petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters

Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters

Maintain a crystal clear, healthy aquarium with the Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Aquarium FilterActivated carbon filter that features three-stage filtration system with mechanical, chemical, and biological filtration in one reliable and easy-to-maintain unitEffectively removes odors, discoloration and waste along with removing nitrite and ammonia
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(259 Reviews) 259
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 259 reviews
5 stars
144
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
20
1 star
38
195 out of 258(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 59 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Review 1 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Power Filter

PostedDecember 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
from North Bend, WA
I just purchased the 150 filter and it is great! By far the best filter I've had. Great quality, attractive and quiet. I also like that the bottom "arm" that sucks the water up has very fine plastic mesh. I breed guppies and swordtails and this is great because it won't suck up the babies! Overall, great filter. Looks great, sounds great, and keeps the water and fish healthy (and the water crystal clear!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+41points
44of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Penguin filter.

PostedJuly 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from High Ridge, MO
I have always had good luck with Marineland aquatic products. This is an upgrade from my Penguin 170 that quit working after 15 yrs. The Penguin 200 has the option to use 2 cartridges instead of one, it is more powerful than the 170 ever was. The waterfall splashing from the return is a bit noisy, so if it is in your bedroom, you may have to unplug it at night if you can't sleep. I got used to it though. I would recommend this product or any Penguin filter system, they seem to work good. One other thing, the splash guards do not fit well, it has two: one to cover the top and one to cover the biowheel. I could only get one or the other to fit snuggly, but not both at the same time. I just have the top guard on and not the bio wheel guard, it does not splash water outside of the tank with out the bio wheel guard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

product came broken

PostedJune 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Indianola,IA
did not fit,came in broken, just didn't like it.Had one before and lasted on abour 5 months
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice product

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I like the Marineland filter, it has kept my tanks extremely clean, they are crystal clear.
the only downside I feel there is is that they are on the noisy side. Meaning the water that goes back into the tank.
Otherwise, great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool as a Pengiun

PostedApril 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fields Landing, CA
I recently purchased the Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filter to filter my 80 gallon Cichlid tank. I had the same filter for years until it finally broke and so I decided since it gave me so many good years of service I would try and get the exact one again. It is quiet and powerful, keeps my fish happy and healthy and hopefully it will last me the same amount of time if not longer than my original one did!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

good filter BUT TOO LOUD!

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from stockton, ca
I was like, is this a joke? I purchased the model 150 bio for my new 29 sgallon saltwater tank, but after trying it out, I'm absolutely returning it. We have it set up in our bedroom, and it's extremely loud. The motor makes a loud spinning or vibrating sound. The water fall sound is also very loud even though we had the water filled all the way up. My husband hates it, because we tried running for a night and both couldn't sleep at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product keeps tanks clean

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis
The filters are really efficient and they keep my aquarium very clean. They are very quiet and I would buy this product again and also recommend it to others, that have fish tanks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This producing has great features , st rong and very quiet . I love it

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CA
This one is very good product running very quiet and strong I give five-star but this one I am happy to get this and it will tell my friend to get this one too thank you PETCO your guys help me get this very reasonable price thanks again
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not the best filter out there

