petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters

Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters

Maintain a crystal clear, healthy aquarium with the Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Aquarium FilterActivated carbon filter that features three-stage filtration system with mechanical, chemical, and biological filtration in one reliable and easy-to-maintain unitEffectively removes odors, discoloration and waste along with removing nitrite and ammonia
Average Customer Rating:
3.952 / 5
4
 / 
5
(249 Reviews) 249
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 249 reviews
5 stars
141
4 stars
44
3 stars
10
2 stars
19
1 star
35
189 out of 248(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Review 1 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Power Filter

PostedDecember 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kiwibird
from North Bend, WA
I just purchased the 150 filter and it is great! By far the best filter I've had. Great quality, attractive and quiet. I also like that the bottom "arm" that sucks the water up has very fine plastic mesh. I breed guppies and swordtails and this is great because it won't suck up the babies! Overall, great filter. Looks great, sounds great, and keeps the water and fish healthy (and the water crystal clear!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+38points
38of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Quality

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sohighlyunlikely
from St Louis MO
I had the old model years ago. And it was a dependable work horse. This one has been running for a couple of weeks and the new model looks to be the same good quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
kuchibeni
from seattle, wa
Had to get the more powerful filter due to my tank size. No way to change the flow rate so there is a strong current in my tank now. Wish I could turn it down. Top of the filter is tricky to put together and comes apart too easily. The cats are going to have a field day with this. Not as quiet as the filter I had before. If not for these issues I'd give it a 5.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A+

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Boomer0113
from Georgia
Great product at a great price with lightning fast free shipping...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Quiet Filter!

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bkterre
from LaGrange, GA
This filter is very quiet and keeps water sparkling. Very Impressed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good power

PostedMay 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
AliKujo
from Delray Beach FL
Put it on a 29g tank instead of bio wheel 150 and another small filter. Keeps water clear and is super quiet. Even though this filter is recommended for up to 70g, it is my experience that it is better to have a filter that is rated for twice the number of gallons. Would rather have double the power than not enough.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good filter wouldn't use In a bedroom setting

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shakethattailfin
from Cambridge, MN
It comes with the extension tubing which reaches more than halfway down our 39 gallon hexagon so that was a definite bonus. It also has a slot for a extra filter catridge which we will be adding eventually because as you take the old one out all the junk ends up in the tank and will just rinse it off as needed. I also like that the bio wheel is out of the way when changing the cartridges. On the downside this thing is huge so if you are searching for slim this may not be for you. It is a bit noisy in my opinion, I wouldn't personally use it in a bedroom unless that doesn't bother you it does fine in our living room. This filter really moves the water around and our guppies love to swim in the current for a while
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Filters

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bsompets
from Grand Island NE
I have had good luck with most of my Marineland filters. They are easy and they work good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
falcon1620
I had the 150 and now a 100 model that have both failed, the BioWheel stalls out often even if the unit is cleaned, the impellers are noisy, the first 150 kept stalling due to a warped impeller assembly, the other one makes a terrible grinding noise. I would not recommend this product. Go for something different and save yourself the headache. They used to be good, but quality has suffered.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works good but...

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
FishOnVodka
from WI
It seems to be filtering good. I have 2 filters inside it which restrict the flow a little so some water comes out of the overflow part. The filter it's self is quiet but if you don't keep the water level high it creates a loud water fall which keeps me up all night long because its in my bedroom.
Only thing actually bad about it is when I do big water changes or turn the filter off which i do when i feed the fish so the filter don't suck all the food up on the fish, what sometimes happens is when I turn it back on the impeller sometimes can't get enough suction so i have to put my hand inside and push down on the plastic above the impeller part till it gets a good seal which i don't get why that happens. It's actually lost suction 2 times just out of the blue and I had to you fishys.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Filter

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
MissDebo
from N.J.
I really like the way this filter has cleaned up my son's 16 gallon tank. It is so much better than the light weight filter the tank came with. I also like the way you can place 2 filters in it to give it twice the cleaning power.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Flashy, but splashy.

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Helpster
from Tucson, AZ
Been using this for a week for my 60 gallon tank. Looks big enough to work, but the noise of the splashing, and the BIO-wheel throwing water inside the splash guard, that's also creating dripping sounds, I have to turn it off at night. There is no flow controler. Most likely, this needs to get broken in, and over time, the BIO-wheel will spin slower, with the added weight of the biological goodies. I also have the 30 gallon Marineland Penguin that I have been using for this tank, and it runs very quietly, when the water level is high enough. I also just cut out those large filter pads to size, and use those to replace the filters that cost more, and it works great. Try that out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland biowheel 350

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
BigOtto
from Palatine, IL.
Great HOB filters, gets the job done like they are supposed to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cleans Well Makes Splashing Noises

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katie4RD
This filter works very well to clean your tank and produces great circulation. The only downside is that the biowheel (which is great for the health of the tank) causes some water to splash around when leaving making splashing noises. The motor is perfectly silent though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland Emperor 400 filter

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Theo2
from Lakewood, Colorado
SUPERB FILTER with large replaceable filter cartridges and re-usable filter boxes that allow use of ample amounts of bulk carbon and ammonia-removing materials. Re noise: If it gets really noisy, with it running, raise the pick-up tube slightly and then push down to re-seat it. It will quiet right down. I wrapped a piece of coarse foam (Fluval, SKU: 709794) around the intake strainer to keep it clear longer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Filter!

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Firestarter
I love this filter, it's so easy to assemble. I got the 200 on my 29 gallon tank and it makes the water crystal clear. I also like it because it's very quiet. I have it in my bedroom and the only sound I hear is the water falling, which is relaxing. It also has an extra expansion slot in case you wanted to add another filter media. Overall, a very great filter and I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely disappointed

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvmyOscar
from Indiana
This filter came with a complete 10 gallon setup I purchased yesterday (5-6-2013 at 11 a.m.). I set it up this morning. With all of the tubular pieces put on it was too long for the tank. So I just put the bottom piece on without the other two lengths. Stopped working at 4:20 p.m.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

By far the best hanging filter around

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
SnailHaven
from Michigan
I have used Teta, Topfin, everything and they all either quit on me or would get so clogged up with jump they would become useless, (I'm a snail breeder so when it came to tank maintenance... well I could only do water changes...), until I came across Marineland filters. They never clogged up, they never lose their suction, and they are not loud whatsoever. I have a lot of tanks, I use a 100, two 150, and two 350; had them for a year now without a single problem. If I had to complain about something the only thing I would have to complain about is that my blue Ramshorn Snails liked to lay eggs inside the filter themselves, lol.
Also, because I couldn't do maintenance on my baby tank I sometimes would have a worm problem which means bad water quality, even after I did 50% water changes everyday. Once I switched to this filter I never had little white worms again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Model Penguin 100

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
1johnny1
from Florida
I have used Marineland (bio wheel ) filters forever but the new Penguin 100 is irritably loud to the point of wanting to take it back. It will go in the fish junk box as I can't live with the sound of this thing. It's that bad.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Batch of 100's?

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
SuLu
from Lewisville, TX
I have a larger one of these filters in a 36 gal tank that works great. Bought a 100 for a 20 gal tank - took forever to get it to start working, ran for about 10 hours and quit. Took back to Petco, they replaced with no question. (Did notice that they only had two on the shelf and one was an obvious return, took the one that was new.) Got the new one home, hooked it up, started right up. Ran for about 10 hours and quit. So that means three of three were bad. Going back today to replace again, but I'll be buying a different kind of filter. It appears that there is a batch of the 100's out there with bad motors.
There is another filter in the tank, one that's actually too small for the tank, but it just keeps running fine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>