petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter

One jug of Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter lasts up to eight weeksNo odorsNo more changing the litter boxAnd, you can scoop and flush the clumps!
Average Customer Rating:
3.76 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
17 out of 25(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Review 1 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Premium Choice flushable is the best

PostedFebruary 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
Cat Connoisseur
from Willoughby Hills, OH
I have been using this product for the past 5 years and have not found another litter product that controls odor for a longer time. The extra cost is worth the 2 to 3 times this product lasts without changing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Never quit selling this PLEASE

PostedFebruary 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
hooiserangel
This is the best litter ever and I have had Cats all my life. This is all I will ever use again. It flushes great! I have used it for over 4 years and have had no problems at all.*** Only complaint I have is it's a bit dusty***
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Could use better quality control

PostedFebruary 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
PicoStaff
I think the discrepancy in reviews for this product stem from poor quality control. I've been using this for about 2 years. When you get a good batch, it's really great, works completely as advertised - easy to scoop and flush (just don't put more than a couple of urine balls in the toilet at once). It is dusty, but not much more so than most cat litters I've used. Tracking for us is solved with a kitty mat out front. We cut down a lot on the cat generated dust by using a covered litter box. Our cat is picky and she loves this stuff.
The real problem with this comes when you get a bad batch. Over the past 2 years I've gotten 2 or 3 batches that don't work nearly as well. One barely clumped at all and had me seriously considering switching to something else. Happily, this has not happened in awhile so perhaps they've tightened things up. I'd give it a 5 if I knew that every batch would be good from here on out but I'm still a little concerned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stuff

PostedJune 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
BarbieAnn
from Bremerton, WA
This is the best litter I know of. It is sandy like regular litter. There are no sharp edges or strange odors to discourage my cats from using it like several others I have tried. My cat, Tassie, refused to use any other. She cried until I changed it. I am a senior citizen and it is invaluable to me to be able to FLUSH! Thank you!
You'll love it!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not so flushable

PostedApril 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
kittichick
from FL
This just doesn't flush very well in my experience. Of course, my cat is diabetic so he urinates *a lot* and so I may be putting greater demands on the litter than is typical. And I live in an apartment and my pluming system may not be great. I don't know. All I can say is that if I try to flush more tan one average clump at a time the toilet clogs.
Also, it tracks like mad and is really quite dusty.
On the positive side, it seems to clump reasonably well and I find the odor control to be adequate. And my cat really likes the fine texture.
Curiously I seem to have had the opposite experience with this litter than most of the other reviewers.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good litter

PostedApril 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
motherofspot
I tried some other types of litter but picky kitty would not use it, she prefers clumping clay type. She has no problems with this litter, and that makes me happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No So Great

PostedFebruary 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
katgirl
from Westchester, NY
The flushable part is exciting but everything else is lackluster...does not clump well so I've got urine bits all thru the box too small to retrieve. VERY DUSTY. Going to try Nature's Miracle next, the reviews are much more positive.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE THIS STUFF!

PostedDecember 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
loneshadow
from Illinois
I've been using Petco Flushable Scoopable cat litter for probably 15 years.
I can scoop and flush. How much easier could it be!
No bags hanging around with litter I've scooped and am waiting to pitch. Just flush it - like it should be.
Suggestions: For anyone who has found this litter to not clump hard enough. Well, it doesn't clump as hard as regular because it's flushable. BUT the way to remedy that is that (1) don't scoop the urine ball that has just been deposited ... it hasn't had time to get hard enough, and (2) when you scoop the urine balls, get way underneath them, push like you're shoveling, and lift them up. This way that stay together.
If you follow my suggestions, this will be your favorite scoopable litter ever!!!
Scoop - flush & relax!!! Happy scooping!!!
Loneshadow
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

extremely pleased

PostedNovember 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jengibre
Right now this is the best cat litter I have purchased. For me, finding a flushable litter was paramount. I live in an apt. building and I am sick of throwing away cat waste and filling up landfills. I scoop this litter and flush away.
This litter clumps well, and holds odor well. I used a different flushable litter about 5 years ago, and it didn´t clump at all. PRemium Choice flushable litter does a great job.
The only problem that I have with this litter is that it tracks--but then again, I have never found a scoopable litter that DOESNT track. SO i have to say that I will be purchasing this litter for a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

flushable that works

PostedOctober 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
klippersmom
I am disabled and can't lift heavy things - like used cat litter. I have a 2 bedroom apartment and keep the litter box in the tub/shower. The cats still kick some out of the box and onto the bathroom floor. I keep a little broom and dustpan and sweep it up often. I also just rinse the litter downthe tub. It flushes well. My cats wouldn't use the pine, sawdust, newspaper made flushable litters and some of them don't clump. I used to use the Arm & Hammer flushable but since it is off the market, I will use this. Price-wise, it is worth it at about $12. a jug.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No, no, no!

