petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules

Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules

Highly nutritious diet helps promote vibrant colors in large tropical fishSlow sinking food can be consumed mid-water where larger fish like discus and cichlids (angelfish) prefer to feed
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules
Review 1 for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Turns water a cloudy red

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Marietta, GA
Granules sink quickly and ANY leftovers turn your water a cloudy red. I wouldn't recommend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
I have African cichlids,bala sharks,clown loaches,frontosa cichlids,pictus catfish,feather fin catfish.and all of them eat the granules.it also helps keep your fish color bright and vibrant.since I started to feed my fish with this product, I make sure I have extra can because sometimes it's sold out in stores.ATT: NOT RECOMMEND FOR SMALL FISH.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
from MN
My fish are fussy eaters. This is only one of four foods that they will eat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

For Bigger Fish

PostedOctober 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
from hi
I have small snakeskin guppies and the granules seem a little big for them. The granules seem to sink to the bottom before any of them have a chance to nibble at them. I would recommend this for larger fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tetra ColorBits

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
My chiclids have been enjoying this product for years. They are doing very well on this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much better than flakes

PostedJanuary 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
We have had a 65 gallon tank for years and years, we began using this after having it recommended by our local pet store about 10 years ago. The fish like it better than flakes, especially the middle-floaters, angelfish and the like. I also noticed that less of it goes to waste because it sinks more slowly, the fish have time to catch it before it hits the bottom.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not convenient for small fish

PostedSeptember 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
I have smaller fish - guppies and mollies. For them, the granules and even crisps (disks) are too big to swallow whole and too hard to break up. The particles fall to the bottom too quickly, before the fish can tackle them, then get lost among the gravel and rot. The granules even color the water red! I find flakes (crushed up) much better for small fish - the fish can eat them right away, and don't need to wrestle with them or wait for the water to loosen and soften them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sale Price

PostedAugust 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Couldn't beat the sale price anywhere else. My large pond goldfish love these granules & have thrived on them for the last 2 years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much better then flakes!!!

PostedJune 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
I was feeding everyone in my tank flakes up until yesterday. Then I got these granules and they really work. I make sure everyone gets at least 1 granule and then I put a few flakes in, just in case and everyone gets a piece of those. Then they get a tiny bit of brine shrimp, once a day.
Every few days I recommend giving them iceberg lettuce and frozen peas, as this will help with constipation issues, which I see a lot with the flakes. I don't know what to expect with the granules yet.
This is a nice high quality food and a step up from flakes!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedMay 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
from PA
All of my freshwater fish love this fish food and it really does help with the color.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My fishes favorite food

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Chula Vista,CA
I give this food a thumbs up my fish just love sit. My rating would be 5 hearts
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedAugust 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
My tiger barbs love it so much the food doesnt even have a chance to sink.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tetra Colorbits

PostedMay 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Hanover MA
My blood parrot fish love these Bits. They were eating flakes until they tried the bits, now they want bits only.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetra ColorBits Tropical Granules
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tetra Granules

PostedDecember 26, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Azle, TX
This seems to be the only product my large fish will eat. Petco is the only place that carries the big bottle of granules.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.