petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter

Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter

Fish tank filter converts easily from water polishing to continuous duty filtrationSilent, powerful, self-starting aquarium power filterFilters 350 GPH for aquariums up to 100 gallonsWorks with marine and freshwater aquariumsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
3
19 out of 26(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Review 1 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magnum 350

PostedDecember 19, 2005
Customer Avatar
Chiclid lover
from Wichita, KS
It works great. It's very easy to start. The quality is wonderful. This is in my top two filters I would recommend.
The only problem I have with it is the disconnects. They are difficult to get on tightly and if you move the filter around to much they become loose.
I have it on my 220 gallon tank with my other filters. I put in the fine filter so it will catch all of the smaller debris in the tank. It works wonderfully. After a few days you can see the difference in the water quality.
Wonderful product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great beginners through advanced filter

PostedDecember 12, 2005
Customer Avatar
big AL
from Carlisle, PA
I started my saltwater adventure with a magnum canister 350 filter. It has operated flawlessly for the last 15 years. It has to be one of the quietest filters around and it keeps both my 55 gals tanks crystal clear. I do wish they would redesign the media chamber so it is not so restrictive in terms of what you can use. The only other complaint is that it doesnt come with a prefilter, but you can always add one. The only thing I can say is, 15 years and still running like new!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedDecember 6, 2005
Customer Avatar
Irene
from Corona, Ca
This product made my life so much easier. I can clean my fish tank in no time now and I don't have to do a full cleaning as often. With other pumps, I had to clean my tank once a month. This pump is really easy to clean and there is very few parts to clean. I would definitely recommend this product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Your Favorite Accessory!!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
tdbeast
from Akron, Ohio
I had one of these 30 years ago when I was into fish. I just got back involved, and this was one of my first buys. These things are fabulous. Don't be afraid to learn to use this thing with diatomaceous earth - It will clear ANY cloudy water within an hour, period! The powder is so fine, it will even filter out ich! By using diatomaceous earth with the micron filter, you close the filtering down to 1 micron, instead of 10 microns for the filter alone. Best aquarium hobby accessory ever! I only use it to polish the water, even though I am sure it is a great stand alone canister filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful product

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fishboxjunkie
from Texas
I bought this filter and it wouldn't prime to me hrs to get it to fill up wouldn't do it. Made awful noises with the expeller. If it wasn't spelled it wouldn't work was very frustrating called the company not much help either. Go buy a vortex the work better than these do.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great filter

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
QueenB814
from Johnstown, Pa
Great filter! I have a 50 gallon tank and it's crystal clear! Only down fall is taking the lid off can be a little messy. Other than that, zero complaints
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best filter ever made

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
fishdad00w
from portola,ca
Got the first magnum 350 made in like 1990.
I sold my tank, and have restarted a year ago.
I picked up a 330 for $20. This filter is dated 11/03/1987.
1987-I graduated from high school in 1987.
Thing still works perfectly-easiest thing I have ever used.
How many other filter are going to be going after 25 years?
My first one went 20 years-never, ever replaced a part.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Canister Filter

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bmdbg
from Middleburg, FL
Never owned a canister filter before but I love it! It cleans my tank so much better and the polishing filter( which looks just like a pool filter) does a great job, I no longer have cloudy water and the chemisty is finally in line. This pump was a little more than the Fluval that I almost bought but glad I didn't. This is easy to set up and clean. All the trays in the Fluval would have drove me crazy and the expense would have been outragious. Anyway the only cons I found were the clip for the lid seem a little flimsy and be careful when you open the charcoal container lid will pop off and charcoal will spill out everywhere, but I found if you open then in/out valve in the sink the lid comes off easier and no mess. You have more options with the Fluval media but this 350 magnum is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
LaurelAK
from Parma Heights, OH
This product has a lot of parts so you need to make sure you read your instructions when putting it together especially if you have never owned a filter like this one before. Make sure to take your time putting it together because if one of the parts is slightly off the filter may make noise. I personally have used this kind of filter for going on 10 years and love it. It works wonderful, the water clarity is great and the filter is quiet. I will never go back to using any other filter because it works so good and is a good value for how long they last. Most parts can be replaced if need be and you can buy other items to "enhance" it to fit your needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magnum 350

