petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers

The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers

The original and best soft-sided dog carriers approved for on-board use by most major airlinesAirline Approved Pet Carrier fits comfortably under airplane seatsAdjustable shoulder strap doubles as a leashNo hassle, easy travelingParticipation in the Guaranteed On Board program guarantees Sherpa carriers meet an airline's specific rules and regulations and will be allowed on board
Average Customer Rating:
4.436 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(110 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 110 reviews
5 stars
77
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
6
100 out of 110(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Review 1 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality but misleading size guidelines

PostedApril 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
Quality travel kennel but the Large indicates it carries pets up to 22 ilbs. Do not go by that guideline as it's misleading. My small breed Boston terroir puppy is 7 lbs and already is outgrowing it. Use the dimensions for proper sizing. Would return the carrier for s larger one but I don't see where there is an XL.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Carrier

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
I got the largest carrier size available (up to 22 lbs) and have only used it once so far. The bottom of the carrier is pleasantly soft and probably could be fine if you your pet just put straight into the carrier. In case of accidents I did get a blanket to put down in it, though, for easier cleaning just in case. I like the option of the seatbelt strap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great travel crate

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from California
one I received was too small...upgraded to 22 inch and am very happy with the Sherpa
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very light weight but strong material

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wilsonville, OR
Perfect and very light, the size required by airlines, my dog flies international every month and this is the second time we buy this bag - the old one did some 50 flights and would still do if my Beagle had not bitten the zipper out of boredom on a 10 hour Transatlantic flight. There is no better bag!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't go wrong with this

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
The top and front loading openings are great for when the cats are fussy. The removable fleece is really helpful when the kitty gets nervous and makes a little mess. Better than a hard carrier because it has a shoulder strap and can be carried longer distances which is useful when I'm taking the subway to the vet. Also, it is more discreet than a hard carrier and attracts less attention.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sherpa Travel Carrier

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Green Valley, AZ
Very well made and I am sure our dog will be fine in it when we travel by air this summer. Since it is the larger size we plan to go the airlines ahead of time to make sure it is approved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product has great features

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from pa
I haven't used it yet, but its very well made. Overall big difference from the plastic crate. This is more cozy for my cats trips to the vet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits under airplane seat

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from WDC
My dog is 14 pounds but he is long, so I was worried about this bag fitting under the seat on the plane. Yippee...it fit. Carrier is sturdy and not too heavy, I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Product

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from BAKERSFIELD, CA
I bought this carrier for my mini Dachshund for a plane ride to a different state. The absorbent pad for your dog to lay on is very soft, The carrier itself has many zippers to hold your dogs personal things in (Leash, Treats etc.) and the easy access from the top makes it easy for you to handle your dog when needed. I would 100% recommend this carrier to a pet owner
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very versatile

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Redding, CA
I have 4 assorted carriers for my Chi, each w/its own purpose. This is the most versatile of them. It's lightweight, can be secured easily w/car seatbelts, is small enoughfor me to carry and fits into other types of carriers such as shopping carts. Haven't tried it on an airplane yet but from what I've heard about these from a couple of friends it's ideal for that too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great quality and price

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from arizona
I purchased this bag in brown and pink in-store and it was on sale for only $15. It's much better quality than the bag I used to have and my 6 lbs dachshund fits very comfortably in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't believe 22 pounds

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago area
Sherpa is a well built product but don't believe that it will house a 22 pound pet. It seems tight for my 15 lb. terrier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Original Sherpa carrier

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Corvallis, Or
Product meets my expectations and I am pleased with it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sherpa is always top quality

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta GA
I have another Sherpa for travel purposes, with roll down shade feature, and this time I wanted a softer sided one for taking my 6.5lb poodle mix with me on a regular basis. The Original is only a bit softer than the first one I purchased, so I returned it for the very soft sided collapsible (into blanket) washable model with the animal print interior. This was better suited for my needs. Sherpa always makes a top notch product and I I highly recommend the brand and Petco, where returns are always easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

too small

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Greater Boston
This product was advertised as fitting dogs up to 22 pounds, but it was so small it wasn't even worth trying to get our 21-pound mini-schnauzer into it. We took it out of the box, looked at it, looked at the dog, and shook our heads.
Had it been close, but just a little small, I would have understood. After all, he is close to the weight limit. But, it wasn't close, not at all. I wouldn't even try this for any dog more than 15 pounds.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
13of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mollie loves it

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Waco, TX
In deciding which carrier to purchase for our dog to travel with us during the holiday was a bit of a challenge. We went from store to stor to see what was offered and Petco had a big assortment of carriers. Mollie jumped from one to another. The Sherpa carrier is lightweight and meets all airline regulations for travel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ready to Travel

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
This was perfect for my frenchie. He fit comfortably in the carried and it fit great on the plane. Durable material. He seemed to like the lining inside as well. overall great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality!

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from SC
I am very impressed with the quality of this product! I ordered one size larger for my Papillon and I'm glad I did to account for her tall ears! Still working on training her to go in it :-) I recommend buying it several weeks before you plan to use it to get your dog used to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Original Sherpa - small size carrier

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Brussels, Belgium / Wildomar, California
Sherpa has a great product! Light, but very well made. The small carrier fits easily under the airline seat. My little girl was almost too big for the small, but the airline wouldn't accept a larger carrier. (I already have the medium size Sherpa). She was still able to turn around and rest comfortably in it for the long flight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Original Sherpa Dog Carriers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The original Sherpa

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Glendale, AZ
We have 2 6 month old kittens. We bought one of the units and left both doors open. I place one of my dirty t shirts in it to allow them to familiarize. They played in it with no problem. When we bought them the cats were small. We put both kittens in the one carrier, zipped it closed and carried them around in it for a short period with no problems. Now at 6 months we had to buy another because of the size of the kittens. We did the same familiarization technique with the new one. This weekend we went on a 60 mile trip and the cats were fine until we hit the freeway. A whole hour of crying. Then the return trip. It was the same. When we got home, we opened the units and they played in them. Must be the car.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>