petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hikari Cichlid Gold

Hikari Cichlid Gold

Nutrient rich yet won't cloud waterContains Astaxanthin to promote desireable colorationHigh protien formula carnivorous fish love
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Review 1 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This fish food is Great!

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from VANCOUVER WA
I have 2 full grown Oscars and they are healthy voracious eaters.I feed them mostly this fish food which they love!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good staple

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tacoma
Overall a good regular staple food for your fish. This product has been around for years and has proven itself. Reasonable priced food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Longtime favorite

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Louisiana
I have used this food for large Cichlids for decades. The reviewer who states that it has MSG somehow misread the ingredients. I reccommend it for Oscars, Jack Dempsys and all of the popular Cichlids. It's color enhancing effect is most dramatic in Firemouths. It really enhances the red colors!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good fish food

PostedMay 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
from NY
I recomend this to people who have red devils ,oscarsor flowerhorns .they like the red color of the food
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Deceptive!

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from moorhead, MN
I was under the assumption that this product was the best that money could buy for your fish...and then i read the ingredients label. The second ingredient is corn flakes, only to be followed a few ingredients later by MSG!!! there is hardly anything naturally nutritious about this product...simply corn with nutrients added to it. save your money and buy your cichlids food that actually has krill, shrimp, fruits & vegetables in it. There is a fantastic American made product on the market that doesn't have corn or MSG in it at all!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good

PostedDecember 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Kapolei,Hawaii
this product live to its name! serves its purpose does and what its says also good for arowanas!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome food!

PostedFebruary 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
My Oscars love this food! It made their colors vibrant and it gave them a lot more energy! I also feed them the Cichlid Staple so then it is a more complete a nutritious diet for my Oscars, and another thing I love about this food is that they make it in a sinking version!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
from LA, CA
My Oscars love this produt. They dance when they see the bag in front of the tank. The coloration got a lot better and they have a lot of energy now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not bad

PostedApril 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
I would not reccomend this for larger cichlids, becuase I feed my Oscar this and he still has HITH. But my smaller cichlids seem to love it and have good color. I would definitely reccomend this food for smaller cichids.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Gold Standard

PostedApril 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Stanford, CA
Want great color? This is the standard by which other commercial products are measured. It's been around for YEARS. Yes, there are newer specialty products out there that cost more--I know, you think this stuff's expensive--but the Hikari Gold is definitely the best value. If you haven't used pellets, and in particular Hikari pellets, you won't be disappointed with this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good food

PostedJanuary 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hikari cichlid gold is a very good food for most fish. Fish like it, and it has many nutrients they need for a healthy life. However, it's not nutritionally complete so it will need to be supplemented with other foods, such a spirulina algae based foods or meaty foods. I only wish it came in a sinking version. Bottom line: While not the best food out there, Hikari Cichlid gold id pretty good
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedAugust 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
This food is fantastic. All my fish love it, from my Arowana to my Oscar and even my Goldfish! The different pellet sizes are great because you get to choose which is best for your fish and that helps control portions and prevent overfeeding. It gave my baby Silver Arowana a nice red glow around the fins and my Tiger Oscar and Goldfish have bright orange coloration. I love this product and my fish do too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best cichlid product

PostedMay 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
My cichlids weren't growing until I bought the Hikari Gold. Now they have doubled in size and their colors are magnificent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedOctober 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
from USA
I have a lot of tanks and my fish love it. I rotate this food with another type of food that is much more expensive to cut down on cost. Probably the best food you can get at that low of a price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for Oscars

PostedMay 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
from College Station Tx
I feed both of my Oscars this product and they love it. One of them is a dark orange color and the other is albino. The darker one turned a bright orange color after being fed this product, and the albino turned extremely white with bright orange stribes deff healty for them and great color enhancement. Highly recomended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hikari Cichlid Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bang for your Buck

PostedMarch 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
from St Cloud
Lot of food in one of these bags and is the best non-premium fish food out there. Been using this brand for over 3 years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.