petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System

Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System

3-in-1 filtration system delivers optimum mechanical, chemical and biological filtrationBio-Wheel aquarium power filter provides effective, high performance filtrationOnly power aquarium filter with patented self-priming, bottom-mounted motorEasy setup and restart capability
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Review 1 for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
StingrayRizzo
from Motor City, MIchigan
The Magnum 350 Canister with the Bio-Wheel Pro is a great product. I have Fresh Water Stingrays that require a high rate of mechanical filtration along with a safe, steady supply of biological filtration. This combination does it all! Filtration does not need to be overly expensive or overly complicated to be effective.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

15 yrs non-stop use. Wish everything lasted that Long

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
TheRocker
from Notre Dame USA
Great Product... Ran for 15 yrs without an issue. Replacing with same model because of quality. The plus is I'll have backup although I don't expect to need it, lol... I may utilize the old one since it just needs the washers. They finally turned to mush upon the cleaning this time... If I could have gotten these washers in a day, I would not have needed to purchase this, lol,, But 15 years is overdue and for less than $10 a year why would I choose a different product line.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Water Quality

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
carlangas75
from Sacramento, CA
I have a 40 Gallon aquarium well planted with driftwood and with a large community of schooling fish, neon tetras, gold tetras, black tetras, cory catfish and some plecos (the kind that grow no more than 6 inches) and a few other select fish that all get along. Well to the point the magnum 350 provides an excellent job at maintaining a clean aquarium and once the bio wheels begin to really cultivate bacteria growth its quite a combination with the wheels and my plants. The thing i like the most is that the container itself is clear so i can always keep an eye when i need to clean out the cartridge. I also have a marineland 200 bio wheel filter so needless to say aquarium maintenance is quite easy for me as I only clean out one at a time in order to evade new tank syndrome. Anyways its an excellent filter and as most people state take your time to familiarize yourself with it especially during your first setup, after that its a breeze! Careful not to break the valve locks, as they are a bit sensitive, by lubing them a bit it usually solves the problem. Anyways definitely worth the money especially if you can get it at a discounted price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall good product

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
gearhead65
from Arizona
The kit was nicely put together and everything fit well. I've had the system running for a week and it flows very well and is very quiet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filter

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
aearney
from St. Louis, MO
Once we got it set up (carefully following the instructions as other reviewers noted, and using some parts from the old filter as some were missing), it has been great! Very quiet. Tank is clean and fish seem happy. We had an algae bloom problem that the micron filter took care of overnight. The best thing about this filter really is how quiet it is. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tank Miracle ~ just do your part!

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
KountryKat
from Colorado
Ok, here is the l-o-n-g and short of it...bare with me and all your worries will be allayed ~ this canister filter is a miracle IF you take the time to inventory your parts, get to know the equipment included and TAKE YOUR TIME in the initial set up!!!
Background ~ we have a 50 gallon goldfish only tank (yup, the dirty little critters). But this tank is our family's pride and joy. We have two $30 goldfish in here - a tri-color Lion Head and a Platinum/Silver Fancy - along w/ a Black Moor, another Fancy and a Fan Tail {pushing the minimum gallons per fish at the moment, I realize that}.
Step 1 - inventory ALL your equipment. This took me almost 2 hours but I wanted to make sure everything was in the box that was supposed to be. Cross referenced with what the part did in/on the filter. Found one small broken piece but realized it would not alter set up.
Step 2 - FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS WORD FOR WORD and DIAGRAM FOR DIAGRAM. Do not rush through this! I cannot stress this enough. It took my daughter and I about 3 hours to fully set this bad boy up. Due to some of the other reviews, we really made sure to follow along so as to not make errors.
Step 3 - Perform regular maintenance. We do a 10% water change weekly and a 40% water change plus filter clean monthly (i.e. foam slip clean/replacement, carbon/ammonia media replacement, tube clean).
Side note ~ please, please, please follow the starting of the pump word for word. You have to get all the air out of the canister or it WILL BE AUDIBLE. After you have gotten most of the air out, there will, undoubtedly, be a little bit of air left. Just let it run and by the next day, it will be gone. This has been our experience every time we have had to turn it off and open it up. This is no biggie! Remember, this IS a filter with water running through it...it is NOT going to be totally silent! It sounds like a filter. I find the sound of running water soothing, but that is just me. I have this in my living room where we "live" and the sound does not affect my working from home in that room, us watching TV or sitting at the dining room table eating dinner (it is literally within 5 feet of the table). It does have a mind of its own and some days are quieter than others (cannot quite explain this) but it never is so loud as to be distracting and some days we have to check if it is even running.
Our tank has never been cleaner. Even my husband now enjoys watching the fish. The tank literally looks like there is no water in it except for the bubblers providing aeration for our fishy friends.
Another side note ~ I personally think the "water polishing cartridge" is a waste. We did try to change out the carbon/ammonia media and put it in but, honestly, did not make a difference. This DOES run louder as the filter does not fill the canister up fully so more room for water to rush around it. If you truly want a polisher, then I suggest the smaller Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On the Tank Canister as a supplement. But I don't see the point.
My amateur advice is always have a filter that is twice the recommended gallons required and your tank will be cleaner, regular maintenance will be lessened, your fish will be happier, and the joy of owning an aquarium will be increased!
I HIGHLY recommend this filter and my fish do too! Just make sure you do your part and maintain it!!! >(*o*)< (fish face)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor product

