petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters

AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters

The world's best selling aquarium power filtersQuiet, efficient and reliable biological and mechanical filtration
Average Customer Rating:
4.486 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(111 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 111 reviews
5 stars
85
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
8
99 out of 111(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer Reviews for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Review 1 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aquaclear

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
fani
from Clarks Summit,PA
One filter came with a crack which I did not noticed until after two days. It damaged my wood stand. Check for leakage when you get yours. Otherwise, I like them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Impossible to prime. Garbage.

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
mlaiuppa
from San Diego
It is impossible to get this thing started without pouring water all over the floor and your stand. Air gets locked in the uptake tube and it is impossible to get it out. No amount of pouring water into the filter or shaking it can fix it. Every time I have to change media or clean this it is the same story.
I hate this filter with a vengance.
Waste of money since if you can't prime it, it doesn't work and doesn't filter the tank.
Buy an Aqueon or other filter, but never buy one of these designs where the intake goes up and over. You'll never get the air bubble out and the filter will never work.
Piece of garbage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
2of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best filter on the market.

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
ApatheticAP
from Honolulu, HI
This is the second filter I have bought. The first one I bought was to replace my old Tetra whisper internal filter that came with my 5 gallon aquarium kit. That filter was okay, but too bulky and not good at all in my opinion. As for the Aqua Clear - I love this filter, and since I will be setting up another tank in the near future, decided to purchase another.
I didn't know a lot about the hobby at that time I bought my aquarium kit. Fortunately we have the internet and I started researching and now several months down the road I think I'm addicted. 5 gallon betta tank that is dirted with lots of plants and high light!
Anyways the filter for sure has saved me a lot of money. There are no filter cartridges (a scam) to replace and all you do is rinse and reuse the filter media. After doing research on multiple brands of filters I think that this filter has the largest media capacity and is the most flexible for media customization. Some people say that this filter has a weak motor or what not, but mine is still working fine. Really hope that the people who got the defective ones reconsider, because this really is a great filter. Love the adjustable flow and the clear plastic that lets you look at the condition of the filter on the inside. Maintenance is quite easy and taking apart the filter is a breeze. My only complaint is that there is a faint humming noise (emphasis on faint) if you have the cover of the filter on.
For those who have issues with their filter, make sure you have put it together properly and fill with water to prime when first starting it/using it. Also don't be afraid to take apart the filter as sometimes it may just be filled with gunk that needs to be cleaned out.
Great filter and I definitely recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best HOB Made

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Smowman
from Minneapolis
AquaClears are IMO the best HOB design available, they hold ceramic media like a canister and build a huge resilient biofilter. Very simple to clean and reinstall the inlet tube. Compared to pad HOB's or wheel contraptions, they are far ahead. All my HOB's are AC's, the remainder are canisters. I have 14 tanks and wouldn't use any other HOB, and I've given all of them a chance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great So Far!

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
BettasRUs
from Pittsburgh, PA
I recently got a used 55 gallon aquarium for Christmas, and I was finally able to get it set up and in its permanent spot today. It came with a Supreme AquaKing (one of the OLLLD ones) which I was a bit nervous about. It is one of those big, bulky ones from the 70s(?) that go on the back of the tank. It took a while to get the intake tubes to work, and then I had to hurry to plug in the motor so it wouldn't overflow. Man, that thing is like a work-horse! It cleaned the tank amazingly, too. The only problem is that it is pretty loud. I can hear it all the way up the stairs in my kitchen. Also, the huge motor is balanced precariously on two rubber "shelves" inside the canister, which is basically a miniature aquarium on its own. However, there are many fond reviews on this product if you google them, and it lasts a VERY long time. I highly reccommend it. I'm still a bit cautious about it, though, and I will watch it carefully for the next week or so in case there are any problems. I may have some problems if there is a power outage, though. I don't have the newer model, so I have no idea how well it performs, but the reviews are very good on it. The pictures I uploaded are not mine, but that is the filter model I have. I couldn't get a clear picture with my phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Common-sense filtration

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
44and29gallon
from Virginia
These are excellent filters that last forever. I picked one of these up second-hand about 15 years ago, and I am still using it without a single problem. Because it hangs on the tank and is open on top, it is much easier to maintain than a sealed canister filter. In fact, it has outlasted two different canister filters I was using on another tank. It also provides a tremendous volume of filter media for its size, probably about 4x as much media volume as hang-on-tank filters that use a flat cartridge. This filter provides mechanical and chemical filtration, plus biological filtration that flat-cartridge filters don't usually provide. Staggered replacement of media also means you spend less money at any one time on filter media. Because of the simplicity and low cost of maintenance, durability, and excellent, well-balanced filtration, I highly recommend this filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Filter

