petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

JLA Cat Napper Window Perch

Hammock design cradles your cat in total comfortSturdy big cat perch holds up to 35 lbs.Versatile window cat perch designed to fit practically any sillSoft, cozy fleece cover is machine washable
Average Customer Rating:
4.052 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(172 Reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 172 reviews
5 stars
96
4 stars
32
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
16
138 out of 172(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Review 1 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works, but not what I expected

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
I bought this product on clearance in store and thought it was a deal. I got the thing set up with the Velcro, which did hold both my 13 lb. cats, but only for a short time. It wasn't the Velcro that was the problem, but the adhesive. I didn't want to drill holes in the window sill as I rent, but guess that's what I'll have to do because the cats do love it. Seems like a decent product, just not the best design. I'd recommend this to a friend if they're willing to drill holes in the window sill.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ugh.

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Moon Township
Unless you intend to screw mount these seats, I would pass. I have an older home, with marble window sills, and the velcro attachment strips don't stick; the seat falls right out of the window. It's more like a hammock than a seat, so it's not very sturdy, either. I have three cats, and none of them would use it. Opened one, but the other two will go back :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

JLA Cat Napper Window Perch

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Idaho
Very good size. With our heavy cat it had a tendicy to sag so I had to insert a light plywood interior reinforcement. The Cat Loves it and spends hours on it watching the birds at the feeder outside the window.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Keeps falling down!

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Palm Desert, CA
I used the Velcro strips provided because I didn't want to make holes in my windowsill. I followed all instructions and made sure that the windowsill was clean and dry, etc. The product would not hold my 8-pound kitty. It fell down every time he jumped off the "hammock." Unless you want to use option 2 and screw the product into your windowsill, do not buy it. Actually the 3 screws that were provided are so short that my guess is they too would not hold the perch securely.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect perch for my needs

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I ordered this for my 14 year old kitty so she would have a higher place to escape from the 2 year old kitten. She just loves it!! Was very easy to set up and as soon as I was done, she was in it. Has become her favorite daytime sleeping place and is so much better than the back of the couch. Plus she loves it when the window is cracked open so she can catch the breeze and also loves watching for the birds that land in the tree outside the window. Is a great perch and would buy again if needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor design

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Costa Mesa, CA
Once mounted, the fleece hammock cannot be washed without taking apart the whole thing. The mounting screws go through the material. This is going back to the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

JLA Cat napper window perch

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Paris, TX
I bought this for my newly adopted geriatric feline friend, Carlos. He is a big boy, not fat, just tall and broad. He weighs about 17 lbs. I was very skeptical of the velcro attachments and being house resale conscious I was not going to screw anything into the window sill. I found some industrial strength sticky velcro at home depot and used that instead. We have had it over a year now and it has fallen only twice ( he likes to jump off the back part of the hammock and it is strong but with a kitty his size it is unrealistic to think this napper is invincible) . He loves this napper more than anything in the house, he lays in it majority of the day. This by far is the best investment for a kitty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Window cat seat

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago IL
It's ok - you have to screw it into the window sill. I tried the velcro and as soon as a cat stepped on it, she went flying, with the seat.
Once I secured it, the cats are more curious and sit on it. It isn't a hard seat, so they really settle into it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item for your cat

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Simi Valley, CA
We put this under our bedroom window and its his favorite place in the house. Bought another in case he wears it out, have had it for about a year and still good
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pet purchase EVER

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Colby, KS
My cat was constantly using my printer as a perch to watch the birds and such. I bought this to save my printer, and it is the best purchase I have ever made for any of my pets. We did screw it in to the windowsill, as he's a big cat, but it installed very easily. It is his favorite place to be now!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Window Perch

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
My cat simply loves gazing out of the window and taking a long nap. With the weather being nice, the window is always open so outside air comes right to her. She's on it right now and asleep. It is 10:50 p.m., I'm at the computer and she is just happily satisfied. She is 9 years old and completely happy. Any cat would adore this item.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Kitty down! Kitty down! Velcro quality alert

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Washington, DC
After one month of (very light) use by a 5-lb kitten, this perch's velcro failed and kitty came crashing down. The adhesive was all gooey and shriveled and looked like it hadn't held up well in the heat of the sunlight ... isn't this product specifically designed to allow basking in the natural light of the window? Possibly I'll attempt the screw-mounting process but as a renter that's a less attractive option.
Additionally, the fleece material is rather flimsy. The extent to which it sagged when the five pounds of my cat lounged in it made me VERY nervous that he would be sagging below the frame when he reached his full size. Probably I'll never know.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bowling Green, KY
The perch keeps falling off the ledge. The adhesive on the tongue and groove doesn't stay. Cat is only 9 pounds and I find the perch on the floor all the time. Wouldn't buy this type again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Seat in the House

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from East Greenwich, RI
I have two kittens approximately 8 months old that absolutely love the window perch. It is used daily as a perch to observe everything going on in the back yard as well as a great sunbathing spot at sunset!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Been looking for this.

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ypsilanti, MI
I have one of these for my other cat and he loved it. It's not just a piece of wood with some carpet on it. It is a hammock that gives to the weight of the cat. not hard. My new kitten loves it to. Loves to lay in the sun. You can't find them just anywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This bed was awesome

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Westminster, CA
This cat bed was fantastic both of my cats fight to sleep on it when the sun is out. Im thinking about buying another so they both dont fight for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cat Perch

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Conroe, TX
My cats love this new perch since we installed it in their favorite sunny window! We initially tried the temporary installation instructions (velcro included) thinking we could move the perch from window to window if we wanted to do so. However, that didn't work because it wasn't sturdy enough & dumped one of our cats twice. So we then used the permanent installation instructions & everything is fine & our cats haven't been dumped off since. It seems to be a great place for taking long naps. =)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

She loves it

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
My cat loves this window ledge. I actually get upset because she doesn't sleep with me on my bed anymore, she only sleeps on the window ledge at night. She's home alone during the day while I'm at work but I feel better now that she has this favorite spot. She just stares out the window for hours.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Window perch

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from DC
Our two cats love this window perch. If you have a wide enough window ledge this would probably stay put, but we bolted ours in, just in case. The photo above is obviously shopped as the cushion is not so much a pillow, but a hammock. At any rate this holds our two kitties easily and they love snuggling on it (and watching the squirrels go by).
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for JLA Cat Napper Window Perch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
The description requires that you would not have to use any tools to assemble this. Yet the instructions are poorly written and it took 30+ minutes to simply try and figure out the directions meant and what it was asking. Needless to say, the final step is to screw the fixture onto the windowsill - which we decided to buy this product because it said you wouldn't have to do this- our windowsills are made of steel, thus can't screw anything into it. The only thing we have to hold the perch onto the windowsill is the velcro it came with which is not enough to support the weight of our kittens.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>