petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System

Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System

Complete gravel cleaner and water changing systemReady to useMakes aquarium maintenance simple and easy
Average Customer Rating:
4.71 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
5 stars
64
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
71 out of 76(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Review 1 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a must have for aquarium owners

PostedJune 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Tennessee
I could hardly believe no one has reviewed this product. This is a "must have" for aquarium owners, no matter what size the aquarium. A friend of mine is a member of the National Aquarium Societies and she passed along a tip she learned through them. You can use the Python weekly to vacuum the floor of your established aquarium, taking out 10% of the water with the sludge; and then fill it back up straight from the tap. I've done it ever since with my 55 gallon tank and it has made cleaning it so much easier; the water quality is considerably better, fish are happier and healthier. I do squirt some "Start Right" in after I do it but don't think it really needs it. If you haven't considered buying one of these and you have a fish tank please do, it is worth every penny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Python water transfer/cleaning system

PostedMay 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from North Texas
Hey, this system really works good. Just hook it up to your faucet, and get after it. Drain water, clean your sand/gravel, then flip the switch and refill your tank with fresh water. Buy one, you will not regret it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

100% perfect

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from east bend, North Carolina
I used this the first time ever & i loved it. It only took me 30 min to drain and fill my 30 gallon with no problem no bucket no spills Love it 100% perfect
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow-Cool Maintenance System

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from brooksvlle, fl
How did I ever get along without the Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium System. No more mess and buckets to lug around. Awesome!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from michigan
I did buckets for 1 year, up and down stairs, never again. this makes water changes a breeze and it's a must have. Good quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Have for Cleaning Fish Tanks

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Troy, MI
Used my python no spill clean and fill aquarium maintenance system for the first time today. OMG it made things sooooooooo much easier. Worked like a charm...no bucket lifting, etc. If there is a negative it would be that since we have a distance between our aquarium and our laundry tub, dealing with 75 feet of hose was a little cumbersome. But you have to take the good with the bad and this is definitely a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Montana
This thing works great. A must have for anyone with an aquarium. It makes water changes a breeze.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product. Very easy to use.

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Annapolis, MD
I have already recommended this to a friend, who has now purchased. Have 20, 37 and 150 gal tanks. Was using a squeeze pump siphon and carrying loads of water back and forth. Not good when you have a bad back. Saw this being used at our local Petco and decided to try. LOVE IT! Within a couple minutes had it connected and suctioning out better than anything I've used in the past. The refilling did not disrupt any plants or gravel in the tanks. No more heavy lifting and no more towels to catch all the spills. What used to take a couple hours now takes minutes. Also, can connect to any bathroom faucet or utility sink. LOVE IT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

python no spill

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from los angeles
handy and convenience, but might waste the reusable water
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Python No Spill Clean and Fill

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Alton, IL
I had one of these 20 years ago and it is still the great product that it was 20 years ago! I love this product! Petco had a very competative price online!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Python No Spill - No Hastle

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
The Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System works great (as advertised). Check all the fittings before you start (they will all be loose). Also for larger tanks with split tops, once you start don't lift suction out of water to move from side to side. The air bubble will affect suction capability.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, KS
This was definitely a worthy buy. All the parts felt like good quality items and not cheap or breakable. When I called the store they said they only carried the Aqueon and that's what they used in the store, but if for his personal use, he prefers the Python because it is better made and they have to replace the Aqueon now and then. Everything fit snugly and worked well. Two things to keep in mind, when you are draining your tank, the output of the water from the faucet plus the tank may be too much for your sink drain so you may have to stop occasionally depending how fast your sink can flow. Also beware of water castoff from when you're draining because of that water pressure. Around my sink got a little splattered from having it on full blast, so don't have anything around your sink you don't want splattered with dirty tank water, or don't use full power. Another thing is you may have to fill your tank up some more in order to keep draining and cleaning. I had a dirty tank with turtles in it that needed a complete clean so I gave it a full drain and still put more back in to wash and drain again. Keep in mind that you should NOT do that with a fish tank as the complete water swap could shock and kill them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never carry a bucket again

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
This is great. Lots of of siphoning power. You have to be careful not to take too much water out of your tank. Also small fish will be siphoned into the python if your not careful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from FL
I have a 75g tank and cleaning was always a problem cuz of water buckets and spills, plus the time it took. Now it is just plug and done, cleaned half tank plus filled it back in less than 15 minutes. i was concerned about the siphon pressure but it ended up being so so good. i should have bought this long ago, but now that i got it my back will finally rest.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

super tank cleaner

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Richmond,va
The Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium. Maintenance System works wonderful. It does a super job for the major cleanings and on spot cleanings. It majorly reduced the time and mess of cleaning my turtle aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Investment and Time Saver

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from St. Paul, MN
I recently bought this product as I have heard a lot about how easy it makes maintaining your aquarium. I have had my tank for over 5 years now and never wanted to fork over the funds to purchase one of these, don't ask me why. I took it out of the box and installed the adapter (which felt a little cheap) onto my faucet and cranked the water on. After about a minute of cleaning the tank i realized it was one of the best investments I have made. Not only was it a heck of a lot easier than lugging buckets around and breaking my back it saved me an hour of time. The other thing i like about it is that it does not displace substrate when you are filling the tank back up, since I have sand, waiting for it to settle before turning my filter back on took a while. We will see how long the parts last but in the meantime i am going to enjoy maintaining my tank a lot more, and the lady not complaining about how much time i spend with my hobby.
The only reason I did not rate 5 stars or paws it because the connections feel a little flimsy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Seminole, Florida
Awesome product, cannot understand why I haven't bought this before now - the quality of this product is excellent, better than it's competition. Since my purchase I have seen this product in use in many tropical fish stores, it is indispensable!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just buy it already!

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Fort Madison, IA
I debated about buying this for a while before I did it and boy, am I happy I did! If you have a large aquarium this will significantly improve your quality of life! No more buckets!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome tool!

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Colorado Springs, CO
This tool makes water changes and cleaning a breeze! And to update from previous reviews, I believe the company listened to customer concerns because the fitting for the sink I received was plastic with brass components. That seemed to be an issue from reviews that I had before purchasing. It looks like the company now ships the kit with a better upgraded fitting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should have got this long ago

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
This product has made me want to clean my fish tank! I set it up within minutes and it worked exactly as per the instructions. The model I received had a note in to say that the plastic connection ring had been upgraded to a metal one (I saw reviews that said the plastic version of this piece easily broke). The best gravel cleaner I have ever used - my tank looks brand new again and also makes it so easy to carry out water changes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>