petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold

Hikari Betta Bio-Gold

Powerful color-enhancing diet provides your betta with optimal nutrition in a floating pellet that won't cloud the water in your betta bowlSpecially formulated for bettas, with a superior protein sourceReduces stress and stress-related illnesses
Average Customer Rating:
4.725 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
5 stars
66
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
76 out of 80(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Review 1 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Any betta would love this

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
JazzyB
from CA
Since im a newbie i tried to pick the best food for my betta. We all know they don't have big stomach for storage.These tiny pellets are definitely for your betta. Your fish would love it! I give mine 2-3 pellets every meal. I just don't like the packaging. It annoys me. You'll know why. lol but i recommend this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome for injured or blind bettas!

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Psychosis
I had a blind betta because of miscare at a department store. High ammonia levels had burned his eyes so bad he could no longer see. And so had a hard time finding his food. I tried a lot of different things but he just could never find them. But he found these with little problem, though it would take him a couple lunges to grab them. I had another that was ripped apart by a green terror and could NOT swim well enough to save his life. He had to be kept in a very small tank with a heating pad and bubbler to keep him from drowning because his gills had been badly damaged and he could only breath air. These were easy for him to grab as they seemed to stay floating in one spot and he didn't have to worry about diving down to catch one cause even soaked they floated well. My blind one though lived about 6 months in a 10 gallon tank with some mollies and the one who survived a green terror survived about 2 months in a small tank before being moved to a 10 and drowning. It was sad both times but I know I made their lives a little better and this food was good for them, and it bothered me when people would tell me to change it. BUY THIS FOOD! is what im trying to say :3
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brings out the colors!

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
COBuckeye
from Broomfield, CO
Our new Betta has been eating 8 of these pellets three times a day. They float so are easy to collect if he does not eat them all (although he has so far eaten them all) and they have made his colors more brillant.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Betta food!

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
desilovesherbetta
from Boise ID
My Betta LOVES this stuff!!! he never lets it sit in his tank for more than 30 seconds haha. If it does sit in tank a bit longer it expands to a pretty good size I assume making it easy to fish out. ( my betta only let it sit on the first day I got him & he was a little freaked out from moving) Caution- its easy to over feed them with these!!!!! after a few weeks of only like 3-5 pellets a day my betta I think is getting a little chunky. I have reduced to 2-3 and I skip a day in the week. :) over all he loves this food and his color is still as bright as when I got him if not brighter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Badwolf
from Columbus OH
This is an excellent choice for bettas- don't bother with flakes, this food has the one of the best nutrition compositions on the market for bettas. It should still be supplemented with other foods, as bettas like and need variety (brine shrimp, bloodworms for example) but this is a very good basic all-around food which will bring out the colours and personality of any betta.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Betta loves it

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
DMD123
from Tacoma
Very good product. My Betta loves it. Pretty cool how the package works as the dispenser, you'll see what I mean when you buy it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent food for Betta splendens

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Guppygen
from Los Angeles, CA
Our Bettas have loved this food for years, and it really keeps them healthy with full, vibrant colors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Takes a while to get used to.

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dandeliondart
from California
It took a while for my fish to get used to these but now he eats them right away whenever I feed him. The pellet is as big as his little mouth so I feed him only 1 pellet at a time. The pellets have a very strong smell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Betta Food!!

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
reptilelove
from Simi Valley, CA
I have two betta fish, one male half moon and a female crowntail. My male is extremely picky and he also has a severe case of fin rot that is being treated. He LOVES this food. His colors have come back nicely and his fin rot seems to have gotten better after being on this food... (maybe the nutrients are helping him??) And my female I got as a baby and she has been on this food since I got her, and she looks FANTASTIC! Her colors are beautiful! She is very iridescent and very active. Both my bettas gobble up their food every time I feed them! Definitely a GREAT BUY!! Totally recommend this food for all betta keepers! A great plus is the size of the pellet, it is the perfect size for small to large bettas!
My female is the one in the picture, this picture does not do her justice! She is so pretty :]
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bio-Gold betta food

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Flowerfanatic
from Palm Bay, FL
I've used this pelleted food for all Bettas I've had over the years. I like that it floats. The Bettas have no problems learning to find it on the surface. It intensifies their colors. 3-4 in the AM and again in the late PM keeps them happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Brand, Great Food!

