petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals

8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals

Spray-on formula controls fleas and ticks on hamsters, gerbils, rabbits, guinea pigs, and mice
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Review 1 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EASY ON YOUR SMALL PET.

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
LUVTHISSTORE
from PINELLAS PARK, FL
I USE THIS ON MY 1 YEAR OLD RABBIT. HE LIVES IN MY HOME WITH A CAT AND A DOG. HE GOT FLEAS. THIS PRODUCT KEEPS THE FLEAS AT BAY AND HIS SKIN AND COAT IN GOOD CONDITION. CHECK YOUR LITTLE ONES FOR FLEAS. THEY NEED ATTENTION TOO. IF SO, GET THIS SPRAY!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
RabbitNamedShorty
from Central California
My poor lil' bunny had some mites and after researching around the internet, I finally found some encouraging reviews for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea & Tick Spray here at Petco. I agree with "MaxWhereTheWildThingsAre"...this product is great! Works like magic! No skin problems after use. No odor problems, either.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets Rid Of Rabbit Mites!!!

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaxWhereTheWildThingsAre
from Grandville, Michigan
We were freaking out when our rabbit got mites. We were rushing around trying to find the best product to help our poor little guy out. We were unable to find a product that said it treated MITES specifically. With help from Petco, we decided to try this product out. We sprayed him twice (once a week for two weeks) and the mites were gone. We also spayed his cage and wiped it down. His fur is back and he a much happier bunny!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

DON"T NO YET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
miniwolf547
from indana
I have 3 male rats that have or had mites!! it worked when i did it but then a week later i found mites!! so that why i gave it a for star but
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ratsalways
My rats had a terrible flea problem. This worked the first time. I sprayed it and the little things died and I combed them right off. Amazing product. Really works!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Mini Lop Bunny W/Mites

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
greasemonkey58
from Bennington Vt.
I recommend this product Highly!!!
My Mini lop bunny was loosing her fur. I had tried an anti-fungul cream & it made her skin very red, irratated & then it started getting scaley. At this point all she wanted to do was hide & slowed way down eating (to the point where I was very worried). I used this product "One" time & it took care of all the mites. My bunny that night already had softer fur & she was no longer itching. The scaleyness is getting better & looks like her fur will all be back in no time. Her disposition was 100% better & now I feel much more relieved.
"I Love this product & Highly recommended it for mites"!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved My Mice's Lives!

PostedApril 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
AllieMouse
from Bellevue, WA
I chose to use the "8 in 1 Bird" on my mice because it has a lower pyrethrin percentage than the "8 in 1 Small Animal"; I didn't want to risk possibly irritating their sensitive skin.
I adopted a white mouse from Petco, who unfortunately came home with lice. Naturally, the lice spread to the rest of my mice.
I put a towel in a box and sat the mice in there and put the box outside in the sunlight, that way any lice that were not killed would just blow away. Rather than spraying, I gloved my hands and doused cotton balls with the product and rubbed it on my mice (avoiding the eyes, of course). I sprayed some on my hand and let them walk over it to get the product on their under-bellies. You have to completely soak your pet (BIRD OR MOUSE) in order for it to work. I went inside to clean the cage and left the mice in the box to treat (My boyfriend watched over them. DON'T EVER leave mice unattended outside. They could catch a cold or worse, get caught themselves by a predator).
My boyfriend brought the mice inside after about 10 minutes. I was worried that because they had licked the spray off of themselves they would get sick. Well it's been a few hours now and they are still just fine! :)
All of the lice are gone - I will probably treat again next week, just to get rid of any larvae that may have hatched - but other than that, they are GONE!
This product isn't just a lice remover. It saved my mice from alot of stress and pain. The mouse who originally brought in the lice is now so much more relaxed. I imagine it's very uncomfortable to have your skin crawling with itchy bugs. Their fur also seems softer! They all seem so happy now that the lice are gone. They are like new mice!
This is an amazing product that works perfectly. Unlike Ivermectin, another bug treatment that you can get from the vet for exponentially more money, Pyrethrin is a plant based pesticide (it actually comes from a daisy-like flower) and is much safer for animals, so don't let people who are "anti-chemical" discourage you from getting this product - it works and it will save your animal.
-Allie
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Unsure

PostedApril 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandrilene
from Nashville, TN
They seem to be scratching less so it seems to have worked. But there is still some scratching so I'm not completely sure.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Spray that works