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I want to preface this review by saying that in the last 3 years, I've bought 5 marineland biowheel filters: two 350b, one 200b, and two 100b. They are one of the cheapest filters around (price wise) and there are often rebates making them even cheaper. There is a your first clue right there. Why would a company almost give away their filter? Because just as razor blades are the real money maker for Gillete, not the razor, the cartridges are the real money maker for marineland. Once you buy one of these biowheels, you need to buy cartridges - there's no other option for media really due to the design of the filter and the cartridges only last 2 weeks tops. Now, I'm not talking about the carbon only being activated for two weeks. IF it were just that, I would leave the cartridge in longer the cartridge itself, the floss and the back start to restrict water flow to the biowheel after a week. You need to either constantly scrub them and powerwash them to replace them. There is a tiny amount of carbon compared to their competitors, so if you do want carbon in your filtration, you have to buy the cartridges for that reason and the cartridges are expensive unless you only have on tank and buy in bulk.
However, that's not the worst part of these filters (I'm currently running 3 of the 5 - two have been retired for the following reason). The biowheels stop spinning a lot - just google it - it's the number one problem wit this design. Unless the filter is completely clean with good water flow from cartridge, the biowheel stops flowing. On my 350b, it happens all the time and it's the reason I threw away the 200b. Sure, you can clean the impeller and powerwash everything and it will start up again, but boy oh boy do I wish I bought another brand 3 years ago when I started the hobby.
This filter does have advantages over my preferred brand: aquaclear - two or three of them that I can see. IT's more powerful and gives better water flow - therefore, it self-primes easier. If your power goes out, the filter will easily self-prime. They also have a better intake tube (smaller holes) than aquaclear, better for fry or kuhlis or other fish that could get caught. Bottom line, I have two 100bs on beta's in 10 gallons and they work great (with a filter baffle) but I would never recommend this brand for a larger community tank (And I use if for a larger community tank. Think about the design: now, imagine you need to add meds (and you will have to add meds at some point in the hobby). how do you get the carbon out? You need to cut the floss and spend half an hour rinsing out the carbon (nightmare). Think about the design: say you want to use purigen instead of carbon or some other filter media. how would you do that? The biowheels are a nice idea and the flow is great for fish like mollies that like a powerful current, but overall, I can not recommend this filter and it's rated #2 after aqua clear for a reason.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
14of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Power Filter

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from omaha, ne
Love it.. does the job well and is a great filter at a great price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

wast of money

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from south glens falls ny
never had a filter go through so many filters yet the tank be dirty . the Bio wheel just stop working and when you call marineland they tell you it must be clog and isnt taking in/ pushing enough water ( lack of power ) this happens all the time . 1st off its not clog i have only had it 2 months and went through 8 filters and had to take it apart over 20 times to try and fix it .. please dont wast your money on this ...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Quality

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St Louis MO
I had the old model years ago. And it was a dependable work horse. This one has been running for a couple of weeks and the new model looks to be the same good quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from seattle, wa
Had to get the more powerful filter due to my tank size. No way to change the flow rate so there is a strong current in my tank now. Wish I could turn it down. Top of the filter is tricky to put together and comes apart too easily. The cats are going to have a field day with this. Not as quiet as the filter I had before. If not for these issues I'd give it a 5.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A+

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
Great product at a great price with lightning fast free shipping...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Quiet Filter!

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from LaGrange, GA
This filter is very quiet and keeps water sparkling. Very Impressed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good power

PostedMay 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Delray Beach FL
Put it on a 29g tank instead of bio wheel 150 and another small filter. Keeps water clear and is super quiet. Even though this filter is recommended for up to 70g, it is my experience that it is better to have a filter that is rated for twice the number of gallons. Would rather have double the power than not enough.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good filter wouldn't use In a bedroom setting

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cambridge, MN
It comes with the extension tubing which reaches more than halfway down our 39 gallon hexagon so that was a definite bonus. It also has a slot for a extra filter catridge which we will be adding eventually because as you take the old one out all the junk ends up in the tank and will just rinse it off as needed. I also like that the bio wheel is out of the way when changing the cartridges. On the downside this thing is huge so if you are searching for slim this may not be for you. It is a bit noisy in my opinion, I wouldn't personally use it in a bedroom unless that doesn't bother you it does fine in our living room. This filter really moves the water around and our guppies love to swim in the current for a while
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Filters

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Grand Island NE
I have had good luck with most of my Marineland filters. They are easy and they work good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
I had the 150 and now a 100 model that have both failed, the BioWheel stalls out often even if the unit is cleaned, the impellers are noisy, the first 150 kept stalling due to a warped impeller assembly, the other one makes a terrible grinding noise. I would not recommend this product. Go for something different and save yourself the headache. They used to be good, but quality has suffered.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works good but...

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from WI
It seems to be filtering good. I have 2 filters inside it which restrict the flow a little so some water comes out of the overflow part. The filter it's self is quiet but if you don't keep the water level high it creates a loud water fall which keeps me up all night long because its in my bedroom.
Only thing actually bad about it is when I do big water changes or turn the filter off which i do when i feed the fish so the filter don't suck all the food up on the fish, what sometimes happens is when I turn it back on the impeller sometimes can't get enough suction so i have to put my hand inside and push down on the plastic above the impeller part till it gets a good seal which i don't get why that happens. It's actually lost suction 2 times just out of the blue and I had to you fishys.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>