petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nylabone Galileo Bone

Nylabone Galileo Bone

Durable dog chew is ideal for determined power chewersDog bones satisfy your dog’s natural instinct to chewEncourages safe, healthy chewing habitsCompletely safe for your dogHelps keep teeth and gums strong
Average Customer Rating:
4.603 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
54 out of 58(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Review 1 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Money I ever spent!

PostedApril 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
Reilly's Mom
from Detroit, MI
My Lab/Beagle is an extremely strong chewer (he chewed through a Kong!) and this is the ONLY chew toy he hasn't gone through in a couple hours/days! Reilly has had his Galileo for over 6 months now and has barely chewed one knuckle off...It is his favorite bone! He takes it everywhere...outside, camping, bed, etc. Best investment I've made on a bone or toy!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
ALBERT22
from Cypress, Texas
Go and buy one is the best. Koko loves it!
Dont wait more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Powerful Chewers

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
BLAAAAASK
I have a scottie that constantly chews at night before bedtime and she has destroyed many tough chew bones in the matter of minutes. I've had a difficult time finding something that will last at least a month before needing replacement, as she's an extremely powerful chewer. The Galileo is an excellent choice. It has been about a month and though she has destroyed both ends of it, it's still at a point where it doesn't need replacing. If your dog goes through chew bones quickly, I think you'll like this toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rescued1
from Chicago, IL
I wish they still carried these in the stores I have a large lab and a medium sized pit mix and not only do they both love these they are just about the only toy they do not destroy in 5 minutes. May seem pricey but they last almost 6 months and beat buying new furniture instead!!!!! Money well spent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
jlws
from Danville, KY
We have had several of these bones and continue to buy new ones. Although one would expect a Lab to be gentle, when it comes to their chewing, they are more vigorous and strong than any other breed I have seen. Any other type of "tough" chew we have tried has been completely gone in an hour or so. While these have been gnawed down, it takes a year or so to accomplish. This continues to be a favorite for our family and, more importantly, our dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, but please make them larger soon!

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
taranchula
from Bronx, NY
So it seems this is the largest of the tougher nylabones, and the largest. We have tried everything and these last the longest, but only a month or two maximum and that is with limiting playtime with it. Its sure tough, but if they could just make it a little larger, it would last longer and be a better value. Some dogs really can destroy any toy, this one included. best so far. Wait for the sales. here is a picture after 2 weeks limited use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nylabone Galileo Bone Great For Labs!

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
LabradorforLife
from St. Louis, MO
I have 2 labs and almost every bone they get their teeth on is destroyed within a few days. The Nylabone Galileo Bone is one of two toys I get them due to its durability and strength! It works well keeping their teeth clean and the tiny slivers won't hurt their digestive tract! The large one lasts my 18 month a good 2-3 months and I just purchased a giant Galileo that could take him 4-6 months to chew down. I would highly recommend this product for aggressive chewers ~ like labradors!I would recommend this to a friend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for strong chewers, read directions

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rand0m1
from Phoenix
Our lab-mix puppies are very strong chewers, but a little small for labs (55#) - so the Souper is just about right for them. At first, I was concerned it wouldn't last with all the little ridges created - but after reading the directions found that is expected behavior - those are supposed to help clean the teeth, and they might work. Small pieces DO come off, about rice sized or smaller, so it'll eventually be destroyed, but it has taken longer than ANY other chew toy we've tried - lasting well longer than the white real bones. It IS very heavy - and HURTS when they drop it on your feet. But given the durability, worth the expense - and pain!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality chew toy

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
vicmd
from texas
The Galileo bones are the best I have found, short of a real bone, for our power chewers. They can gnaw thru a regular Nylabone inside of a week, but the Galileo bones last for months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Both dogs are in love!

