petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Four Paws No-Pull Trainers

Endorsed by trainers and dog walkers to stop any size dog from pulling while ensuring total comfort and safety for the dog
Average Customer Rating:
3.679 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
20 out of 28(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Review 1 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedJune 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Oakmont, PA
I just bought this for my dog last night and took him for a walk. You would not believe the difference this makes. He's a very hyper dog and pulls any time we are on a walk. He walked really nice and seemed to listen more. I can't even believe what a difference this made. And this was only his first time with the no pull trainer. In time, it will only get better! I highly recommend this to anyone who has a dog that pulls.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommended

PostedOctober 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
I teach positive training to beginner Obedience classes. One of my students tried this out and now I recommend anyone with a dog that pulls to try it. All of my classes are finding it very helpful and without the problems of the gentle leader on the nose (dog trying to rub it off) which is my other choice or choke or prong collar causing damage to the neck. Dogs accept this type of training aide very easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Product for Boxers

PostedMay 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have two boxer and have tried everything to get them to stop pulling on walks. I purchased two of the No-PUll Trainers, one for each boxer. Took me a couple of tries to figure out how to get them on the dogs, but after I figured it out it will be easier the next time. I also only used one leash and hooked it to both dogs. This really worked great for walking them together. While they did try to pull, it was not as bad as before. Hopefully with more practice they will get better on future walks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best $15 I ever spent

PostedMay 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Port Washington, NY
I have an 11 month old Rat Terrier puppy and while he is only 10# he is STRONG. The other day he drug my 8 year old son out into the middle of a busy road. I knew I had to do something. I saw a harness like this on It's Me or the Dog and purchased it for Ike. It is a miracle! The first time he pulled he looked around confused like the hand of God had just restrained him. He tried to pull a few more times then realized how far he could go on the leash without it lifting him and we had the most pleasant walk we have had with him in 5 months! My son walked the dog when he got home from school and was thrilled that he could go around the block and not get pulled over. It also seemed to make Ike a bit better behaved off the leash as well. Ike is a good puppy, but he is a terrier puppy and as such tends to go his own way. He was much more attentive for the rest of the day and he got 2 extra walks because it was just so pleasant to be out with him.
It is confusing to put on the first time, but once you figure it out it slips on and off easily. I put a tiny bit of soap on the chest piece to make it slide on the webbing a bit easier and make it quicker to adjust on a wiggly puppy.
I highly recommend this product if you have a puller!
Thank you 4 Paws!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best purchase

PostedApril 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
I bought this for my boston terrier/pug mix. He is only 25 lbs. but pulls so hard and so constantly that we was rubbing the fur off the front of his neck. We tried the gentle leader which came highly recommended by multiple people, but because of his pug nose he could get it right off. With the no-pull harness we got instant results. makes walking so much easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME PRODUCT!

PostedMarch 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
I have never gotten online and written a review about anything I've ever bought anywhere. But for this I just had to!
I will admit that I was very skeptical of buying this harness and I was considering the normal type as well. However, once getting this home - the FIRST time I took my very energetic, loves to sniff - 8 month old beagle/lab puppy outside on it I was amazed! Before he would pull so hard he would choke and gag himself and not to mention drag me all over the place! He did not try to pull once. He did still walk ahead of me but there was no gagging or choking whatsoever. He walked around as if everything was normal and he was happy. It's not as hard or confusing as some people have said - its pretty much common sense. And it has to have a secure clasp to be safe for use.
I HIGHLY recommend this product if you are having the same troubles I was having. You will not be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good leash

PostedJuly 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
helps stop pulling
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommend This Product!

PostedApril 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
I have a 50 lb. pit bull that likes to lead and pull hard when we go for walks. A sales associate at Petco recommended the No-Pull Trainer and said that this was a product dog trainers highly recommend for dogs that like to pull. Once I figured out how to put it on my dog (it took a bit of practice) we went for a walk. The first day out she didn't pull but I noticed the clasp around the back of the neck would loosen. On the second day I made sure to tighten the clasp and she walked with no pulling. It was the BEST walk I had ever taken with her. She walked in front of me but there was enough length that she didn't pull and I think she enjoyed her walk just as much as I did! I'm grateful for this product because it is a gentle and comfortable harness for dogs. It doesn't chok or hurt your dog in any way and you have total control of your dog. I would highly recommend this for any dog that likes to pull. The product is available in 3 sizes and is made by Four Paws Products, LTD.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Odered 2 more

PostedApril 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Madison, MS
I purchased this product in 2005 when I first started walking my new puppy. I noticed an improvement immediately. I have recommended the no pull harness to several new dog owners that were struggling to control their dog.
When mine wore out, I didn't think I needed another one. Soon my 50 pound dog was pulling me around the neighborhood again. I ordered 2 more this time so I won't ever be without one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Maybe Something Else

PostedApril 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
I bought this for my Red Heeler, He's a very excitable dog.. about 60 lbs. when we walk, which is everyday, he would pull almost the entire 40 minute walk. (he was in a harness, so no choking), trainer did help alot... a whole lot.. my only problem is I keep having to stop and tighten it around his neck... the clasp doesnt do a very good job of staying in place and it is hard to open... other than that I would recommend this trainer, at the very least for a start, until something else is found.. I feel it was totally worth the $17 I paid for it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So Far, So Good, but...