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I was concerned when I thought my guinea pig may have mites. Vets are normally very expensive, so I was looking for an alternative. After doing some research, I heard about this product. I found it on Petco.com and within one use my guinea pig is nearly flake free. He may need another treatment but as of now he is feeling much better. If your looking for an inexpensive way to treat mites try this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works on mites too

PostedMay 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
ltrain
Almost overnight, my 8 hamsters picked up an awful case of rodent mites. I bought this "flea and tick" spray because I was desperate for anything that might help, and I was amazed at how the mites just fell off of them. It took a few minutes to kill all of the bugs, but now two weeks later, they're clean and mite free. It was even gentle enough to use on two-week-old baby hamsters. A+ :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Thankful

PostedFebruary 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sylar
My rat is pest free! Spray, wait 2 mins, wash off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done!

PostedJuly 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Merrie
from Sacramento, CA
Fleas have been staying away from Fondou ever since I sprayed this on her. I wonder why they didn't put "for ferrets" on the bottle though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a Charm

PostedMay 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Narco
I used this product on my guinea pig, Meeko, who had a pretty bad case of lice. Of course, Meeko hated every minute of the treatment due to the fact that you have to get them wet with it all over for it to work. However, once he was almost dry, the lice started dying and I was able to use a flea comb to remove them and their "knits" out of his fur. (That is, the fur I did not ultimately have to trim due to its extreme length.) Like I said before, Meeko hated every minute of it. That night when I went to check on him, although he was terrified of leaving his cage, there was no longer living parasites bothering him. (Take in mind that I also had to disinfect everything in his cage and the cage itself). The next morning, upon checking up on him once more, he happily let me pick him up and examine his fur on which there was no more lice. He even chirped happily as I stroked him, which he hadn't done in weeks due to his uncomfortable situation.
This product works like a charm, even though your small animal will hate it, I'm sure they hate having parasites even more.
I'd recommend this to anyone with a guinea pig or other small animal.
It works!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

got rid of my mite problem

PostedMay 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
samara
from long island, ny
I thought my rat just had sensitive skin but then I saw little red bugs crawling on her. Poor thing! I purchased this and it definately worked even though she hated me while I bathed her and applied the spray. I have to say that it did smell a little and was worried about my rat's
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works

PostedJune 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
lostisme
Used it on my hamster which had pretty bad fleas. It takes a bit of work and I had to use it a few times but it did end up getting rid of the fleas. I don't think my hamster liked it much but he sure doesn't like having fleas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the BEST Products

PostedAugust 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
Flora7
from Riverside,CA
It is definitely one of the best products I've ever used on my pets. I bought two mice in one of those big chain pet stores, brought them home and two days later whole room was infested with this tinny red bugs. My mice was going crazy. One of them literally scratched most of his ear off. I could totally see those bugs on the inside and outside of the cage. I was desperate. Weekend was coming up and there was only one vet in the aria that deals with small animals. Fortunately for me he was booked. I say fortunately because instead of paying for doctors visit and costly medications I end up spending under $10 on Ultra Care 8 in 1 Flea and Tick spray at the Petco store and had my overwhelming at that time problem solved.
I prepared clean cage for my mice, took them out of infested cage, sprayed generously old cage right away with 8 in 1. Then I sprayed my mice (holding them by the tail) all over. To help spray get to the skin I use old clean tooth brush to brush fur in opposite direction. Mice were all covered in spray and wet and I couldn't avoid spray getting on their face. Since mice don't like when their fur is messy their started licking their fur right away. I thought they will get stomach sick and will be drowsy. I was wrong.
This spray doesn't have oily fill to it at all (it feels just like water). Has a little smell like most medications do. Since my mice been itching and scratching themselves spray got all over those scratches but didn't do any damage. After my mice got dry they ate, one got in the wheel, other felt a sleep without scratching and itching for the first time in those couple of days.
Thank you so much Ultra Care 8 in 1. You really saved me and my pets. It can be quiet frightening to see those bugs crawling in all direction and you don't know what to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 8 in 1 Pro Ultra-Care Flea and Tick Spray for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't Work

PostedNovember 27, 2005
Customer Avatar
BunnyLover
from California
You have to spray it all over and work it into the fur. The fleas just jump to another part of the bunny, especially if you do not get his underside reallly well. It also gets them all wet and they have to stay warm til they dry off. They will lick it too and I don't think its good for them. I got a little in my mouth and I felt kind of queasy later. To get it on the rabbits' faces I have to spray it on my hand and rub it on, but it doesn't go in far. I should take it back. Just use Frontline for kittens, the convenience is worth the price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.