petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Four Paws Quick & Easy Pill Dispenser

Four Paws Quick & Easy Pill Dispenser

Veterinarian designedHelps make administering oral medications quick, easy, and less stressful for you and your pet
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Four Paws Quick & Easy Pill Dispenser
Review 1 for Four Paws Quick & Easy Pill Dispenser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Wonders!

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
NayNay70
from Chicago, IL
This was the best $5 I have ever spent! My foster Toy Poodle is a professional at spitting up his daily kidney support medication. Not anymore! His mouth is so tiny, that I can hardly get my finger in his mouth to administer and I have small fingers. Administering with food is not an option; medication is not to be taken with food. He is a very picky eater so it's not as easy as to simply hide his medicine in treats or people food that every other dog would love. It only takes one attempt to administer his capsule and voila! I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Four Paws Quick & Easy Pill Dispenser
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too large for cats

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katnoori
from Melbourne, FL
We ordered this to help us give pills to our cat, but it is too large for my cat's mouth. It would be better to use with dogs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Four Paws Quick & Easy Pill Dispenser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and Easy

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvMy2Cats11
My cat has to take pills regularly for allergies and it was always a hassle to try to get her to take them. I tried the pill pockets but would struggle to get her to eat them. This product is so quick and easy and I always get her to take it on the first try. Pill time is definitely easier for the both of us!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Four Paws Quick & Easy Pill Dispenser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
jerseygirl84
from Cape May, NJ
Bought this for my cats, but pill pockets actually worked better for them. However I ended up using this to get my 12 yr old son to swallow his pill for his ADHD. Best idea I had and so glad I bought this. He is so happy he can swallow his pill now with no issues. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Four Paws Quick & Easy Pill Dispenser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pill dispenser

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
pinsgalore
from North Attleboro, MA
It's the greatest thing since sliced bread. No more struggle to get my dog to take a pill. Quick and easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Four Paws Quick & Easy Pill Dispenser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
LynnRL
from Port St. Lucie, FL
I have always had a terrible struggle pilling my cats. The pill dispenser provided by my Vet had a rubber tip, and the pill would often fall out or I couldn't position it properly. I just got the Four Paws Pill Dispenser today and used it for the first time tonight. It was quick and easy, and far less traumatic for both me and the cat. In fact, after he took the pill he looked at me like "What just happened?" This product is a lifesaver, as I have to administer a rather large and bitter pill 2x a day for 14 days. I highly recommend this great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Four Paws Quick & Easy Pill Dispenser
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for Cats

PostedMay 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
RileyN
from MA
This does not work well for cats or for giving small pills. Giving pills to cats is a lot harder than a dog. This is too big, so you have to get the cat to open their mouth so wide to get it in. And if you are giving them small pills, they fall out the bottom before you can get it in their mouth.
Works pretty good for dogs though.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Four Paws Quick & Easy Pill Dispenser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Purchase

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
DarthMaul
from Derby, KS
I have a male Maine Coon who is very aggressive toward one of my other cats and this makes it very easy to give him his "happy pills" to help calm him down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Four Paws Quick & Easy Pill Dispenser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

PostedJanuary 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aunie
from Steamboat Springs, CO
I wish I had this years ago. The length of stress was cut 10 fold. "Fang" had worms. He is big therefore, he had to take 2, yes, 2 pills. After my husband got clawed big time, no stitches, but darn close, (God only knows where that pill went and weeks later found the 2nd pill on the floor.), I went to petco to get the pill dispenser, since 'Fang' was still alive. They were on sale so I bought 2, 1 for 'Fang' and 1 for his cousin. Got another set of pills and down 'Fang's' throat the pills went. Both of them in less then 5 minutes. I highly recommend this product if you have a 'Fang' especially if your baby is big and needs to take a 2nd dose. Good Luck!!
Aunie
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Four Paws Quick & Easy Pill Dispenser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedOctober 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
FloridaFeline
I've got to give a pill to one of my cats EVERY day! It's important that he get this medicine yet it took everything in my power to get that pill down. Even when there were times I thought I'd given him his medicine, I'd find it lying on the kitchen floor. He'd wait minutes and then spit it out when I wasn't looking. Well, NOT anymore! This pill dispenser works like a dream. It allows you to put the pill way back on the cat's tongue without getting your fingers bitten. That pill goes down every time and the cat doesn't even know what hit him! Wonderful product and you will be so glad you got this. Saves stress on you and the cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Four Paws Quick & Easy Pill Dispenser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedApril 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
LuvsMyPets
from Orlando, FL
I definitely recommend this product. I had a horrible time trying to give my cat pill vitamins/medications. This product works great, is easy to use, and easy to clean. It makes sure the pill gets past the pet's tongue, and into their throat, so they can swallow without leaving the medicine taste on their tongue. The pet is much calmer with this method than trying to get my fingers with the pill down their throat, so it is a lot less stressful for everyone involved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Four Paws Quick & Easy Pill Dispenser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This works

PostedJuly 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
LittleG
I tried this product as a last resort. It was originally recommended by a vet expert that suggested using it, but I tried pill pockets instead. Pill pockets work fine for a week, but by day 7 the cat bit into the capsule, caught on and refused the the pill pocket. I couldn't waste anymore medicine stuffing it in food she refused to eat, and I still have 14 more days to go.
I made sure I read the directions carefully, I read other suggestions on how to administer giving a tablet to a cat, and I even did a few practice sessions without a cat to make sure it would work. My other cat allowed me to use her for practice on the "opening the mouth" technique.
The advice I would offer would be to administer when the cat is ready to sleep or nap, as they are not as aggressive when they are tired. The towel technique doesn't work for us, it actually makes mine more aggressive, but I can subdue the cat when she's sleepy. And when you get the mouth open, do it quick and tilt the head up and keep the mouth closed with your hand underneath the cat's jaw for about 10 -15 seconds so the cat won't spit the pill out. Be confident and swift.
My cat rates the experience as good, because she doesn't want the pill at all, but it was the most humane way for medicate an animal instead of making them starve trying for force them to eat or taking the risk another cat will scarf down the uneaten food. I also give lots of treats as a reward immediately after the dose. My cat actually purred about 2 minutes later.
Another note, since I was giving the cat capsules, the dose was rather large, and it made the whole thing even more dramatic since I couldn't hide it into any food. The dispenser was large enough to accomodate the capsule and the dispenser keeps your fingers out of the cat's mouth which cuts down on the risk of being bitten.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.