petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters

Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters

Complete daily diet, fortified with vitamin supplements, for the hard-to-feed plecostomus, algae eaters and other bottom feeders; perfectly serves as plecostomus food Unique disc-shaped algae wafers formulated with mostly vegetable materialsHelps fish look their best by providing them with pure-cultured spirulina and chlorellaSinking wafers will not cloud the waterGreat for saltwater fish too
Average Customer Rating:
4.483 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 out of 29(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Review 1 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features!

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
smokey3
from NY
Good for the Plecostomus to feed them when there is not enough of waste for them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cherries LOVE this!!

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cnews
from Stillwater , Ok
This wafers seem to be the favorite of my cherry shrimp colony! I can drop one in the tank and within minutes they begin to swarm!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Holds up well

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
soursop
from meridian idaho
The 2 fishes I have seem to know when I drop the pellets in and will seek the food items out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ive used better

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
DMD123
from Tacoma
Not the worst product but then again not the best. These things are hard as a rock. Try and snap one in half... not easy. I have had mediocre success with acceptance by my fish. I have very large silver dollars who take one bite and drop it. Plecos have ignored it. I have used the Omega One algae wafers with much better success, but the Hikari name is what sell this stuff. Not my highest recommended item from them but it does work for some fish, just not mine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jolie025
from Whitwell, TN
I have used several other brands of sinking algea wafers and awlays come back to this one. It does what it says..sink. I also like the price. My bottom feeding fish and tetra's both love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

wafers cause cloudiness

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
mauimaui
from Tehachapi, Ca
I purchased this product to place in my beta fish fish tank. I have a catfish in it to help keep it clean. So I thought I would buy this to supplement my catfish feeding. I have a fish tank complete with light hood and a filter. It is 2.5 gallons. When I placed just one wafer in the tank the next day I noticed the cloudiness. Even after a few days it did not clear. The label on the package stated it would not cause cloudiness.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
cilla
from California
My baby plecostomus are growing fast and they love eating these algae wafers...The guppies also enjoy the algae wafers..Great food for my friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not so good for Otocinclus Catfish

PostedMay 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Corycatfish
from Texas
These, and the smaller ones don't seem to hold any interest for my Otocinclus Catfish. Now my Cory love them so munch them up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
LuvSchnauzers
Alfred, my Plecostmus loves these
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

no uneaten remains left

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tiddles
I tried a cheaper, leading brand of algae wafers; the fish would not eat them and they clouded the water, leaving a mess in their wake. Especially helpful when your Plecostomus have eaten all the algae growing naturally in the tank and need nutrition.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best snack ever!

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
birdnurseIG
I highly recommend the Algae Wafers...turns out that all my fish love them - nice having a treat for everyone in the tank! These have now become a staple in my house! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved By ALL

PostedMarch 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Staccato
from Long Beach, CA
ALL my fish love these wafers!
My platies eat it out of my hand and my Chinese Algae eaters munch on them as soon as they hit the tank bottom.
Definitely a tasty snack for fish who love or need algae in their diets!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Addition!

PostedAugust 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
StewartsMom
from DC Metro Area, VA
Hikari algae wafers are loved by all the fish in our tank, plecos, catfish, cichilds, angels, danos and even our ghost knife comes out of hiding when we drop them in!... Sadly enough our cat stole one out of the bag one day and now thinks they are his treats! although I wouldn't recommend giving them to your cat it's funny to watch him beg when it's feeding time for "HIS" fish tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food

PostedFebruary 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
DanF
from CA
My CAE absolutely loves these discs. I simply plop one in and he pounces on it. The disc itself sinks very nicely and does not decompose once nibbled, but keeps its structure. A bag of these should last a long while and is a good way to give a treat to your beloved algae fish for keeping the tank looking pristine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crays crave it!

PostedJanuary 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
cheychey
My crayfish, Bubba, loves these. I`ve had him for at least 6 months now, and this is all he eats, well, along with his moult. I`ll definantly keep feeding him this. He`s been eating this since he was 3 weeks old.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Necessary

PostedSeptember 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roho
You need this if you have any Algae Eaters or Bottom Feeders. They cannot eat just algae in the tank alone. This has worked for me with:
Candy Striped Plecos
Bristlenose Plecos
Otocinclus
Ghost Shrimp
Flower Shrimp
Peppered Cories
And I'm sure it would work for more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

plecostomus love it

PostedSeptember 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
eugene
from california,ca
my plecostomus have lived a long time since i buy them these.they cloud the water a lot if you put in more than 1 so I gave it 4 paws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well liked!

PostedJuly 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
medusawho
from Michigan
Loved by every fish in my tank. That's the downside if there is one, because me pleco has to compete with the cichlids and catfish for them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

they love it

PostedMay 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Becky2008
from New York, ny
The fish go crazy for it and its great to for your algae eaters to live happily and grow quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hikari Tropical Algae Wafers for Plecostomus & Algae Eaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love Hikari!!!

PostedApril 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
felixpaws
from Pocatello, Idaho
I bought these to fulfill the nutritional requirements of my Otocinclus Catfish, and they are doing better than ever. With the addition of these wafers, I see my otos more often! Before they'd hide most of the day, and I'd see them for a minute or two before the lights went off, but now, whenever I throw an algae wafer in the tank, my Otocinclus come a swimming!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>