petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System

Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System

Complete gravel cleaner and water changing systemReady to useMakes aquarium maintenance simple and easy
Average Customer Rating:
4.691 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
5 stars
57
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
63 out of 68(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Review 1 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a must have for aquarium owners

PostedJune 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
Fish Fancier
from Tennessee
I could hardly believe no one has reviewed this product. This is a "must have" for aquarium owners, no matter what size the aquarium. A friend of mine is a member of the National Aquarium Societies and she passed along a tip she learned through them. You can use the Python weekly to vacuum the floor of your established aquarium, taking out 10% of the water with the sludge; and then fill it back up straight from the tap. I've done it ever since with my 55 gallon tank and it has made cleaning it so much easier; the water quality is considerably better, fish are happier and healthier. I do squirt some "Start Right" in after I do it but don't think it really needs it. If you haven't considered buying one of these and you have a fish tank please do, it is worth every penny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Python No Spill Clean and Fill

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
MrPlato
from Alton, IL
I had one of these 20 years ago and it is still the great product that it was 20 years ago! I love this product! Petco had a very competative price online!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Python No Spill - No Hastle

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
DP4SURE
from North Carolina
The Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System works great (as advertised). Check all the fittings before you start (they will all be loose). Also for larger tanks with split tops, once you start don't lift suction out of water to move from side to side. The air bubble will affect suction capability.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
MikeJ
from Kansas City, KS
This was definitely a worthy buy. All the parts felt like good quality items and not cheap or breakable. When I called the store they said they only carried the Aqueon and that's what they used in the store, but if for his personal use, he prefers the Python because it is better made and they have to replace the Aqueon now and then. Everything fit snugly and worked well. Two things to keep in mind, when you are draining your tank, the output of the water from the faucet plus the tank may be too much for your sink drain so you may have to stop occasionally depending how fast your sink can flow. Also beware of water castoff from when you're draining because of that water pressure. Around my sink got a little splattered from having it on full blast, so don't have anything around your sink you don't want splattered with dirty tank water, or don't use full power. Another thing is you may have to fill your tank up some more in order to keep draining and cleaning. I had a dirty tank with turtles in it that needed a complete clean so I gave it a full drain and still put more back in to wash and drain again. Keep in mind that you should NOT do that with a fish tank as the complete water swap could shock and kill them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never carry a bucket again

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Khelnozz
from Tucson, AZ
This is great. Lots of of siphoning power. You have to be careful not to take too much water out of your tank. Also small fish will be siphoned into the python if your not careful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
ButterflytailGoldiesFan
from FL
I have a 75g tank and cleaning was always a problem cuz of water buckets and spills, plus the time it took. Now it is just plug and done, cleaned half tank plus filled it back in less than 15 minutes. i was concerned about the siphon pressure but it ended up being so so good. i should have bought this long ago, but now that i got it my back will finally rest.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

super tank cleaner

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
TURTLEKID
from Richmond,va
The Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium. Maintenance System works wonderful. It does a super job for the major cleanings and on spot cleanings. It majorly reduced the time and mess of cleaning my turtle aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Investment and Time Saver

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
klijefs
from St. Paul, MN
I recently bought this product as I have heard a lot about how easy it makes maintaining your aquarium. I have had my tank for over 5 years now and never wanted to fork over the funds to purchase one of these, don't ask me why. I took it out of the box and installed the adapter (which felt a little cheap) onto my faucet and cranked the water on. After about a minute of cleaning the tank i realized it was one of the best investments I have made. Not only was it a heck of a lot easier than lugging buckets around and breaking my back it saved me an hour of time. The other thing i like about it is that it does not displace substrate when you are filling the tank back up, since I have sand, waiting for it to settle before turning my filter back on took a while. We will see how long the parts last but in the meantime i am going to enjoy maintaining my tank a lot more, and the lady not complaining about how much time i spend with my hobby.
The only reason I did not rate 5 stars or paws it because the connections feel a little flimsy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Guyin
from Seminole, Florida
Awesome product, cannot understand why I haven't bought this before now - the quality of this product is excellent, better than it's competition. Since my purchase I have seen this product in use in many tropical fish stores, it is indispensable!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just buy it already!

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
DirtyFish
from Fort Madison, IA
I debated about buying this for a while before I did it and boy, am I happy I did! If you have a large aquarium this will significantly improve your quality of life! No more buckets!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome tool!

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
phenom3030
from Colorado Springs, CO
This tool makes water changes and cleaning a breeze! And to update from previous reviews, I believe the company listened to customer concerns because the fitting for the sink I received was plastic with brass components. That seemed to be an issue from reviews that I had before purchasing. It looks like the company now ships the kit with a better upgraded fitting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should have got this long ago

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
sharktail
from Philadelphia, PA
This product has made me want to clean my fish tank! I set it up within minutes and it worked exactly as per the instructions. The model I received had a note in to say that the plastic connection ring had been upgraded to a metal one (I saw reviews that said the plastic version of this piece easily broke). The best gravel cleaner I have ever used - my tank looks brand new again and also makes it so easy to carry out water changes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

easy use

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
mothermoira
from Oregon
Takes me 5 minutes now. Used to take upwards of 1 hour. LOVE IT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes maintaining the tank a breeze

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
herbm
from Boiling Springs, SC
siphon works great and returning the water that much easier
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love It But..

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leckus
from Syracuse, UT
I absolutely LOVE this product! I bought an entire aquarium setup online almost 3 years ago and this was part of it. The only problem I've come across is the part that hooks up to the faucet is very fragile (the green part in the pic). I've replaced ours twice (it needed to be replaced when we got it and I've legitimately replaced my own once). If you're not careful then it can strip your faucet lining as well. HOWEVER, if you're careful with all of it then neither of those should be an issue. If it does break, then it is fairly cheap to replace because you don't have to buy the hose or entire set up all over again, just the faucet adapter. Since buying the "second" one, my kids really have run it through the mill, the reason for needing to buy it again, which was about a year ago and the overall product is still great.
Another great thing is if you have multiple aquariums like I do (I breed mollies), then it makes life SO much easier!! It pays for itself in the end and as long as I own aquariums I will be using this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
lew9000
from Cannon AFB, NM
Its a must have for any tank. it will bring alot of ease to your life when it comes to changing water
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like, Wow!

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
in7love7
from Lafayette, IN
I am so happy with this investment. Water changes are a breeze. Wish I would have purchased this years ago. Absolutely love this item!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best product ever!

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
DebzTurn
from Illinois
This product is the best cleaning system I have ever used. Very easy to set up and no mess. I highly recommend this to anyone who has a fish tank. Certainly better than the old days with the hose and bucket.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Good

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
EatMyInkTattoo
from Poughkeepsie, NY
Gets clogged every time!!! Hose sticks to itself making coiling back up and un-coiling almost impossible.
I had much better luck with the Aqueon Aquarium Water Changer, with the exception of having to replace the adapter every few months.
Very unhappy at this point with my purchase. and will be replacing this water change hose with another Aqueon Aquarium Water Changer. Price does not matter, making my fish happy is most important.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes water changes so easy

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
DMD123
from Tacoma
Water changes are the worst thing about owning fish, if you do the old bucket method. The python is great to help with this chore. Makes it easy to clean and fill up. Everyone should have one if you have an aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>