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
johnrfeeney
This is an outstanding tank cleaner - but it really wasn't made for turtle tanks per say. You will have to rig up the two hoses (one sucks water into the pump to clean and the other puts it back in the tank)
This wasn't hard to do but I called Marineland and suggested they included different parts to make this easier - they weren't helpful and said hobbyists usually do this on their own.
Still quite and keeps water crystal clear but - you mush add the good bacteria to your system. You get this from Petco and the water will stay crystal clear - without it you will have milky water even with the great pump and filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This filter is unbelievable

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
RobChicago
This filter is unbelievable, I love it. I had one of these “hang on the edge of the tank” type of filters and my water was constantly filthy even with weekly gravel vacuuming and 1/3 water changes. I purchased this water filter and installed the sponge “Rite Size” filter over the polishing filter, it fits perfectly, and it prevents quick clogging of the water polishing filter. I changed ½ of the water in my tank while vacuuming my gravel. Even after the water change the water was still very cloudy with various debris, but I did not want to do the 100% change. I turned on the filter and “Oh Baby” this thing really moves a lot of water and cleans it fast, after about 3 hours most of the junk was gone. The next day the water was so clean it looks like there is no water at all. I will buy another one of these without thinking if need be. I looked at Rena XP3 and Eheim 2217 both are comparable but I really love this magnum. Make sure to soak the end of the hoses for 20 seconds in very hot water before trying to insert them over the filter and valve attachments it’s much easier that way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy setup, great filter!

PostedOctober 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Oscarsandtwodogsandacat
Everything arrived in perfect condition, in a timely manner, exactly as ordered - no opened boxes, like you might find in a store.
I found the instructions very clearly written and easy to follow. It took a lot less time than I thought it would. I will definitely make future purchases online, for replacement filters and for my other "critters".
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

terrible clamps

PostedNovember 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
ph0t0guy
I'm new to this whole thing
and got a tank and this filter free
from someone moving out of
our building.
When I got the filter one of the clips
had been broken off of the top
and after a couple of months the other clip
also broke. Luckly it happened while I was home. Becouse the whole tank began to
empty from the gap between the base
and the lid of the filter.
So now I am looking for a new filter
and the clamping design is one of the things
that I am most interested in.
Also since this is the only filter that I have used I don't know if it is common to spill
large amounts of water every time the filter
is cleaned. It seems rather difficult to clean
this one without a lot of spillage. Maybe its just me but this has also proven to be a bit of a problem.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I'm looking for a new one!

PostedJuly 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shannon1
I found this filter to be very hard to put and keep in place as I was getting ready to initiate the filtering process. One of the Canister Clips (that holds the canister cover down) bent as I was trying to get it back on exactly the right way and It was hard to re-shape it enough so that it would function. There are no instructions for the "Quick Clean Water Polishing Feature" or the "Fast and Easy Power Gravel Washing Feature"in the box therefore, leaving them useless to me unless I can find some trouble shooting informtion
at this site. Once everything is finally up and running it cleans and filters well for secveral weeks (depends upon amount of fish). I agree with the other person who wrote a review that you have to play with the placing of filter head a little for it to work well.
Shan
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Have Patience - It does work!