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
PudgeTheRanchu
from Massachusetts
I have two bettas and I've noticed that after feeding these pellets as their main diet, their fins have double in size and their colors are really deepening to a gorgeous shade. Hikari always makes the best food in my opinion. My bettas gobble these right up with no picky issues whatsoever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Food

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nicoleee
from United States
Finally! A pellet that my betta will eat. In the past, he would not touch pellets or any food that is good for him. I could get him to eat bloodworms, but that was not a healthy diet for him. Now, he prefers this food over the bloodworms. It took him about a week to start eating it after I bought it, but, now, he can't get enough! I was worried that I wouldn't be able to find a healthy food that he'd eat! My only problem is the packaging. If that was better, it would have 5 stars. It always spills out and is a pain. I will be getting another container to put it in. It's worth it though. My betta is happier, brighter, and healthier than ever!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

its the food my betta eats

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
BobEE
from Cheyenne, WY
i ran out of this food and tryed to use different pellets for my fish. he only wanted this food. he loves it. :) he is picky
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our favorite!

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
AlphaBettaz
I've had my betta boy for a year now, and we absolutely love this food.
He had a little bit of trouble adjusting when I brought him home; he didn't like flakes, and other betta foods were just too big or must have tasted awful.. I used this food to wean him off his spoiled just-bloodworms diet and we couldn't be happier! These pellets aren't too big, even for my petite betta --he's half the size of most other adult bettas I've seen. He only eats two pellets once or twice a day (he would gladly eat more, but his stomach bulges enough after 2 for my comfort).
I still have a more generic container of betta food and tried giving him one yesterday. Despite it being huge, he tasted it.. then gave it the cold shoulder. Flared at me and gave me a "You dare feed me garbage?" look before going to sulk in his betta log. Of course I took it out and gave him his usual Hikari before leaving for class. ;)
My only problem is the packaging. it's convenient for counting out the pellets (I make a game out of it, shaking two up into the top and tapping them out from there).. but I worry that it not being sealed diminishes the nutrition. I wouldn't know for sure, but it seems to me like that's what would happen.. Can anyone here confirm or deny?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Betta Food!

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
stripedsocks
from Arizona
I bought a 2g packet of this food about a year ago for my one betta Pierre, and there's still /plenty/ left. If you feed your betta right, this lasts forever. Now about the food; my fish loves it, he just snaps it up right away. It has kept his color really nice and I'm very satisfied with it. If you're a first time owner or experienced, this is the only kind I would recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great food!!

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bettablu34
from chandler,az
my betta loves this food. The container was hard to get food out of so I put it in to a clean baby jar and it works great! I will keep buying this food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Betta Food

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
OrcaTrainer
from SeaWorld, Orlando
I used to get this type of food all the time for my Bettas who now live in the giant fish bowl in the sky. You're supposed to feed your Betta 4-5 pellets, and it's kind of hard to get the exact amount in the opening so you can feed it it your Betta. I also noticed that someone said this company changed the ingredients.... I guess I would recommend this product. (Sometimes if the Betta doesn't eat, the pellets will sink to the bottom of the tank)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

full belly

PostedJune 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
atomicmicro
from Glendale AZ
wow! this works great my Betta keeps begging for more he loves it! although it has to sit in the water for a minute cause its hard to break up, but at least hes eating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This Food Used To Be Good.

PostedJune 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
HappyBumblebee
from Atlanta, GA
I bought this food because it was one of the best foods out there for bettas, but I recently found out that Hikari changed their ingredients. The ingredients listed on this site are not the same as the ones listed on the actual package of food.
The first couple of ingredients listed on my package of food are: Wheat flour, fish meal, soybean meal, gluten meal, krill meal, wheat germ meal....etc.
There seems to be a lot more wheat listed and a lot less fish. If you have this food you might want to check the ingredients and if they're the same as the ones I've listed, you might want to think about getting a differen brand of food.
It's just a shame because this used to be a really good food.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My bettas LOVE this!!

PostedMay 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
FishyMom
from Maine
I have had 4 bettas and they have all LOVED this food.It was the only food they would eat. My new betta is small so he has a hard time eating them so I have to crush them so smaller pellets would be nice. Overall this is a great product!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>