petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner

API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner

Water conditioner with healing power of Aloe VeraReplaces the natural protective slime coating fish need in times of stressRemoves chlorine, neutralizes chloramines, and detoxifies heavy metalsHelps to heal skin wounds and torn finsScientifically proven to reduce fish stress by 40% and to promote regeneration of damaged tissueUse Stress Coat whenever you are setting up an aquarium, adding or handling fish or changing water
Average Customer Rating:
4.886 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
43 out of 44(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Review 1 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bailmint
from USA
First time I've rated five stars/paws on something on here. Well, this acts as a water conditioner and a fin repair medicine. Double dose it to activate the fin repair though. I highly recommend it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fish Saver

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
basketballer99
from Minnesota
I went to PetCo to buy my brother a betta fish for his birthday, and was happy with their selection. I asked a worker there if the fish that I liked was doing ok because it seemed to be swimming weirdly, and she told me it just needed more water in its tiny little cup. So I brought it home and its condition did not improve. I was panicking hoping it wouldnt die, I tried researching things to help. I tried using a pea, smaller fish bowl,, etc.. None of it worked. The betta started to become discolored and just floated at the bottom of the tank. I went to PetCo and picked up a bottle of this stuff and changed out the water. Within a day the fish was swimming normally and was brighter colored then when I bought it. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does not remove chlorine/chloromine

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
PetReviewer
from Greer, SC
I used this as a water conditioner (I used the exact dosage that is on the lable) and my betta fish died from chloromine poisoning. Stress Coat used to be top-of-the-line, but recently they've gone downhill. You can use this as a supplement for skin and fins, but always make sure you're using a reliable water conditioner along with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heals torn fins

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
MenagerieMania
from San Diego, CA
My goldfish Danny had anchor worm about a month ago. While an antiparasitic killed most of them, I had to remove one from the tail and, in the process, accidentally took out a small chunk of fin right at the edge. I started using API Stress Coat as soon as I noticed the parasites, and now a month later the fin is almost completely healed! This product definitely helped get Danny back on his feet (or fins?) and successfully recover from the parasites.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
DMD123
from Tacoma
Stress Coat is a great product. Ive used it for many years and have happy, healthy fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

get some now

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
dontflushfish
from VA
This stuff is like a miracle drug for stressed fish. Assuming the fish isn't already sick yet, use this and within a day you will see good swimming and appetite return, and likely prevent a more serious illness. I use this with every water change and anytime I notice signs of stress.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
jpdow
from Burlington,VT
works great use it every time I do a water change.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD STUFF

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
PHILLYPHIL
from MILWAUKEE.WI
FISHES ARE HEALTHY AFTER ROUGH START. DRAINED WATER ADDED THE REQUIRED AMT.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Stuff!

PostedApril 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cherylynn
from Hampton, VA
I have used this product for years and it hasn't failed me yet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have

PostedDecember 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
merp
If you want a longer life for your fish tank, then this is one of the items you must have in your aquarium. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product!

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
dogluver89
from San Diego, CA
I have used this product for about 10 years now and have never had any problems with it. It is a great value for the price and works like a charm. Stress Coat keeps my fish very healthy. I also love Stress Zyme and use it along with this product when doing water changes or cleaning the filters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stuff

PostedApril 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
BOEGTA
from Kathy in Topeka KS Fish 4 Years
I have been using this product for years and it has never let me down. I would not attempt the up keep with out Stress coat. NEVER.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great de-chlorinator/water conditioner

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
AnimalLover1123
This is a great de-chlorinator and water conditioner. You only have to use a little bit of it and it works instantly. I like to make sure that it is all in the water by stirring the water. This is a great product and can be used for freshwater, brackish, or marine. GREAT PRODUCT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good

PostedSeptember 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roho
It is a good product. It creates slime in the water to keep the fish from getting stress-related illnesses. I use this, Aqueon Water Conditioner, and Prime Ammonia Killer and it keeps my water parameters in check.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good choice

PostedAugust 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
pleasedowner
I bought this product because my fish was acting weird and was swimming slowly. I changed the water and added a 1/2 teaspoon in the tank and he was back to normal within an hour.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good suppliment.

PostedMay 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
JoshandDi
from Round Lake Beach, IL
I use this to suppliment my Aquasafe Conditioner. I use it once a week to add a little more variety to my water conditioning routine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ask The Fish!

PostedApril 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
NikRockEd
from Queens, NY
I've heard a lot of good reviews about Aquarium Pharmaceuticals. So I said, "what the hey. I'll try it out." So far so good. I use the salt, stress coat and the enzymes and the stuff that removes algee bloom. The fish look healthy, the tank is clear and no more green cloudy water. The ONLY thing that concerns me now is the PH level is VERY LOW (under 6.5) I guess I have to buy ANOTHER Aquarium Pharmaceuticals to balance the PH.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hidudes
I've been using this product for 3 years hasn't failed me once. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best stress coat ever

PostedFebruary 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
fstateum
from ms
API is the best maker of aquatic products out there. I have been using API stress coat for about a year, my little buddy has not suffer any problems so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for API Stress Coat Aquarium Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trustworthy!!!

PostedFebruary 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Virginia
I have used this brand of Stress Coat for years. IT IS AWESOME!!! The fact that this particular type can also condition your water is great, because it frees up some space in the cabinet. Another added bonus, the lid also works as a handy dandy measuring device. Choose this and you WON'T be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>