petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers

The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers

The original and best soft-sided dog carriers approved for on-board use by most major airlinesAirline Approved Pet Carrier fits comfortably under airplane seatsAdjustable shoulder strap doubles as a leashNo hassle, easy travelingParticipation in the Guaranteed On Board program guarantees Sherpa carriers meet an airline's specific rules and regulations and will be allowed on board
Average Customer Rating:
4.453 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(117 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
5 stars
83
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
6
107 out of 117(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
60 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Review 1 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dog Carrier

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis
This is a great dog carrier. I go back and fourth to Florida a couple times a year with my dog under the seat. The carrier fits well.
I do have an issue with the zipper on top. I have had to replace it 3 times because my dog chews it on the plane. Maybe a medal zipper would be a better choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is our 5th! Definitely better than hard plastic!

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from SoCal
These are the best carriers! Top opening makes even a visit to the vet less difficult! Being soft is a lot easier to handle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice

PostedJuly 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Bought 2 of these to take my cats on a trip. They are well made, have a soft cushion that won't slide, sides & front are mesh--well vented, & they can enter from the top or the front.
Heven't left for the trip yet but left them out for the cats to get used to. They sleep in them all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Carrier

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
I purchased this to take my uncooperative cat to her vet appointments. Loved the easy access and the fact that it was light weight. It worked well and I was able to belt her into the back seat of the car. The plush bottom and see through sides are an added bonus. Am very pleased with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sherpa works

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from miami, florida
I have had the sherpa carriers for the last 10 years while I travel with my dog...but this one is truly the best. It's plushly lined, doesn't have the hanging lead that it used to, and is quilted in all the right places. The pocket is larger than my previous one so I have plenty of room to store dog clothes as well as leads etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice

PostedJune 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Vienna, VA
These carries are very well made and have the ventalation that every pet needs. My old carriers were falling apart, and with the coupon and free shipping it made them very affordable. I have three cats, largest is 13lbs, and there is plenty of room in them for the cats to be confortable. love the fleese on the bottom and that it can be taken out and cleand when needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality carrier

PostedJune 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Edinburg, TX
This product seems perfect for my 15lb Terrier. The carrier is true to size and and durable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality but misleading size guidelines

PostedApril 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
Quality travel kennel but the Large indicates it carries pets up to 22 ilbs. Do not go by that guideline as it's misleading. My small breed Boston terroir puppy is 7 lbs and already is outgrowing it. Use the dimensions for proper sizing. Would return the carrier for s larger one but I don't see where there is an XL.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Carrier

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
I got the largest carrier size available (up to 22 lbs) and have only used it once so far. The bottom of the carrier is pleasantly soft and probably could be fine if you your pet just put straight into the carrier. In case of accidents I did get a blanket to put down in it, though, for easier cleaning just in case. I like the option of the seatbelt strap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great travel crate

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from California
one I received was too small...upgraded to 22 inch and am very happy with the Sherpa
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very light weight but strong material

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wilsonville, OR
Perfect and very light, the size required by airlines, my dog flies international every month and this is the second time we buy this bag - the old one did some 50 flights and would still do if my Beagle had not bitten the zipper out of boredom on a 10 hour Transatlantic flight. There is no better bag!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't go wrong with this

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
The top and front loading openings are great for when the cats are fussy. The removable fleece is really helpful when the kitty gets nervous and makes a little mess. Better than a hard carrier because it has a shoulder strap and can be carried longer distances which is useful when I'm taking the subway to the vet. Also, it is more discreet than a hard carrier and attracts less attention.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sherpa Travel Carrier

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Green Valley, AZ
Very well made and I am sure our dog will be fine in it when we travel by air this summer. Since it is the larger size we plan to go the airlines ahead of time to make sure it is approved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product has great features

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from pa
I haven't used it yet, but its very well made. Overall big difference from the plastic crate. This is more cozy for my cats trips to the vet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits under airplane seat

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from WDC
My dog is 14 pounds but he is long, so I was worried about this bag fitting under the seat on the plane. Yippee...it fit. Carrier is sturdy and not too heavy, I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Product

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from BAKERSFIELD, CA
I bought this carrier for my mini Dachshund for a plane ride to a different state. The absorbent pad for your dog to lay on is very soft, The carrier itself has many zippers to hold your dogs personal things in (Leash, Treats etc.) and the easy access from the top makes it easy for you to handle your dog when needed. I would 100% recommend this carrier to a pet owner
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very versatile

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Redding, CA
I have 4 assorted carriers for my Chi, each w/its own purpose. This is the most versatile of them. It's lightweight, can be secured easily w/car seatbelts, is small enoughfor me to carry and fits into other types of carriers such as shopping carts. Haven't tried it on an airplane yet but from what I've heard about these from a couple of friends it's ideal for that too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great quality and price

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from arizona
I purchased this bag in brown and pink in-store and it was on sale for only $15. It's much better quality than the bag I used to have and my 6 lbs dachshund fits very comfortably in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't believe 22 pounds

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago area
Sherpa is a well built product but don't believe that it will house a 22 pound pet. It seems tight for my 15 lb. terrier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Original Sherpa carrier

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Corvallis, Or
Product meets my expectations and I am pleased with it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>