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from NE
I am now shopping for another filter. My first Aqua clear lasted 11 years, and I would still be using it if I hadn't dropped it. (I broke the housing.) I never expected a filter to last as long as this one did! In 11 years, I took it completely apart and cleaned beneath the impeller about 3-4 times. I probably should have cleaned it more, but the filter ran great without extra work. My ONLY complaint is that I always had to reprime it after a power outage in order to restart it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great filter

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
gpnde
from Laurel, DE
Less noise than the filter that came with my 36 gallon bowfront aquarium
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
bartok
this is the best filter. i used this for my 10 gallon saltwater reef tank and i have had it for 4 years and it has kept my corals alive. i love this filter you guys sould get this filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable and Easy to clean

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
YeeV
from Dallas, TX
Very reliable filter, been using it for little over a year now, tray is easy to remove and clean, only bad thing is it does require priming, but that it is still pretty easy. Reliability is number one though, haven't had any problems with impeller unit at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best HOB filter

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
DMD123
from Tacoma
This has to be one of the best Hang On Back filters ever made. The media saves you a ton of money because you can rinse the sponge and continue to reuse instead of constantly buying special cartridges. It has good power and creates a bit of a current to help stir up debris. I recommend this filter for their long life span also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
yyyyyyyyyyuuuuuuuiiiiii
from colimbus, in
This is one of the best hob filters out there. I've had 2 110slil aka AC 500, for 15 years and still running. I have 70s also 1 was a little noisy but they usually all quieten down over a month or so, best part is you can pretty much put whatever media you like, and no biowheel to stop turning and killing off your bacteria. And you have the choice to not use carbon, great filter for the money. Highly recommend! P.s. this is not an automated review. Lol
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, flexible filter

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
chum303
from Anchorage, AK
I've had this filter for almost a month now, and so far I am liking it quite a bit. I needed a filter for my 55gal tank. It is nice and quiet when you have it on full flow, giving me plenty of circulation when mounting the filter in the middle of the tank. The long intake tube also helps here, I think, a problem I had with my old Aqueon filter was that it did not pull enough water from the bottom of the tank.
I like how the 3 filtering stages are separated out, so you don't have to change all at the same time. The tray the bags sit in is also a neat addition.
The biggest issue with this filter is the recirculation. I get the concept, but the way it works in my filter causes the pump to cavitate, making it very noisy, unless I adjust the recirculation to almost nothing. It might be a good thing if the tank is especially dirty and you want to clear it up a bit, but I haven't had issues with that yet.
I would definitely buy this filter again, though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filter!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fishkeeperlady
from Florida
This filter is great! It works wonderfully. I love how you can pick and choose the filter media you want to put it. This gives you total control of the filter, plus the flow control!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Years of hassle free time saving service

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
MikeVegaS
from Las Vegas, NV
I have been using Aqua Clear 70 on my 55 gallon for almost 10 years. The water is crystal clear, the filter has had zero problems, and filter media changes take only a minute or two. It doesn't get any easier or faster than this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Filter

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sasquatch
from South Houston
I recommend this filter. Its easy to clean. Has a basket to pull everything out at once to be cleaned or changed.
A little noisy until it breaks in. I have a issue with the pickup tube staying connected to the pump but its not enough of an issue to keep me from buying again. There is room for improvement but for the price they cant be beat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Filter

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kennyyoli
from Visalia, CA
I currently have this on a 20 gal freshwater aquarium, and absolutely love it. The flexibility you have with the filter media is what sets this apart from all others. You can add or take away charcoal, ammonia remover, and biological filter elements as needed. You can't do that with other cartridge type filters. It does a wonderful job keeping the water clear, and is quiet. It also has an adjustable flow rate to help with tanks with smaller fish or fry. It actually filters the water BETTER when you turn the flow down a little.
Overall, I am very pleased with the purchase and would recommend this filter to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keps water clean!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
bibifabie
from Brooklyn
This filter is very good. It keeps my turtle tank aquarium super clean. I has bought a different filter specific for turtle it did not keep the tank that clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I found what I'd been looking for.

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
btdt
from Missouri
I changed out my penguins and found some real filters. Super, super quiet. I have to check now and then to see if the are on. Media is a snap to change and you can make your own media. You can also change the flow rate just by moving a tab on the top. Worth the investment. Now what to do with my old filters????
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for AquaClear Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
devonboo
from CT
Biggest piece of junk ever! The filter that came with the tank works better, at half the cost. Sometimes, after turning off, it won't turn back on, until you play with it for half an hour. HATE IT!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-29points
1of 31voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>