petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters

AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters

The world's best selling aquarium power filtersQuiet, efficient and reliable biological and mechanical filtration
Average Customer Rating:
4.487 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 119 reviews
5 stars
91
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
8
106 out of 119(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Review 1 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One awesome aquarium filter system.

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Warren, RI
If you are looking for an excellent quality aquarium filter that is dependable, reliable, quiet and excellent value for the price, then this is the filter for you. It is not cheaply made, its easily cleaned and easy to set up. Moreover, replacing the filter media after its useful life is both convenient and a snap. The removable basket-like media holder slides in and out of the unit with ease. AquaClear/Fluval sells both the carbon and ammonia remover prepackaged in their own media bags, each packaged in a box. The foam filter element comes the same way. Simply disconnect the power,remove the filter cover, lift the basket up and out, discard the old media, place a new bag of charcoal and a new bag of ammonia remover (after they have been rinsed under running water to remove the fine powder-like residue associated with charcoal and zeolite) along with the new foam into the basket and drop it back into the filter unit, replace the cover and reconnect the power. Done. You don't even have to prime the unit as it does it on its own. It is good practice to clean the filter every time you change the filter media. This ensures optimum performance and you will have happier healthier fish. This filter system costs more than some and less than others but it is worth the price. I'm still using the very first one I bought over 10 years ago. The only thing I've had to do is clean it and replace the filter media. That's it. I've had two other brand units but they were a big disappointment. Trust me, unless you are going for one of those really expensive canister units, this is the unit you should get.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Buy aqua clear - save money

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I have 3 aqua clears and 5 competitors (the number 2 brand). At the time, I thought I was saving money by buying the number 2 brand which was less than half of the price, but I wasn't. Aqua clear is the cheapest filter even if you buy it at full price because the media is cheaper - the sponge and biomedia (despite what they say) never needs to be replaced (never replaced mine for a couple years). Rinse out the sponge and don't touch the biomedia. The charcoal bag is huge and if you like charcoal, replace it every month, but the best part of this filter is its design. You can replace the charcoal with purigen, another sponge or more biomedia. You will save hundreds of dollars by buying this filter (trust me) because you don't even have to buy media if you don't care about charcoal.
Despite the fact that I will only ever buy Aqua clear again and am converting all my tanks to aqua clears from the competitor, I have two complaints with this filter that Hagen could improve upon. One - the plastic is flimsy compared to its two competitors. I've cracked an intake tube and a filter box - if you drop and aqua clear (and if you're changing water, cleaning a filter, it's easy to drop) on any hard surface, it's toast. If you drop it's number 1 competitor, you're fine - the plastic on the number 2 brand is 100% better and stronger.
2- the intake tube holes on the aquaclear are way too big - that would be fine for big fish, goldifish, Oscars, and medium fish, but I've had several fish killed by aquaclear intake tubes over the years: I constantly find fry in the filter (never happens with its competitor). kuhli loaches and aqua clears are a problem since the kuhli can easily swim up the intake tube (and will in my experience). Even smaller fish like guppies and mollies can get caught in it. My aqua clear has killed one kuhli loach, one mystery snail, two juvenile livebearers and several dozen fry over the years.
Sure, you can put pantyhose or a prefilter sponge over it (and I do now) but then, the filter doesn't work as great, so I would love to see aqua clear narrow the holes in this filter and strengthen the plastic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

power filter

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from new orleans
Good power filter, I use these power filter for yrs, to me honestly I like these filters compare to canisters filter..I have 2 on my 150 gl...110 ac filter....1, 110 ac filter on my 55gl saltwater tank,, now the 70 ac on my daughter 29gl..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD FILTER

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from BROOKLYN,NY
I USE THIS FILTER WITH A TURTLE TANK. ONE SIDE PANEL IS LOWER THAN THE OTHER SIDES, SO THE TANK DOESN'T GET FILLED ALL THE WAY. IT WORKS WELL . THE TANK HAS THE SAME MEASUREMENTS AS A REGULAR 20 GALLON LONG TANK.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet And Efficient

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
I'm very glad I bought the AquaClear 50 for my tank! My turtle had to go a few days without a filter, when my old one broke, before I could buy another. Within an hour of running, you could barely tell that a filter hadn't been in use for a while. The activated carbon keeps any odors away, and I must point out that there is zero fogginess or discoloration in the water. The filter is totally silent, the only sound coming from the waterfall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

good filter but noisy

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from florida
i got the aquaclear 20 for my 10 gallon tank and the filter is great and all but the pump is a little noisy; i got it to replace the noisy filter i had and this turned out the same. i got this as one of the most expensive (high quality) hang on back filters but it let me down...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
This filter is silent, powerful, adjustable, and best of all, no filter cartridges! It is WELL worth the money and recommended to all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AquaClear(Fluval) 70

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Glens Falls, NY
I had to return the 30 because it wasn't siphoning right. It would take about 10 minutes before starting to flow. Petco gave me no problems with the return. I went with the 70 instead. For a HOB this thing has a lot of room for media. I love the flow rate adjustment as well. It definitely pushes 300 gph on full throttle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aquaclear

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Clarks Summit,PA
One filter came with a crack which I did not noticed until after two days. It damaged my wood stand. Check for leakage when you get yours. Otherwise, I like them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Impossible to prime. Garbage.

