petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter

Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter

Silent, powerful and efficient canister filterPowerful two-stage filtrationMicron water polishingAquarium filter installs in minutesHangs on outside of tank, saving space within the aquarium
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
20 out of 30(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Review 1 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Two units leaked, both were too loud

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shopper5
I really wanted to like this filter. Unfortunately, two bad units (water leak and then air leak) and the not-so-quiet nature of the filter prevented me from doing so.
I have a small tank, and so the idea of an external hang-on was great for saving space. This filter also had solid reviews. Unfortunately, the first unit I received leaked from its base whenever it was not turned on. It was not a huge leak, but it was not small either and would soak through cardboard in a few hours. So I returned it. The second canister has an air intake leak somewhere that prevents it from working--it just sucks up air and fails within ten seconds or so. I called customer service, double-checked all instructions, tried sealing the D-ring with the included silicone and checking all connections, and the silicone helped but did not solve the problem. It still sucks in air, at a slower rate, and fails. I cannot find another source of the air leak, so I cannot use the filter.
Even if these brand new canisters didn't have two defects in a row, they were also too loud for my use and the output valve was too high. I'm not in a loud place, and these are not anywhere near "whisper" quiet. They have an audible drone--louder than my soft music when I'm sitting ten feet or so from the tank. They also make a constant water whooshing sound (not so shocking, of course, since it's a filter that whooshes water around). Finally, the output valve, which the instructions say to "always keep under water level" is very short for a hang-on. You can buy an optional extension, but a longer connector should have been standard.
Again, I am surprised at my experience and disappointed. I normally like Marineland, but I am switching to another filter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What the heck is going on with this filter?

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
USAFret
from Wisconsin
First let me state that I am a fan of this filter. In fact I own 5 of them. However, that last two I have purchased have not functioned from day one. I did call Marineland and they sent out a replacement in record time, however, exact same problem. Once the unit is set up, the canister simply empties out with no in-flow into the unit. Both units have a production date of Sep 2013. All my other HOT Magnums run fine.
This unit is a great supplement filter for larger tanks or a stand-alone filter for smaller tanks. I wouldn't recommend for tanks smaller than 20 gallons, over-kill. Also does a great job polishing the water with the micron cartridge that is included.
Marineland just needs to figure out what is going on with this recent batch of filters. Until then, wait until this problem gets rectified.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BAD PRODUCT! Air bubble storm creator

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
averageguy
from Earth
This thing sucks in air and creates bubbles like there is no tomorrow. This is just a poorly designed product! There are loose(read as not air tight) connections on the intake and exhaust. This filter worked for me for about two weeks. I wish I would have bought something else. I broke down and tried to rtv the connections together in the hope everything will seal. We'll see I guess. If it doesn't improve, it is going in the garbage. What a waste of time and money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nonoe
I bought this filter over a year ago, and it has functioned on both freshwater and saltwater tanks with the same effect on both: Fairly noisy, prone to blockages, and what I find most annoying of all is the shortness of the powerhead. The design could be better, and it seems to be more useful on smaller tanks with less messy fish than larger ones.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Design, One small flaw

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
bettaprotector
This filter has been an excellent addition to my 20 gallon aquarium. It has kept my aquarium in pristine condition despite the fact that I mistakenly a few years back purchased a two inch pleco which is now a whopping 11 inches. The flow rate is a little strong, but necessary for my aquarium.
The one issue I have with this filter is I have had a few fish die from my pleco knocking off the end of the intake tube. However, this is more my fault than the company's since I did not snap it back into position fully after a filter cleaning. I did not consider it necessary therefore to take away a star.
My favorite feature on this filter is that the foam cartridge in the filter is completely reusable. I have used the same cartridge for about a year now, simply rinsing it every month in dechlorinated water. Bacteria inhabit the foam, and it doubles as mechanical filtration. The foam, unlike cheaper products, does not seem to deteriorate over time, making this a basically cost-free filter after purchase.
One final note, be sure to fill the filter all the way up with water before starting at all times. Also, when readjusting the flow, either turn the filter off or securely hold the tube at the place where it joins the filter. Otherwise, the tube may pop off and spray water everywhere. (voice of experience!) Finally, close and snap the top on the filter before placing the filter on the back of the tank-- it is very hard to do leaning over a tall tank and it may break the tank wall. I hope this has been helpful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fish tank canister filter

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
DogFish99
from Rochester, NY
The "Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter" is a terrific product, easy to use and works like a charm keeping the tank water pristine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Find something better

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bodom
from Cleveland,Oh
I wish I would have read more reviews before buying this. Had it running on my tank for roughly 45 minutes before the entire motor just seized up. Went to exchange it to find that my local Petco only carries last years models and has them priced $50 more than their online stores current models. Overall, I would stay away from this filter and pay the extra money for something more reliable and better design.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little filter

PostedApril 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
tomgndallas
from Dallas,TX
I have this on my 29 gallon saltwater tank, live rock and corals. It does great in keeping my water very clean and clear, easy to install and quiet. It was a little noisy at first, but once all the air was out and it had run for a day it quieted down considerably
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Filter

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
BellasDad
from Orland Park, Il
I use this in addition with a general filter. I use it with carbon and it keeps my water crystal clear!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filter system!!

