petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food

Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food

Concentrated nutrition for dogs with active lifestylesProtein in this dry dog food supports healthy musclesPro Plan dog food with performance 30/20 formula – 30% protein, 20% fat Glucosamine and fatty acids support joint healthAntioxidants promote a healthy immune system
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
22 out of 24(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Review 1 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Specific food for sporting dog

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Santa Barbara, CA
I have given this special food to my working dogs and I have noticed an improvement in their performance.
I also noticed that I needed less quantity than previous other foods.
I would suggest this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pedro Bay, AK
dogs have expensive taste, this is one brand they are not picky with. I don't always buy it because it's a little on the spendy side.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My dogs love it!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Southaven, MS
My two pitbulls love Pro Plan period. This dog food is smaller than the regular Pro Plan and it doesn't have the chunks of meat in it, but they love it just the same.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProPlan Sport

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Eau Claire, WI
Excellent for our lab who loves to swim and romp for hours. He is all muscle. Very pleased with results with this food designed for a go-go dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Malinois LOVE this food

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orlando FL
I had been trying different foods trying to find one for my Malinois which are show dogs and working dogs, I had a hard time keeping weight on them and also finding a food they enjoyed eating. With Purina Pro Plan ALL my dogs enjoy food time and there is never any leftovers with this food. I feed the Performance food to all my dogs including my show dogs and my rescues. Since feeding I have seen a difference in their activity levels and their coats are luxurious and thick and their teeth are bright and no bad breath. I am very happy. My dogs are all house dogs and sleep in the bed yet they are working and performance dogs. I do frequently mix in the Pro Plan canned foods and am very happy with their quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good stuff

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bellevue, NE
I have reviewed and tried a number of high performance foods for my active Labrador and this stuff is great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great dog food!

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from South Texas
We have 3 very active hunting dogs and have had them on the Pro Plan Performance Sport for 2 years now - Initially switched to the Sport because we could not maintain their weight - too active and were too thin. Their coats are shiny, stools are firm and they love this food.
We also have a boarding kennel and when we have a dog who won't eat, we give them some of the Pro Plan (Sport or Savor) and they love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PPP Dog food of choice.

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Western Colorado
I've been feeding PPP for 8 years now to multiple bird dogs. The food has a good nutritional balance and is very palatable.
There is a low amount of filler and trash in PPP. This means you'll need to feed less than many other foods, which equates to more efficient feeding and less waste.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great dog food!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
My vizsla is definitely a performance dog that gets lots of exercise! We were having difficulty finding a dog food that kept her consistent.... and we found it! Have not had any problems for the past 6 months since we switched.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
I fed my pups Purna Pro Plan Performance from the time I brought them home at 9 weeks to the time I finally did my research. Comparing ingredients with other companies, I could get the same "quality" for a lower price. But, there is no quality. Most of the high protein that I was attracted to in the first place comes from corn gluten meal, rather than real meat protein. My boys are active hunting, trialing, working, performance dogs. On PPP they had awful coats and not-so-great stools. I finally switched from PPP's corn-heavy meat-lacking food to a higher quality and have not looked back since.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
8of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Performance dog food

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from massachusetts
The Purina Pro Plan has kept my hunting retrievers in good working condition season after season. The food is palatable, the dogs love it, and I love the convenience of my local Petco store. Thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very low grade food

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from rochester, NY
This food is NOT good. First ten ingredients:
Chicken, corn gluten meal, brewers rice, beef tallow preserved with mixed tocopherols (source of vitamin E), whole grain corn, poultry by-product meal, corn bran, fish meal, natural flavors, egg product,
Chicken: since it's not "meal" it's whole chicken, so it still has the water in it, which goes away when cooked. Ingredients are listed by weight, not volume, so chicken is NOT the main ingredient.
Corn gluten meal: the real first ingredient in the food.
Brewers rice: not great, and definitely not what you want as your second ingredient.
Beef Tallow: fat is the third ingredient.
Corn: second corn ingredient in the first ten
Poultry by-product meal: protein meal made of anything that isn't meat or bone. Not ideal.
--the chicken falls around here after it's been cooked
Corn bran: the third version of corn in the first ten
Fish meal: finally we have a good protein source!
flavors: who knows what this is
egg product: some part of the egg.
So, this food is mostly corn. With meat coming in around ingredient five or six. This is far from "good" food, it's barely even adequate food.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
14of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best food

