a leash so in the summer when the parks are crowded we attach the dogs to the fence in the grass and they just love it. I wish we had a big yard but we dont so this is the next best thing. So far I have only used the chain ones but they are heavy to carry since I do need 4 so im trying the wire ones for the first time now. I will let you know how they hold up. We dont leave our dogs outside so my use is limited to playtime.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy!

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
plantnut
My dog chewed through five leashes in the first two weeks we had her. Even the one advertised as "indestructible and guaranteed for life" only lasted a few days. Great quality cable and fittings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As expected.

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
jazzman
from Cornfields of Illinois
Have bought these tie outs in past, only at a store. I like that there are various lengths and wire gauges. The online prices were even better than at the store and shipping was so fast I believe I heard a sonic boom!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No Choice.

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
ashcanprobably
from Los Angeles, CA
I have a pair of nearly 2 year-old Boxweillers and have bought 4 of these cables so far. The first cable's snap lock was the version without the additional metal spring that helps to alleviate stress on the neck when the dog is jerking with excitement. The next three all featured this metal spring, which is an improvement, albeit obtrusive. The problem with these cables as mentioned before by other reviewers is that the red plastic wire coat eventually becomes dried out and cracked, at which point the threaded wire becomes exposed and deteriorates until it snaps. Petco offers no alternatives.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

doe tie out cable

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Denise123
I would recommend these tie out cables for any big dog. My dog weighs around 65 pounds and I bought the 30 foot cable so she has lots of room to roam. I have one cable in the driveway and the other in the backyard. She uses her cables every day and they have lasted years through heat and snow. Also, while you are purchasing something at Petco, try and make a donation online or in store to help all the animals that need our help.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not weatherproof

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Audra
These tie outs say they are weather proof. I have had mine for two weeks and already they are showing signs of rust from the rain. I am not sure how long they will last.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

tie out cable

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristy157
I love these cables but I wish the hooks were smaller. I have 2 7 pound dogs and I love the length of the cable but the hooks are a little heavy for small dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good solution to keeping the dog in the yard

PostedMay 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
eaf99
when i'm gardening i need to know my dog is safe, and this has worked very well. it's strong and doesn't get tangled.
i would NEVER leave her tied outside alone, but it's perfect for when i can't watch her at every moment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

PostedApril 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
BBruamann
from Chicago, IL
My dogs really liked these tie out cables. Easy to install and easy to understand instructions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it

PostedSeptember 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
menehune
from Honolulu, HI
I've only used it once, but I like the quality of the product. 30' at a little over 1 lbs. I usually use a piece of string tied to her leash or tie our dog with the leash around a fence. She was able to walk down some stairs to the first floor and lay down on a walkway leading to the stairs which was the coolest area of the house. The tie-out cable did the trick ! Thank you Petco !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rusted

PostedApril 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
2cute
from Houston, TX
I bought this tieout because of the colored covering. I thought it would help kepp it from getting run over by the lawn mower. Very disappointed. Both ends began rusting ofter one week. My dog is white, and the rust is staining his coat. I'm returning to the store today.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good.

PostedDecember 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Buffalo
from Missouri
I purchased the 30' cable for dogs up to 50 lbs. on 07-30-08. My dog weighs 14 lbs. and snaped the cable in half on 12-04-08. The only good thing was that the remaining portion of the cable dragging on the ground made it easy to hear the dog when I was driving around the neighborhood looking for him.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good At First

PostedNovember 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
mrsncook
I bought a cable tie out for my dog, and it worked well for the first couple of weeks. Then I noticed that it began to show signs of wear. The exposed metal parts rusted, and there were several small worn spots in the cover over the cable. I didn't think much about it until my dog began wandering the neighborhood. Good thing we didn't have traffic that evening! When we checked the chain again, it had broken in half. I should have replaced it when it looked worn, but I didn't know it would break so easily. Meanwhile, the link chain my neighbor bought before me is still going strong.
The product claims "Safer and stronger than chain", but it has not been stronger than the chains we've used in the past or our neighbors have used. This product claims to be rust and erosion resistant. While that may be true, it has rusted through and has broken after a few months. I realize I should have replaced it when I first saw signs of wear. When I find a chain to replace this, I will be looking for something different.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sadly Disappointed

PostedOctober 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
rlfexcited
from Westchester County, NY
Bought the Heavy Duty 15 ft on 7/30/08 to replace chain-link. Thought it would work, but after 2.5 months it snapped in half. Going back to store with receipt. Wished I'd read reviews before buying this product. Started out so great. Now have to find alternative quick.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>