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beachluver
from Huntington Beach, CA
I purchased this system to keep my turtle tank clean. IT works so well!!! The water is crystal clear!! I am thrilled with this purchase!
The only negative comment I have is the noise of the water splashing into the tank. It sounds like a large fountain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Solleks
from LA
Great product. Easy to setup and works great. Very quiet and cleans water well. This went better than expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very versatile filter

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
left317
from st. louis
when i found this filter on sale, i decided to replace the hang on power filter on my 29 gallon freshwater tank. i got it home late in the evening, and since it was my first canister, i decided to review the instructions and put off hooking it up until the next day. there was a little confusion as the pictures for installing the filter don't agree with the parts schematic, so use the ones for installation, also, the instructions say to fill the media container (easier to do if you steal wife's funnel). i now use about 1/2 cup of carbon and top off container with bio-balls, (steal a pair of your wife's nylon knee-highs... who says da missus won't help you with your fish!). and it works great.
great water flow, very quiet just remember after a water change/media change to pull off the cap and top off the water in the filter once or twice and keep the gaskets lubed. the micron filter will do wonders in a couple hours, but give it two days and you will be amazed. (keep the foam sleeve over it). a really well thought out product, and it keeps the canister off of your wife's carpet!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unhappy, would never buy

PostedJune 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Honkwomp
from Raleigh, NC
Pros: Good volume, when it works it seems effective (except for the air bubbles)
Cons: It quit pumping in the middle of the night and just rattled a couple of days after inserting the charcoal media basket. The basket is difficult to fill without spillage and poorly designed. You need to remove the outside sponge before filling as the charcoal gets embedded in it as you pour.
I had the worst time getting this pump to start pumping. The first time I used it, I finally got it started but only after a second complete disassembly and even then it took better than 10 minutes to get going. I thought it might be sealing issues, so I used the included silicone grease on all gaskets with no luck. It quit in the middle of the night, and I have now returned this item and purchased a competing product.
Although i had had good luck with undergravel filters, it seemed to me that most of my really serious fish friends were firmly in the canister side, so I looked around and asked the store attendant and it seemed that "HOT" filter would meet my needs. It was lower end, but I only have a 29 gallon tank.
So, I set up it, and because I wanted crystal clear water, I decided to use the scrubber filter first. It worked really well, but it seemed to me that I was getting a large number of small bubbles, so much so it was visually unappealing. Also, despite two disassemblies and reassembies, it took 10 or 15 minute before it started pumping. But I had good volume and after a couple of days of scrubbing the tank the water looked good and I switched to the charcoal basket. The pump was never happy after that. Chaniging was easy to do, but see my comments above about how bad the design of the basket is. Once again it took forever to get the pump to start and it quit on me in the middle of the the night. That was when I had had enough. I would never recommend this product and I feel were it not for the good service PETCO provided in the return process, it would have been a big negative against them too.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bad and Good

PostedJune 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
BrrBrr
from Vista, CA
I got it and the instructions are very unclear. when i finally put it together, it wouldn't turn on, it was a lemon. I had to print receipt goto the nearest store and return for a new one, this one seems to be working fine only time will tell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the investment! Quiet and functional.

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
CichlidCrazy
from Asbury Park NJ
Put it together, hung it on the tank, turned it on and came back 4 hours later to a beautifully polished tank. I dont use it as a full time filter, I just move it from tank to tank to polish as needed.
I recommend following the instructions closely to make sure the gaskets are in place as they should be.
I also noticed that when I fill it with sink water, the water is too aerated and it makes tons of micro bubbles that actually look like debris from afar. I started filling it with aquarium water out of a pitcher, (slowly to avoid any air pockets sneaking in) and it worked perfectly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Filter

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
FishheadTom
from Tannersville, PA
Purchased as a polishing filter and it does a nice job. Easy to assemble, quiet and it moves a large volume of water. But on first start up it will need to be primed (filled with water) as it could not self prime. I have had canister filters in my tanks before and would consider this as a great idea if I get into a large tank, the benefits of a canister filter with out the hoses.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not worth the trouble

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
calhiker
I have this, it works great as a water polisher however only when it works. Sometimes it stops pumping the water and needs to be reprimed, which means it has been running for unknown number of hours without sufficient water to cool it. It really is a hassle. I would not buy it again. No biological mech either.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

used once and can not restart filter

PostedAugust 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
SoSo
ran fine used the filter once. set aside. tryed to use a second time and could not get pump to work. Service was emailed and they have been responsive (sending me a new impeller) Not sure that is the problem.
We will see. Finicky filter
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely easy to use

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
trhetta
I have used other canister filters in the past and they can be quite difficult to set up and maintain. This one is unique in that it hangs on the back of the tank so you have easy access to it. The on and off button is a great feature that other canisters don't have. So during water changes you don't need to unplug it. The micron polishing half of this canister takes several days to really clean the water crystal clear but it was easy to switch from the carbon system. Definitely worth this price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland HOT Magnum Hang On Tank Convertible Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for the money

PostedJanuary 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
JRTerrier
from CT
I've owed one of these filters for 25 yrs and it ran perfectly. I just purchased another and ran perfect for 5 days then our power went out and the thing was going on and off... Anyway the magnet for the propeller cracked.. I called the company before i realized it was that. thought it was the motor. they were going to ship a new motor right out along with o rings.. So Marineland stands behind their product 100%.. Just glad i figured it out and they are sending a propeller unit and gaskets..I put my old one it the new system and it is working fine.. I highly recommend this filter system. They are easy to clean and move the water great... I purchased the filter online at Petco. I have a 55 gal. that I use it in..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>