petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley

Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley

BettaMin is a nutritious high-protein diet that helps promote color and fin developmentThis specialized combination of small, thin red flakes and freeze dried brine shrimp is formulated to maximize acceptance and intakeBettaMin does not cloud the waterMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.121 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
28 out of 33(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Review 1 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so happy my fish likes this food

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
ASarahC
from Shreveport,LA
My Kamronfish has been eating pellets since I got him ( and probably before that in the pet store). He eats TOPFIN Colorenhancing BettaBits (cant say much for the color enhancing but he likes them) and occasionally OmegaOne freeze dried bloodworms (he loves them). I know my fish LOVES to eat. I wanted to diversify his diet a bit more and thought since this food had freeze dried brine shrimp, he might like it. But i was worried he wouldnt take to flake food very well bc he is used to pellets. HE LOVES THIS FOOD. he took right to it and ate it up. I'm very happy :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Betta Food

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Izzy45
from New York
I just got two baby betta fish and have been feeding them this food and they both love it! Since they're only babies, it's a little difficult for them to eat, so sometimes breaking the flakes into smaller pieces can make it easier for them to eat and create less of a mess in their bowls/tanks. My only problem with this product is that the cap for the fish food doesn't stay on very well so I have to make sure it doesn't tip over.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

NOT SO BAD

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
ItsCarlos
from Houston TX
I bought this food the same day I bought Bruno my betta. when I bought Bruno's fish tank it came with a betta food trial and he really loved it until he finished it and i went to buy him this and he wouldn't eat it. he will get close to it and just nibble it. when he ate it he will spit it back out. i guess he got use to the other food, and I've only had him for a week. i guess i just need to give him this food until he gets use to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long-lasting, Excellent Base Diet

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
bettaprotector
This food is high on my list of excellent foods for your fish. I have had it in storage for about 4 years, and it still is in excellent condition. I really appreciate that the company pre-mixed live food in with the flake, and that there is a lot of color enhancers (seen in the red color). I swap out this food and regular tropical fish food to provide a more varied diet for my community aquarium (which contains a male betta). I would highly recommend this food. I hope that this is helpful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The Good The Bad The Ugly

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
CynicalFishGuy
from Long Beach, CA
On the Betta menu: pellets are usually the prime food. Most online forums will tell you that most male Bettas will not accept flake food unless raised on them. I bought them thinking this was mostly true (KEEP READING) My male Betta was on a diet of HBH Betta Bites and Freeze Dried Bloodworms for over 3 months before I bought this stuff. (Bought it today). I bought this food because Betta Bites don't have a chance of making it to the bottom of my tank (and if they do they are quikly eaten and I was afraid my ghost shrimp would starve to death. At first my betta didn't eat the flakes and I was kinda happy about it. The second time I showed the betta the flakes, he took to them; but some flakes did make it to the bottom.... to feed the ghost shrimp... all 5 of the buggers! I think this food will make a fine addition to the varied diet of any betta! So far, that is how I feel. The dried brine shrimp may be a little large for bettas that are not full grown. Buyer beware!
I might add that my Betta didn't take to bloodworms at first either. He loves them now and has ever since he first got a real taste of them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

At least it floats

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
mxv1111
I bought the BettaMin medley because the pellets I was feeding my bettas, Como and Mr. Finster, were not floating long enough for them to eat so it seemed like a waste of food. I just feed Como and I know he's hungry but he only ate like 3 flakes. He doesn't look interested in it. He really liked the pellets but they don't float well. I guess I need to find a good pellet that taste great and floats...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best betta food

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hammieandfishy
from CA
My bettas LOVED it! The two males and three females ( in seperate tanks) all enjoyed them. MY bettas grew to be very bright in colors and brain, as i tought them to eat out my hand!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very disappointed...

PostedApril 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
lunawatsername
from vallejo ca
i bought some of this food for my first ever betta fish, and honestly he wont even touch the stuff. i was wondering whether he might just not like flake food, but i also bought some tetra bloodworms, supposedly a special treat to bettas, and he will barely even nibble those. thankfully i had some pellet food of a different brand too, and he just eats it up. but i am very disappointed with the tetra food products and i will definitely not be coming back for more.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedApril 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
LES123
from California,CA
I have a malle and female veiltale betta fish. They love this food! I would recommend this fish food to any fish owners!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Birdgird5
from Santa Clarita,California
I take care of a female and male veiltailed betta fish and they love this food. The container last a long time. Overall it's a great product! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The boy adores it.

PostedApril 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bettagirly
from Cerulean City
When I first got my CT Akira I fed him only Aqua Culture pellets and he loves them but I give him the original Bettamin and oh my god he ADORES IT! I put one pinch of it in with his pellets it remains in a ltitle circle when dropped in and he began chomping at it and practically inhales it. I will continue to make Bettamin apart of my boy's diet along with his pellets perhaps New Life Spectrum later on in life and lastly some freeze dried brine shrimp.
I love Akira and I'll do anything for him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

My betta refuses to eat this!

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
wailuamama
My betta won't eat this much at all, he spits most of it out! I think he has been spoiled by eating freeze dried blood worms : P
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

O.K.

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
animallover4567
from San Diego, Ca
This is an ok fish food. It is full of dyes and does not float but my betta is almost 3 and he has been living on this his whole life and they do not include a lot of brine shrimp and if you buy it in the store it is super expensive. But overall it is ok.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stuff

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
akane913
I've been using this stuff for years, and my fish love it. They especially like the little brine shrimp included as a treat. It also doesn't cloud the water, which is a plus for everyone. I would definitely recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
mgddel
from Linden, NC
this is good overall and doesn't make the tank water cloudy like some others
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
petfan
from TN
My betta REALLY loves this food! Tetra is a really good brand for fish stuff!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bettas love it

PostedSeptember 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
eugene
from california,ca
my betta loves this food and he stays in a fishbowl with no filter and this food never clouds the water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BettaMin is Great!!

PostedAugust 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
AnimalGina97
I bought this for my betta, paco. I put like a pinch of food in and he swam 2 the surface and ate in like 5 minutes..... he really loved it!!! BettaMin is the Best!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

...Food

PostedJune 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
LittleBoyBlueBetta23
from somewhere,somwhere
i bought this food for my betta, little boy blue (blue for short) because it was the cheapest betta food. its okay but he didnt eat it. i just got him today so they probably already fed him at the store... but i think its good because its flakes and it doesnt make the water cloudy. sooo: ITS GREAT FOOD!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tetra BettaMin Tropical Medley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tropical Fish Food ,too!!

PostedFebruary 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
MollyBreeder1
from Tx.
I had this for my female betta, but she died.=(
R.I.P Clover. Then I just wanted to feed this to my guppies and mollies and they LOVED it. It has more flavor, even though they are too small for my mollies giant mouths, they still eat them. And they still eat them today! I recommend it!! Bettas and Tropical fish like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>