PostedOctober 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
dmiles
I purchased this for the conveinence of flushing. It is incredibly dusty and sticks to paws. I have two cats. One of them refused to use it but thankfully got as close to the box as she could. In addition, It has little to no odor control. I switched back to clay after three days.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

there is no beeter than this

PostedJuly 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Investigative
After 15 years of having indoor cats (more than 1 cat) I have used all liters in order to find the BEST odor control
and BEST flushability. PREMIUM CHOIICE FLUSHABLE RANKS #1.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Way too dusty

PostedApril 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Amazon
In my search for the best flushable cat litter, I came across this product. On one hand, it does absorb odors very well, and flushes with no problem. However, when you pour it, it gets very dusty. Living in a small apartment, with probably moderate ventilation, this was not acceptable, as I could feel the dust in the air throughout my whole apartment. However, if you have a big house, it may not be such a problem. Also, the dust tracked.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Suprised!

PostedNovember 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
Maosmom
from Temecula, CA
My cat has diabetes and goes quite often. I've tried many different brands and have always had an odor problem. Additionally, I live in a 55 and older apartment complex and have had to carry the waste to the trash often. Both my cat and I love the convenience of the flushability of your product. (He enjoys watching me while I clean his litter box and flush the clumps.)
The only problem I have encountered is the dust factor. Even that is not as bad as some products I have used in the past.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy This Cat litter

PostedAugust 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
CatLady1013
from Louisiana
Ok so I took a chance and thought I'd try buying this "flushable" litter, thinking I could save myself the trouble of scooping and bagging and filling up the garbage can with litter all the time. Well, I'm not even going to review on the flushability of this litter, because that's really not the problem. This cat litter is very poor quality. Not only does it cloud up with dust when you refill the litter box, but it does not clump well and also doesn't clump the cat urine. (And we all know how that can smell) Instead it soaks it up and smells absolutely horrible even after a recent litter change. It's just really not good cat litter. I had enough and immediently went back to using my Scoop Away. Scoop Away litter is by far the best, and I am not straying from it again. It clumps everything even the cat urine, and doesn't soak it up so it smells alot better after you scoop. I also add Arm and Hammer cat litter deodorizer and that works well too. This flushable litter is very poor quality and I will never buy it again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cuddles, Tiger, Pumpkin & Lucky say bring it on!

PostedJune 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
Cat Lover - 4 Cats
from Florida
They love the way it clumps (Mom does too). And the flushable convenience is grrrreat, so Mom says. Less tracking then other brands we have tried too. We are very happy with Premium Coice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter. (And the bathroom never smells because Mom takes our clumps and flushes).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Flushability Is the Best Part

PostedMay 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
Owned by 2 Cats
from Chicago, IL
I really like that I can flush this litter--I have been flushing it for a year now with no plumbing problems. Best of all is that when you flush it, you flush away the smell too. My cats like that it is fragrance-free since they won't use the litters that contain added fragrance. I don't agree with other reviewers who say it doesn't clump well; I am happy with its clumping. My only complaint is that Premium Choice is dusty. If it weren't so dusty, I'd give it 5 stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST CAT LITTER EVER MADE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedMay 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
nyccatlover
from new york, ny
This is the best cat litter I have ever used in my life. I have two cats and I use one jug of cat litter and it lasts for a whole month. it doesnt smell at all, can be scooped and flushed down the toilet and doesnt make a mess. I sware by this and will use this forever!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not good at all...

PostedMay 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jeff
from Hollywood, CA
We switched from Fresh Step to this product and not only did this litter not contain odor well at all, but the clumps fall right apart and through the scooper. I do no recommend this product at all and may go back to non flushable. Only plus is that it hasn't clogged up the toilet, YET!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Premium Choice Flushable Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Arm & Hammer is better!!

PostedJanuary 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
(No name)
from New Hampshire
This was the first litter we ever tried. It really doesn't clump well. Most of the clumps would break up and fall through the scoop before I could get it to the toilet. Also, it did not stop the smeel very well. We switched to flushable Arm & Hammer, and couldn't be happier. It clumps better, and since it is Arm & Hammer....no smell.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>