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco
Have had German Shepherds since 1969..shedding, digestive and skin issues always a problem ..Have use Eukanuba PP, in the 1990's ..(terrible tartar constant dental cleaning) then Royal Canin GS.(dry coat, shedding).. . first tried ProPlan Shredded blends chicken.. my female coat was nice, she gained a bit of weight, my male coat got greasy and smelled strong. he got fat. Went to Performance for the hi Glucosamine, hi protein and fats and lo carb.... been using it for a year, the results are astounding.. no digestive issues, small firm stool, great coat, way less shedding. clean teeth..more energy, good for 12-15 mi bicycle runs.. THE BEST
The female is 9-yrs old,78lbs, the male 3-yrs 86lbs
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our dogs like this....

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Middletown, NY
It is an excellent quality, apparently tasty, All Life Stages food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Conn.
Wonderful dog food, the dog's coat shines!!!The vet recommended this food, they give it to their show dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this product

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from eau claire, wi
We love purina pro plan high energy formula for our english setter!!! She loves to run, & loves birds!!! This product makes her hair soft & healthy, & she gets plenty of protein, & nutrients. Every time we take her to the vet, they give her an A+ :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro Plan dog food

PostedApril 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Biloxi, MS
A Boxer girl, Abbey(Brindle), that I saved from a shelter had really bad gas & runny stools. Vet tested her, and nothing came up! This shelter had her on Science Diet, so I took her off of it!! It took almost 4 months, she has solid stools, no smelly gas, and healthy, too!! Now on her way to a forever home!! My Boxers will stay with Pro Plan Chicken Omega 3...
My other girl is Miss Purdy(11 mths)
Loving my Wiggle Butt Boxer Babys
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PRODUCT SEEMS TO WORK

PostedApril 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from brodheadsville pa.
I HAD TRIED SEVERAL TIMES THRU OUR VET TO FIND THE PROBLEM WITH MY AUSTRALIAN KELPIE HAVING DIARHEA PROBLEMS;;;SHE WAS GETTING PURINA DOG CHOW AND WAS FINE FOR 4 YRS;;THEN SHE MUST HAVE AQUIRED A SENSITIVE STOMACH FROM ALL THE THINGS SHE WOULD DEVOUR/CLEAN UP FROM FLOORS ETC;;;I DECIDED TO CHANGE HER DIET SEVERAL TIMES TO HOME COOKED RICE/CHICKEN AS SOON AS SHE WAS BACK ON THE DOG FOOD AFTER 3 OR 4 DAYS ,,DIARHEA AGAIN;;; I ORDERED PRO PLAN AND SO FAR I AM VERY PLEASED;;HER STOOLS ARE FIRMER SHE IS AGAIN REGULAR IN FACT HER BREATH HAS IMPROVED GREATLY IT WAS HORRIBLE BEFORE AND WHEN SHE POOPS THEY ARE FIRM AND LESS SMELLY;;;SEE PICTURE///DOG LAYING DOWN IS KING ROT/LAB/SHEP MIX AND A GOOD BOY!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vet was impressed!

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from West Des Moines, IA
We have been using the pro plan brand since our dog was a puppy. Once adult, we tried the performance plan and never looked back. Our lab-mix rescue dog is a wild child and definitely needs food that can keep up. She also competes in dog agility and dock dogs year round. Her muscles are nicely defined.
Anyway, at our last vet visit, the vet was genuinely impressed with my dog's weight and asked what we were feeding her. She seemed as if she hardly ever sees dogs with such perfect weight.
PS i wouldn't recommend the shredded foods by pro plan. My dog was always getting sick and puking.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pro Plan Sport All Life Stages Performance Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food for my working Malinois

PostedJanuary 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I have been feeding this food for some time now and love it. Stools solid and coats nice and shinny. I do police k-9 training and all of the dogs are on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>