petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30

Complete kit includes the HOT Magnum Canister Filter, BIO-Wheel Pro 30, Rite-Size foam sleeve and Black Diamond Premium Activated Carbon, reusable pleated Micron cartridge, Siphon Kleen Gravel Washer and connection kit, plus a Bio-Wheel Pro Wet/Dry filterSleek and silent as a jungle cat, the HOT Magnum is lightweight enough to hang directly on your aquarium, yet it does the heavy duty work of two complete filtration systemsPerfect for everyday mechanical/chemical filtration and quick-clean water polishing
Average Customer Rating:
4.053 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
15 out of 19(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Review 1 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product, _long life

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
iluvpits
from vancouver, wa
This pump is excellent in performance and quality. I have several tanks and have used this pump and other products from marineland for years. Works quietly and efficiently, and it lasts for years! I would defenitely recommend this product and I would definetly recommend to purchase from Petco! The price is right_ better than any other Ive found_ and the shipping was fast and reliable! Thank you
Not to mention, the customer service is always great, wether I am in a store or on the phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a quality product

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
CTFishGuy
from Connecticut
I have had 2 of these units on my 55 Reef tank
The good:
Super quiet
Options of water polishing or media but 1 at a time
Hangs on back of tank
The Bad:
Water polishing filter clogs CONSTANTLY 1-3 days max and you have to tear the thing down which will destroy the beneficial bacteria and caused my tank to cycle every time I changed it. Not to mention it is a HUGE pain to clean out the filter. I requires soaking over night and A LOT of spraying with a hose. When removing the top it will drip water onto the floor. The filters are very inefficient at filtering as well. I even moved one to a 20 gallon Hospital tank and it took 48 hours to clean the water of particulate.
If 2 of these in a 55 gallon couldn't clean the water they aren't much good. I switched to a Fluval Canister which on paper flows less water but my tank is crystal clear and only requires cleaning every month and half.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cottontop1
from Texas
This is a great product. Have had it in our 75 gallon tank for about 8 months. I had spent a lot of money on previous systems that did not work. This one keeps our tank crystal clear and our fish in good health. Could not be more pleased. One thing though, it must be put together correctly or will not work properly. Easy directions though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Problems after delivery

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Petsupplybuyer
from Syracsue, NY
Product arrived missing parts, and had a broken part. 7 emails and 4 phone calls later the parts are supposed to be shipped. Unit does not seal correctly and keeps sucking air, I am working on finding the problem now. The unit does not sit level without help and tries to slide off the mount. The water is clear though.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantasic Filter

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
pcw132
from Wallingford, CT
I've had many different fish tank setups over the last 8-10 years. I've spent hundreds of dollars on products that make big claims but in the end they were just as bad as a supermarket product. this is not one of them! I just setup a new tank installed this filter on it. Overnight the water looks so clean, if i didn't have a bubbler in the tank i wouldn't of know there was water in it! That was just using the normal filter, I have not put the polisher in. I am very excited to see a product work this good. Other reviewers stated it was too loud, I cant figure that one out, my laptop fan makes more noise then the filter does. Its a little bit of a pain to assemble if you have the bio-well version but no big deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product--but not as advertized

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tycho
from Temecula CA
Petco and Marineland always do a good job, but in this instance both dropped the ball a little. I ordered this particular product because the website states that it included a siphon kleen and connection kit. Unfortunately Marineland discontinued including both in the HOT Magnum Pro, and Petco did not update its website to indicate that fact. So, the product works well, but THE SIPHON KLEEN AND CONNECTION KIT ARE NOT INCLUDED--despite what the item description states.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Major Let Down

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
AeRoMan
from Northern, NJ
This filter was highly recommended for aquatic turtles however it was anything but. It was extremely loud, took up too much space (even though its an out of tank filter) due to the interior extension tube set up. Also the extension tubes come separately when you call the 1-800 number to ask how to properly set it up for aquatic turtles (which they ship for free). None the less for the price it did not meet up to expectations in so many ways. It did not out perform in cleanliness, noise factory, and space factor. Therefore it was returned!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

NEED INFORMATION!!!

