petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring

Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring

Large - for dogs up to 85 lbs.Aircraft steel cable with protective vinyl coatingSafer and stronger than chainRust and corrosion resistant swivel boltsCushion spring for active dogs
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
6
16 out of 27(59%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Review 1 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

amazing

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from whittier, ca
Using on a med/lrg american pitbull terrier. So far the material seems strong. I have it wrapped around a tree next to my apartment since i dont have a yard. Your dog will get anxious beeing tied for a long period of time. I know because my pet is tied until i get back from work
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
I was looking for something durable because my puppy chewed through her last cord. She hasn't got out yet with this cable and it is long enough for her to have complete access to the backyard (it is fenced but she keeps finding ways to escape). It has held up well so far and I am satisified with the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Major disappointment

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wooster, OH
This product was left outside 24/7 for two weeks and one day, and the clasp at each end of the cable is covered with rust. The manufacturer and the seller surely must be aware of this. How sad.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tie-Out Cable with Spring

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
Our dog (Missy) enjoys getting further out in the yard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

thing's to try for those having problems

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Waterloo, IA.
I have a Husky/Shepard mix (12yrs. old). I've always used these cable tieouts. The first cable I bought I thought had snaped. However after buying a 2nd cable I noticed Bella would knaw on the cable (that puppy-4yr. old stage, all dogs are different) which not only made it look as though the plastic coating was cracking right away but it would also cause the cable to frey there by exposing the cable to the elements and jepordizing it's strength.
I switched to a heavier gage cable and that solved the problem. Once Bella was older and beyond the chewing stage I switched back to the original lighter gage cable for better comfort. I've had no problems.
I will admit I buy a new cable aprox. every 3yrs. because the plastic will dry rot and crack and the cable becomes more ridged if left outside. That's just normal especially if you live in a cold weather climate.
A chain link type tieout might last longer but will tear up your lawn where as a cable won't. I would rather buy an inexpensive cable every 3yrs. than haveing to deal with the time and cost of yard work not to mention the eyesore of what a worn lawn looks like.
As for rust on the clasp's; a simple S.O.S pad will clean that up in a matter of minutes.
Hope this info. helps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

tie outs

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from minnesota
Not recommended for Minnesota weather, crack in the cold easy and cause wire fragments to embed owners and pets. I have replace 5 in the last yr.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok Tie out

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Maine
The tie out is ok for the price. Have only had for 2 weeks and already has some rust showing on the clips. Will have to see how it holds up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trustworthy Tie-Out

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
This tie-out is sturdy, well-made and reasonbly priced. I have no fear that it will break or come apart so I can rest easy, knowing my dog will not get loose. A fine product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rusted too quickly

PostedApril 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
The cable rusted on both ends after only a few weeks and the clips became difficult to open and close. I returned it to the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I use my tie outs for play time : )

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New York
I live in New York, have a small backyard and 4 dogs. I take my dogs to the park and use the Tie Outs there and they have a ball. For anyone with a small yard and more then 1 dog, these tie outs allow you so much more freedom, a dog can only get so much exercise from walking on a leash so in the summer when the parks are crowded we attach the dogs to the fence in the grass and they just love it. I wish we had a big yard but we dont so this is the next best thing. So far I have only used the chain ones but they are heavy to carry since I do need 4 so im trying the wire ones for the first time now. I will let you know how they hold up. We dont leave our dogs outside so my use is limited to playtime.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy!

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
My dog chewed through five leashes in the first two weeks we had her. Even the one advertised as "indestructible and guaranteed for life" only lasted a few days. Great quality cable and fittings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As expected.

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Cornfields of Illinois
Have bought these tie outs in past, only at a store. I like that there are various lengths and wire gauges. The online prices were even better than at the store and shipping was so fast I believe I heard a sonic boom!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No Choice.

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I have a pair of nearly 2 year-old Boxweillers and have bought 4 of these cables so far. The first cable's snap lock was the version without the additional metal spring that helps to alleviate stress on the neck when the dog is jerking with excitement. The next three all featured this metal spring, which is an improvement, albeit obtrusive. The problem with these cables as mentioned before by other reviewers is that the red plastic wire coat eventually becomes dried out and cracked, at which point the threaded wire becomes exposed and deteriorates until it snaps. Petco offers no alternatives.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

doe tie out cable

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
I would recommend these tie out cables for any big dog. My dog weighs around 65 pounds and I bought the 30 foot cable so she has lots of room to roam. I have one cable in the driveway and the other in the backyard. She uses her cables every day and they have lasted years through heat and snow. Also, while you are purchasing something at Petco, try and make a donation online or in store to help all the animals that need our help.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not weatherproof

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
These tie outs say they are weather proof. I have had mine for two weeks and already they are showing signs of rust from the rain. I am not sure how long they will last.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

tie out cable

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
I love these cables but I wish the hooks were smaller. I have 2 7 pound dogs and I love the length of the cable but the hooks are a little heavy for small dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good solution to keeping the dog in the yard

PostedMay 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
when i'm gardening i need to know my dog is safe, and this has worked very well. it's strong and doesn't get tangled.
i would NEVER leave her tied outside alone, but it's perfect for when i can't watch her at every moment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

PostedApril 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
My dogs really liked these tie out cables. Easy to install and easy to understand instructions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it

PostedSeptember 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu, HI
I've only used it once, but I like the quality of the product. 30' at a little over 1 lbs. I usually use a piece of string tied to her leash or tie our dog with the leash around a fence. She was able to walk down some stairs to the first floor and lay down on a walkway leading to the stairs which was the coolest area of the house. The tie-out cable did the trick ! Thank you Petco !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables with Spring
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rusted

PostedApril 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
I bought this tieout because of the colored covering. I thought it would help kepp it from getting run over by the lawn mower. Very disappointed. Both ends began rusting ofter one week. My dog is white, and the rust is staining his coat. I'm returning to the store today.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>