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
It is impossible to get this thing started without pouring water all over the floor and your stand. Air gets locked in the uptake tube and it is impossible to get it out. No amount of pouring water into the filter or shaking it can fix it. Every time I have to change media or clean this it is the same story.
I hate this filter with a vengance.
Waste of money since if you can't prime it, it doesn't work and doesn't filter the tank.
Buy an Aqueon or other filter, but never buy one of these designs where the intake goes up and over. You'll never get the air bubble out and the filter will never work.
Piece of garbage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-30points
2of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best filter on the market.

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu, HI
This is the second filter I have bought. The first one I bought was to replace my old Tetra whisper internal filter that came with my 5 gallon aquarium kit. That filter was okay, but too bulky and not good at all in my opinion. As for the Aqua Clear - I love this filter, and since I will be setting up another tank in the near future, decided to purchase another.
I didn't know a lot about the hobby at that time I bought my aquarium kit. Fortunately we have the internet and I started researching and now several months down the road I think I'm addicted. 5 gallon betta tank that is dirted with lots of plants and high light!
Anyways the filter for sure has saved me a lot of money. There are no filter cartridges (a scam) to replace and all you do is rinse and reuse the filter media. After doing research on multiple brands of filters I think that this filter has the largest media capacity and is the most flexible for media customization. Some people say that this filter has a weak motor or what not, but mine is still working fine. Really hope that the people who got the defective ones reconsider, because this really is a great filter. Love the adjustable flow and the clear plastic that lets you look at the condition of the filter on the inside. Maintenance is quite easy and taking apart the filter is a breeze. My only complaint is that there is a faint humming noise (emphasis on faint) if you have the cover of the filter on.
For those who have issues with their filter, make sure you have put it together properly and fill with water to prime when first starting it/using it. Also don't be afraid to take apart the filter as sometimes it may just be filled with gunk that needs to be cleaned out.
Great filter and I definitely recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best HOB Made

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis
AquaClears are IMO the best HOB design available, they hold ceramic media like a canister and build a huge resilient biofilter. Very simple to clean and reinstall the inlet tube. Compared to pad HOB's or wheel contraptions, they are far ahead. All my HOB's are AC's, the remainder are canisters. I have 14 tanks and wouldn't use any other HOB, and I've given all of them a chance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great So Far!

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
I recently got a used 55 gallon aquarium for Christmas, and I was finally able to get it set up and in its permanent spot today. It came with a Supreme AquaKing (one of the OLLLD ones) which I was a bit nervous about. It is one of those big, bulky ones from the 70s(?) that go on the back of the tank. It took a while to get the intake tubes to work, and then I had to hurry to plug in the motor so it wouldn't overflow. Man, that thing is like a work-horse! It cleaned the tank amazingly, too. The only problem is that it is pretty loud. I can hear it all the way up the stairs in my kitchen. Also, the huge motor is balanced precariously on two rubber "shelves" inside the canister, which is basically a miniature aquarium on its own. However, there are many fond reviews on this product if you google them, and it lasts a VERY long time. I highly reccommend it. I'm still a bit cautious about it, though, and I will watch it carefully for the next week or so in case there are any problems. I may have some problems if there is a power outage, though. I don't have the newer model, so I have no idea how well it performs, but the reviews are very good on it. The pictures I uploaded are not mine, but that is the filter model I have. I couldn't get a clear picture with my phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-11points
1of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Common-sense filtration

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
These are excellent filters that last forever. I picked one of these up second-hand about 15 years ago, and I am still using it without a single problem. Because it hangs on the tank and is open on top, it is much easier to maintain than a sealed canister filter. In fact, it has outlasted two different canister filters I was using on another tank. It also provides a tremendous volume of filter media for its size, probably about 4x as much media volume as hang-on-tank filters that use a flat cartridge. This filter provides mechanical and chemical filtration, plus biological filtration that flat-cartridge filters don't usually provide. Staggered replacement of media also means you spend less money at any one time on filter media. Because of the simplicity and low cost of maintenance, durability, and excellent, well-balanced filtration, I highly recommend this filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Filter

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NE
I am now shopping for another filter. My first Aqua clear lasted 11 years, and I would still be using it if I hadn't dropped it. (I broke the housing.) I never expected a filter to last as long as this one did! In 11 years, I took it completely apart and cleaned beneath the impeller about 3-4 times. I probably should have cleaned it more, but the filter ran great without extra work. My ONLY complaint is that I always had to reprime it after a power outage in order to restart it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great filter

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Laurel, DE
Less noise than the filter that came with my 36 gallon bowfront aquarium
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
this is the best filter. i used this for my 10 gallon saltwater reef tank and i have had it for 4 years and it has kept my corals alive. i love this filter you guys sould get this filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable and Easy to clean

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
Very reliable filter, been using it for little over a year now, tray is easy to remove and clean, only bad thing is it does require priming, but that it is still pretty easy. Reliability is number one though, haven't had any problems with impeller unit at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best HOB filter

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tacoma
This has to be one of the best Hang On Back filters ever made. The media saves you a ton of money because you can rinse the sponge and continue to reuse instead of constantly buying special cartridges. It has good power and creates a bit of a current to help stir up debris. I recommend this filter for their long life span also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from colimbus, in
This is one of the best hob filters out there. I've had 2 110slil aka AC 500, for 15 years and still running. I have 70s also 1 was a little noisy but they usually all quieten down over a month or so, best part is you can pretty much put whatever media you like, and no biowheel to stop turning and killing off your bacteria. And you have the choice to not use carbon, great filter for the money. Highly recommend! P.s. this is not an automated review. Lol
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>