PostedMarch 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
kekiku
from honolulu, hawaii
i purchased this filter in august of 2007. i've taken a lot of time maintaining this product but for some reason, the pump no longer has enough power in it to push water to the bio wheels. i just bought a fluval to see if it works out better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Filter

PostedJanuary 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
KrisTim
Great Filter and very quiet. Keeps my 40 gallon tank very clean
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2nd I've Owned and Recommend

PostedJanuary 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
RichieRich
from New York, NY
The first I purchased about 16 years ago, and gave it to my mom with the 55 gal fish tank, which she used till about 2 years ago. The second I've now had for about 5 years and have thoroughly enjoyed the easy clean up process, and the easy 2 bio-wheels which have added tons of ariation to the tank. I use the carbon with Amonia Media in the Media container along with the foam Sleeve at all times, and find that I don't need to change the media nor clean the filter for almost 3 months. It keeps the water really clean and odor free, which I really like. The gravel siphon bonus package is great. It hooks up to the filter's intake and it all goes in and once you disconnect the filter, it all goes out at once. No need for addional hosing, setups or gizmos. I have no problems with this unit, and since it has kept my 55 gallon really clean and the fish really healthy for over 5 years without any problems, I recommend it. One note, clean the media (carbon) really well before inserting it into the canister and turning it on, for the tiny media will get into the impeller and cause damage to it and the canister. So if you hear it screech when you turn it on, remove the canister and clean it along with the media and get rid of the tiny particles.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Turtle Filter

PostedJanuary 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
OneTurtleFan
For those of us who own aquatic turtles such as Red Eared Sliders, we all know how difficult it is to find a good filter that can keep up with these little guys. Red Eared Sliders can be very messy pets, making it a chore to keep their water clean and safe. The Magnum 350 Pro System does just that. The large filter media chamber allows you to use whatever type of media that you want. The dual biowheels work fantasticly in removing dangerous ammonia and other toxins from the water. It is a very powerful filter that requires very little maintenance, making it a must for Aquatic Turtle Owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

magnum 350 pro

PostedSeptember 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
vinceter6
best filter ever made great price and system have had on my 55 gallon tank for many years now just clean it once a mo0nth and its all done .. runs quite and cleans very well i had my share of dirty fish and it keeps my tank clear as can be would recoumend to any one new to the hobby or a pro ....
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great for my turtle tank.

PostedSeptember 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
sixty8
from Kansas City
I combined the Magnum 350 Pro system with an undergravel filter, and it works great to keep my 55 gallon turtle tank clean.
The internal canister setup is much easier to deal with than the Proquatics 2400 I replaced, and cleans better than the Fluval 404 I had several years back. It is harder to assemble and install than any previous filter I've owned, and the instructions are pretty poor in regards to tubing assembly, but with some common sense and patience, it's worth it.
Very quiet, amazing water flow, great surface aeration with the Bio wheel. Incredibly strong motor that self primes almost instantly with dry tubing.
The bio wheels and inlet/outlet assembly have mounting previsions to lock them securely into place. Very important with a 5 year old turtle that is strong enough and stubborn enough to mess with the setup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magnum 350 TOPS!

PostedMarch 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I've used this filter in my 55gal. for years. I'm now on my second one after about 12 years. Yes, I have replace some normal worn out parts and that can be expected. I haven't used a filter that keeps my water as clean as the magnum. Occasionally I use it with diatom powder. When used this way you could almost drink the water!! This filter is TOPS in my book.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT VALUE

PostedFebruary 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
FASTBS
from TN
FOR THE COST YOU CAN NOT BEAT THE MAGNUM 350. YES THERE ARE NICER CANISTER FILTERS BUT FOR THE MONEY THIS THING IS GREAT.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland Magnum 350 Pro System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

More than disappointed

PostedJanuary 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Crank Stickleback
from Salem, MA
I bought this filter about 5 years ago for my 50 gal breeder. and I have gone through 3 impellars, which are expensive. It has become excessively noisey with a startling & obnoxiously loud grating noise. I clean the filter material as often as every three months, and sometimes that is a bit to long. The replacement parts at this point are approaching the original price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.