PostedApril 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Chicagoland
I have been using a Halti on my Parson Russell Terrier, but he has just never gotten used to it - the darn thing irritates the rough hairs on his snout. I've tried going back to just a collar, but he pulls to the point where he can't breathe and he has this tendency to scare other dog owners when his eagerness to meet their pets leads to lunging and ultimately to frustration aggression.
Sooo... I stopped by my local PetCo with Taz this morning and found what seems to be little gem of a harness. Taz instantaneously found his manners again and any attempt to pull was quickly abandoned. I didn't even bother to take it off of him - we just paid and went on our way.
We just got back from our first real walk using the harness, and I have to tell you that we haven't had such a pleasant walk in forever - no pulling and no trying to get the contraption off as he had done with the Halti. Overall I'm very pleased, but I have some real concerns as well. The first is that I'm not thrilled that the adjustable clasp is plastic, as you have to pull hard on the material to open it (which is necessary so it doesn't open on its own while you're walking along) and I can see it breaking someday - and with my luck it will happen when I've stopped to adjust it two miles from home. And second, to get it tight enough to feel like he can't slip out of it backward, I think that it will be far too tight; because of the way this harness works you could end up with everything tightened down so that it is restricting their chest cavity. So take your pick - too tight or not tight enough.
I'm going to try two things with this harness: 1) I'm going to mark the location where I like the clasp with some brightly colored thread I'll sew through the webbing so I don't have to hope I've got it in the right spot each time, and 2) when it's time to let Taz out further on the leash for "business," I'm going to run the ring you attach the leash to UNDER the strap running over his back since he is less likely to pull hard at this time but he is more likely to turn towards me while sniffing around and therefore increase the risk of slipping out of the harness. I'll try to let you know how those things work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Healthy no pull leash

PostedMarch 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
My sheltie likes to be leader of the pack and a few times with a regular leash he starts making the choking noises, irritating his trachea. With the no pull leash it's easy to slip on and off and there's never a need to yank on his leash.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good product, but...

PostedFebruary 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Poughkeepsie, NY
I was impressed with the harness itself, but with a medium sized dog, there was too much extra length...and my dog chewed through it before I ever had a chance to use it. If this could be made out of stronger materials, it would be much better.
Also, you need to adjust this each time you put it on your dog; it would help if the adjustment was only a one time thing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great but with some downsides

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Bellevue, WA
This is the best harness I've had when it comes to stopping a dog from pulling forward but it does have some downsides. You have to make sure it's really, really snug on your dog otherwise he can easily get his head out from under the harness and wiggle himself free. It's also one size fits all so if you have a medium-small sized dog like I do you'll end up with your leash being 3 ft longer than usual. I'd still reccommend this to anyone wanting a good no-pull harness!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT a "no-pull" harness

PostedJanuary 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
We bought this for our 10 week old boxer because she was pulling so hard we were afraid she would damage her throat. She is now 15 weeks old and she still pulls. In fact I think she pulls even harder when she wears the harness. Probably because she can pull and not get hurt. The only thing I have found that keeps her from pulling much is to run her leash down her back under the belly and then loop it...when she pulls it squeazes the belly and she stops. She went to the vet today and he said that the method I am using is the best he has seen to prevent pulling. This is definately NOT a product to use to eliminate pulling in a larger breed dog. Imo.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this

PostedJanuary 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
I've been using this on my Schnauzer for several years and I can walk him with one finger. I've bought several for friends. They are the best for the dog and for the walker.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

didnt work for me

PostedDecember 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
i have a yellow labrador thats 1 yrs old and it didn't stop him from pulling i had to keep adjusting the leash because everytime he would pull he would loosen the leash.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!CANT BELIEVE IT WORKED!

PostedOctober 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
this is AMAZING! when i first got this home and opened it up i was a little sceptical b/c it didn't look that high quality and it was a little confusing,but when i FINALLY figured it out after about an hour of stareing at the box,it worked immedietly as soon as i put it on my dog he still pulled a little bit but not as much as he usually does,he's only a small maltese/chihuahua mix but he pulls like CRAZY,so when i took him on his first walk with this he didn't like it,so i felt like going back home but i just decided 2 stick it out and boy am i glad that i did! after about 10 min he got more used 2 it and soon after he was walking beside me without pulling! it even stopped him from barking at everything,he usually bbarks at cars and ppl but when he had this on he didn't even make a sound! the entire walk he didn't make a sound! im so happy that i found this!this works miracles!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
I went on a most peaceful walk with my dogs. This really work for dogs who likes to pull you on your walks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Four Paws No-Pull Trainers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

INSTANT SOLUTION

PostedAugust 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
I Received this no-pull trainer today by fed-ex. As soon as I put it on my dog, he no longer pulled. He is a little dog but pulled as if he was a large one but no more. It is a little confusing figuring out how to get it on the first time, but once you do it - you remember the next time. I use it with my retractable leash with no problems. I highly recommend this product! Fast, cheap, and it works!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>