PostedMay 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
UnderwaterinRI
from Providence, RI
This is my first try with a cannister filter and when I first bought it, I was very disappointed. I was about to try to return it! The maintenance and assembly were HUGE pains! I also noticed that it didn't circulate the water quite right and my fish were gasping at the top of the tank for oxygen - a pretty frightening sight in a tank full of adult discus!
However, as time went on, I noticed a few things. Each time I cleaned the filter, the aeration was better. Also, when I experimented with the position of the exhaust, I was able to overcome the aeration problem and found that by moving it in the right direction I could get proper surface agitation without even adding a powerhead.
Next, this filter replaced an outside biological filter that had broken down. There was alot of debris in my tank and at first I had to clean it weekly since as soon as enough debris built up in the filter, it's aeration ability REALLY suffered. But after a month of operation, and dealing with the downsides, it was operating flawlessly and now I only have to do the recommended upkeep. My water quality is excellent and 2 pairs of my 8 discus are spawning regularly. My water is spotless and my fish seem really happy. If you're willing to experiment and play around with it, it is a great product. Just be gentle when cleaning it or you could end up with a real mess.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!

PostedMay 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vash
from PA
I've always used the hang on back filter for all my tanks until the filter in my Cichlid tank burnt up. An associate recommended that I try a canister filter for them and I loved it so much I ditched the hang on back filter on my other tanks and bought three more of these. My water has never been so clear and most days I can't even tell there is any water in the tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK for the price

PostedFebruary 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
wetDan
from Wisconsin, USA
Read the other reviews and you get a pretty accurate picture of my experience with the Magnum canister filter. It filters well but because it is inexpensive (you get what you pay for) there are issues in operation. Be careful in opening the canister because the media chamber top has no fastener and can "pop" open, spilling contents. Workmanship and quality varies from unit to unit. Very hard to stop micro-bubbles from being produced. Heavy lube all accessible gaskets, seal (if you can) the outflow joint, burp the unit, and keep the interior clean (there is a false floor that you can remove to discover a plenum where debris can accumulate. Best hang-on does not mean best filter. However, if you are restricted to only a hang-on, I cannot recommend any other filter as being as good or better. (PS - Lose the bio wheels, they are nitrate factories). One other good note - the vacuum attachment allows you to clean without pumping out water; that is actually a unique feature that can be quite nice to have (use your polishing filter when you do this).
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lots of Negatives

PostedOctober 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Welchrock
from Rochester, NY
To be honest I'm rather confused by many of the other reviews posted here. I can't see much upside to this product, especially for the price.
Well here's my take on this product: yes it does filter the water fairly well, but that's about it. Other than cleaning power (which I'll admit is a major factor in choosing a filter), this filter is filled with flaws.
I have yet to clean it without spilling tons of water everywhere. At least 8-12 ounces every time i open the canister. And this is with the 'deluxe'-only valves! I honestly can't imagine cleaning or maintaining the filter without these - and they are not provided on the base model.
Putting the pieces back into the canister is a joke - more water spills and even when it's together correctly, its very tough to tell you've done it right. Plan on at least 10-15 minutes per filter change/cleaning plus water spillage.
Instruction manual is TERRIBLE. 50% words, 50% pictures - adding up 100% confusion while putting together brittle plastic pieces.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tube install tip

PostedJune 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
angling4fun
This is a wonderful product once you get everything assembled.
For those of you having trouble with the tubes (as I did). I remembered a trick I used to install tubing. Heat the little dears first (warm the end in boiling water for a few seconds), then when they're good and pliable, slip them onto the fittings. They will feel "loose" until the cool off again....then good luck trying to remove them! :^D
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland Magnum 350 Dual Purpose Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid reliable dependable

PostedJune 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
FishWizard
Over the years I've owned 4 of these units. I have found each one to be dependable and reliable. So much so that I actually use one as the pump in my water cooling system for my computer. The other three I have used on my fish tanks, which include a 20 gallon, 72 gallon Bow front, and 125 gallon. The only real precaution, one must take is to insure that no loose gravel or charcoal falls down into the impeller when cleaning it or it will grind against the impeller magnet and canister housing. Addotionally if you take care to purge all the air when setting it up The unit will run virtually silent.
I would also like to add that customer service for these units is outstanding. I have had one impeller replaced under warranty. With no fuss. I plan to buy several more of these. It may be considered by some "older technology" but it certainly does the job and does it well and does it economically when compared to the newer and more expensive to maintain units which use newer and hence More Expensive prepackaged filter media.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>