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kath1311
from San Jose, CA
These Galileo bones are amazing! Rather than breaking off into pieces, the bone is designed to flake off and passes through the system safely, so I've found they can be chewed longer without choking risks. My dog Baby is a strong chewer, and she not only loves these, but her teeth are cleaner and her breath smells better as a result. If your Vet. is recommending a tooth cleaning, I would suggest trying these first. Saved me a lot of money.
My other dog Daisy has teeth deformities due to having Distemper as a puppy, and as a result only has small teeth in the front and a few molars in the back. I would say her chewing needs are comparable to teething. She too enjoys this bone, because she can chew it with the few teeth she has, and it feels good on her gums.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lunaaa
from Narnia, CA
This was a little pricey for the size I got, but it's perfect for my 3 month old teething pit bull. She will tear any other toy apart, but loves to chew on this bone all day long and I can already tell it's going to last her a really long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST DEVOUR-FREE BONE!!!!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
CrazyAnimalLover
I have a larger sized Boston Terrier. Actually, didn't know they came that big! He will devour anything, even other bones that are made for tough chewers. But he loves this bone. He will chew and chew for hours and the other best feature is I don't have to worry about it splintering. They advertise it as tiny shavings that may come off. It is very safe and lasts. The reason I need to order more is because he has hidden them somewhere. I'm thinking somewhere mysteriously in one of the couches!
You won't be sorry.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long lasting

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Greenbean08
My lab mixes, one who is a pretty aggressive chewer, gnaw on these regularly, I tested them with the smaller size when the dogs were younger (when one of my current dogs & her sister were pups) and then purchased the largest size. The big ones lasted probably 4-5 years with pretty regular use. They chewed them down to just a couple inches long. We have had the current set for a couple years now andf my current chewer works on them quite often, with a little help now and then from the older dog. The only downside is when the little flecks of nylon that he chews off manage to get stuck in my socks. :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommend for heavy chewers

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
LabMama71
from Ohio
I bought several of these for my lab (70 lbs, English build) who went through a heavy chewing phase when he was younger. We bought the large and it was perfect for him. These were the only "bones" that withstood his destructive, heavy, strong, non-stop chewing. They kept him occupied for hours. Some suggestions, get the right size for your dog - don't get a large if you have a medium sized dog. And if your dog looks like he's going to drop it at your feet, move out of the way! Buy this for your heavy chewer. It's worth the money, you won't regret it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Chew Toy

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
LarryandMaria
from Auburn, AL
My wife and I had two labs that we got as puppies in 1999, we soon found out what aggressive chewers they were and we got frustrated spending money on chew toys that they destroyed within minutes. We bought a Galileo bone and have since not bought anything else. Yes they were more expensive initially to buy but over the long run they were by far the most economical chew toy we found. Those dogs would chew on them for hours a day and we kept the bones for months, just let them chew on it till it gets small enough where they could swallow it. Both our labs passed on in 2011 and we got 2 new ones plus my daughter adopted a beagle/terrier mix and the 3 of them fight over the bones now. If your dog chews, get this. A lot cheaper then replacing your furniture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Chew Toy

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
CampswithDogs
from Philadelphia, PA
I have two 60 pound chewing machines. They destroy every toy we bring home within hours. We've had 2 galileo bones for a year now, and they are in rough and ragged shape, but they are still around. And still a favorite.
Just keep an eye out, our one will chew for hours, and his lips will get a little red with irritation. Also, watch your toes, tripping over these things will leave a mark!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Chew Bone EVER!!!

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
BossHogg76
from Plano, TX
I bought one of these for my pitbull 6 years ago. It had stood the test of time. Just got a new one for him so he can have a smooth one to start over with. Saves all your toys that will be destroyed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very durable

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
MIDogs
from MI
Our 3 dogs all love these bones, and our husky and Dane mixes take months to chew through them. This is our standard Christmas gift for the boys!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great!

PostedJune 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Paige223
from West Springfield, MA
We bought this for our 10 month old mastiff puppy, who has since gone to Rainbow Bridge. This thing was the only toy that would stand up to his chewing! But beware, these can break tile if they're dropped hard enough, and make a great doggie weapon, as we found out. Totally worth it though! Lasted forever, and no big chunks came off :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nylabone Galileo Bone
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

You have to be kidding!

PostedMarch 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Fayetteville, ar
For powerful chewers??! HA!! This product was a joke!
Our dogs had it coming apart in chunks in 10 minutes! This product was a very extreme disappointment. Would never recommend it to owners with actual power chewers dogs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>