petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Original Sherpa

The Original Sherpa

The original and best soft-sided small dog carriers approved for on-board use by most major airlinesAirline Approved Pet Carrier fits comfortably under airplane seatsAdjustable shoulder strap doubles as a leashNo hassle, easy travelingParticipation in the Guaranteed On Board program guarantees Sherpa carriers meet an airline's specific rules and regulations and will be allowed on board
Average Customer Rating:
4.431 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
5 stars
71
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
92 out of 102(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Original Sherpa
Review 1 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Product

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
RONSDOE
from BAKERSFIELD, CA
I bought this carrier for my mini Dachshund for a plane ride to a different state. The absorbent pad for your dog to lay on is very soft, The carrier itself has many zippers to hold your dogs personal things in (Leash, Treats etc.) and the easy access from the top makes it easy for you to handle your dog when needed. I would 100% recommend this carrier to a pet owner
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very versatile

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
HisHighness
from Redding, CA
I have 4 assorted carriers for my Chi, each w/its own purpose. This is the most versatile of them. It's lightweight, can be secured easily w/car seatbelts, is small enoughfor me to carry and fits into other types of carriers such as shopping carts. Haven't tried it on an airplane yet but from what I've heard about these from a couple of friends it's ideal for that too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great quality and price

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
doxiemom18
from arizona
I purchased this bag in brown and pink in-store and it was on sale for only $15. It's much better quality than the bag I used to have and my 6 lbs dachshund fits very comfortably in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't believe 22 pounds

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
MAGWAG
from Chicago area
Sherpa is a well built product but don't believe that it will house a 22 pound pet. It seems tight for my 15 lb. terrier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Original Sherpa carrier

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Luv2Brag
from Corvallis, Or
Product meets my expectations and I am pleased with it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sherpa is always top quality

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Adoptadorable
from Atlanta GA
I have another Sherpa for travel purposes, with roll down shade feature, and this time I wanted a softer sided one for taking my 6.5lb poodle mix with me on a regular basis. The Original is only a bit softer than the first one I purchased, so I returned it for the very soft sided collapsible (into blanket) washable model with the animal print interior. This was better suited for my needs. Sherpa always makes a top notch product and I I highly recommend the brand and Petco, where returns are always easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

too small

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
SpikeinMedford
from Greater Boston
This product was advertised as fitting dogs up to 22 pounds, but it was so small it wasn't even worth trying to get our 21-pound mini-schnauzer into it. We took it out of the box, looked at it, looked at the dog, and shook our heads.
Had it been close, but just a little small, I would have understood. After all, he is close to the weight limit. But, it wasn't close, not at all. I wouldn't even try this for any dog more than 15 pounds.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mollie loves it

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Love2shop247
from Waco, TX
In deciding which carrier to purchase for our dog to travel with us during the holiday was a bit of a challenge. We went from store to stor to see what was offered and Petco had a big assortment of carriers. Mollie jumped from one to another. The Sherpa carrier is lightweight and meets all airline regulations for travel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ready to Travel

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
frenchieluv22
from Milwaukee, WI
This was perfect for my frenchie. He fit comfortably in the carried and it fit great on the plane. Durable material. He seemed to like the lining inside as well. overall great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality!

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
dogstrolling
from SC
I am very impressed with the quality of this product! I ordered one size larger for my Papillon and I'm glad I did to account for her tall ears! Still working on training her to go in it :-) I recommend buying it several weeks before you plan to use it to get your dog used to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Original Sherpa - small size carrier

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luvsndiego
from Brussels, Belgium / Wildomar, California
Sherpa has a great product! Light, but very well made. The small carrier fits easily under the airline seat. My little girl was almost too big for the small, but the airline wouldn't accept a larger carrier. (I already have the medium size Sherpa). She was still able to turn around and rest comfortably in it for the long flight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The original Sherpa

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
bjpoppie
from Glendale, AZ
We have 2 6 month old kittens. We bought one of the units and left both doors open. I place one of my dirty t shirts in it to allow them to familiarize. They played in it with no problem. When we bought them the cats were small. We put both kittens in the one carrier, zipped it closed and carried them around in it for a short period with no problems. Now at 6 months we had to buy another because of the size of the kittens. We did the same familiarization technique with the new one. This weekend we went on a 60 mile trip and the cats were fine until we hit the freeway. A whole hour of crying. Then the return trip. It was the same. When we got home, we opened the units and they played in them. Must be the car.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality product

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
SJH1
from Marathon, FL
Very nice , quality product and built strong! I have nothing more to say ! Just this review program makes you write more in order to submit anything? So, All and all it gets the job done.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Allegiant airline acceptable

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
MomTom
from Indiana
This was a great item for my 18 pound beagle to travel in on her first airline flight. The sides are mesh/vented so she didn't feel closed in. I purchased the large carrier and it fit under the airline seat ahead of me. She slept pretty much the whole trip. When she got a little restless in the airport I carried the bag over my shoulder easily with the straps and that made her relax before boarding. The airport had no problem letting my dog travel in this carrier. Make sure to check with each airline on the regulations and pricing to travel with a pet. This bag DID make it an awesome trip !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
27of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

can fit both of my cats

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
jkerb
from lakewood
I bought this to downsize from the medium dog crate used to use. My cats get anxiouse if they aren't riding in the same kennel together, and this is perfect for them.
It does make it heavy to carry, but I only use it when I go to the vet or travel for holidays.
Great deal, was on sale for the green and tan color only, and I think it is a nice color.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cat carrier

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
BIslander
from Bainbridge Island, WA
We purchased two of these and have used them a couple of times so far. The top and side entry make it easy to get cats in/out. Easy to carry and the cats can see out instead of inside a closed area. So far, working well!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional and Cute!

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
ZillaDog
I have the green one for my dog, and it has a lot of useful pockets/straps but still looks stylish! I love that it has both the top and side openings. Well worth the investment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product overall

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
dynamitediva
from Los Angeles,CA
I bought Medium sized carrier in red for my 8.5lb cat. He was able to lie down comfortably and he could get up and turn around in it without a problem. That being said, my cat is not a fan of carriers in general, but I'm able to get him used to it really quickly and he sits there and keeps quiet.
I've brought the cat in the cabin of a plane with me and on an Air Canada flight, it doesn't fit under the seat because of the life jacket compartment that was in the way of every seat. So luckily I was placed in the last row of the plane, it was impossible to have him and my feet on the same seat, so I had 2 seats.
He's also tried to scratch his ways out but the carrier is sturdy. Used it a few times and works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Product Wrong Color

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
BudFriday
from Greenville, NC
Although I love the product, I am very disappointed that I did not receive the red color I requested. I could have purchased the black cheaper at another site but not the red one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Original Sherpa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sherpa

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
PLinOKC
from Oklahoma City, OK
Excellent product. A little bit pricey but worth it because it is well constructed and made from quality material
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>