PostedOctober 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
silvertim
Tried to get info on what appears to be a missing or mismatched part for the bio-wheel part of this system. E-mailed marineland almost two weeks ago and still no reply. Since I bought it over the internet, apprehensive of taking it to the store for explanation, but may have to. They need to stick to their flashy brochures and advertising on the web and respond to customer concerns and issues!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Manufacturing defect (hard to find, easy to fix)

PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
oxford
from DC metro
I've been going nuts for the last 24 hours with this thing. I finally found the problem: an easily fixed manufacturing defect.
One of the reasons I selected this product was its flow rate of 250 GPH. I was really disappointed when I installed it and discovered a flow rate WAY lower--I would estimate 20-25 GPH, barely enough to drive the bio-wheel at a trickle. After running for a while air also crept into the canister, causing air surges and complete bio-wheel failure.
After a full day of messing with the thing and three separate full dis/reassemblies looking for some sort of blockage, I finally found the problem: during manufacture the plastic intake tube was overmolded, leaving a plastic flap that blocked all but a small portion of the mouth joint. Once I broke off the flap to open the tube, the thing works beautifully.
A simple flaw like this is so disappointing, especially when a quick factory inspection would have caught it. Since it is a machine defect, there are almost certainly others with the same problem. Hopefully this helps someone else troubleshoot it a bit more quickly than I did.
The product as received: 0 stars
After fixing the defective tubing: 5 stars
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland HOT Pro Can Filter

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
waveryder37
from Corona, CA
Purchased online where price was cheaper than in-store pricing and includes the bio-wheel. Instructions were clear with illustrations. Assembly was simple but I recommend to carefully assemble to lessen chance of air bubbles and ensuring tight fit. You should follow instructions particularly when rinsing/filling canister with water and carbon. I use ammonia-reducing carbon instead of the paper filter supplied in the kit. You need to rinse and soak the filter/carbon unit once filled and then fill canister with water. Be sure to fill water level to maximum without overflowing first, then after a few days of running, then open again to fill with water to eliminate air pockets. This will reduce those fine bubbles and noise. Afterwards, entire unit runs perfectly and low noise. I am happy with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

super filtering

PostedJuly 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
graychick
from San Antonio
I upgraded from a 26 gal tank to a 55 gal tank. I selected this filter system because of the great reviews on Petco.com and it has so far lived up to them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Job

PostedJune 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Butterflykoi
The HOT filter I bought was so that I didnt have to use 2 filters on my 75 gal tank. I called around and found this one that the reviews were great! Easy to put together instructions made it sound difficult but it wasn't. Only problem is that I am using the polishing for the water that is great! The BOX when you get it says for UP TO 55 gallons No where in the ad does it say up to? I am back to using 2 filters again so it really didn't accomplish what i purchased it for. The water is clearer but not worth the price for just that. Also the bio-wheel seems a little cheap. Filter for over 55 no so great just wish ad had said something about that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

PostedApril 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
FISH74
from Tulsa, OK
The directions made it more complicated than it was. It could have been as simple as pull it out the box, wet the seals, fill it up with water and turn it on. My tank was crystal clear in 24 hours. Worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great purchase

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
ney218
from JAMESTOWN NEW YORK
It is a great investment and will get outstanding results. The bio-wheel is a pretty big. Just make sure you have room for it. I have a 30 gallon reef aquarium and it gets the job done.My nitrates lowered down alot. It is easy to install and maintain it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome filter

PostedFebruary 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Flookie
I bought this filter for a 40 gallon tank, and let me just say, it's the best filter i have ever owned! The H.O.T filter was easy to set up and, very user friendly. i woudn't recommend, for anything less then 35 gallons. very powerful and easy to clean and take care of!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Filter Fits

PostedJanuary 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
DesertDog
I was trying to find a filter to fit in the narrow space between my aquarium and the wall. Whisper and Penguin were both too big for that spot. This filter fits with room to spare, was easy to set up, and it is powerful and silent. I also love that it has an on/off switch, unlike most filters which you have to unplug to turn them off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filter

PostedMay 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jay3
I am using my H.O.T. Magnum for a 55 gallon show tank, so I have 5 times the cleaning power needed. I have never had a problem with ammonia, nitrates, or nitrites. My water is crystal clear all the time. The only thing to pay attention to is when you take it apart and put it back together make sure you fill it to overflow before you seal it or it will make alot of noise, this is a very easy fix. Great filter!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than the 350

PostedDecember 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
wizardofice
from Lakeland, FL
I have a 30 gallon aquarium and previously had just a penguin bio wheel filter with 2 filter cartriges. I kept having problems with the water being cloudy and could not stop it. I bought a Magnum 350 cannister and used more charcoal and some white media and the cloudy water was a thing of the past. Over a years time I found that removing the cannister to clean and replace media was very cumbersome. I had both the penguin and the magnum and the water quality was great.
When the magnum wore out the impellor I decided to replace with the HOT because cleaning would be easier without the hoses. I also found that using the additional bio wheel with it made the use of the penguin a thing of the past. Now this one filter does the job great and cleaning it is much easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland HOT Pro System Magnum Canister Filter and BIO-Wheel Pro 30
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not so impressive

PostedFebruary 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
John K
from HB California
After assembly this device is not quite as productive as a regular biowheel. Think of this is a low power watervac when using it to pull sentiment out of the gravel. It might be useful as an expensive gravel vacuum but for optimal air flow the normal bio wheel is 1/3 the cost and performs better than this unit.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.