petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food

Canine Growth&#174 gives your puppy the health benefits of a high quality, balanced formula with a taste your puppy will love!
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Review 1 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedMay 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
CRIT
from Celebration, Florida
MY PUPS LOVE THIS STUFF. MY PARENTS FEED THEIR DOG SCIENCE DIET ADULT AND I FEED MY PUPS THE PUPPY FORMULA. THEY LOVE IT AND ITS GREAT FOR THEM!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!!!

PostedFebruary 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
chemille
from Maryland
This food is wonderful, my dog loves it. It makes his coat shinny and keeps him healthy. I would recommend this product to anyone who owns a dog. It is easily digested and it also comes in Bite size. We also use it as traininhg treats!! LOVE IT!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good puppy food

PostedFebruary 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
3DogNight
from Michigan
I used this for my smaller dog, and she loved it. She seemed healthy and strong throughout her puppyhood.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest Dog Food Ever

PostedFebruary 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Greggie
This food is great, my puppy absolutely loves this food, he can't get eneough of it! He does his little tricks just for a bite! And, it really makes his coat shiny and healthy looking, and gives him a lot of energy too, I would definetely recommend this to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food

PostedFebruary 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
malebox
from Camarillo, CA
I became the proud parent of a four month old Boxer three months ago and have tried several foods with him. Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food has worked wonders; not only has it helped with Diesel's sensitive stomach, but it has also made my job of cleaning up after him a whole lot easier (if you know what I mean). He absolutely loves it, and I would recommend this product to any individual who owns or is considering getting a puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Food

PostedJanuary 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Trini
from Orlando, FL
My dogs both enjoy eating the Science Hill Puppy Food. Both of them were on 2 different kinds of foods before and we had to switch them. They are both puppies and really enjoy it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Puppy Food

PostedJanuary 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
My yorkie Lyla absolutly loves this food! Since we brought her home she has eaten science diet puppy food and has grown into a healthy one year old dog. I would reccommend this food to anyone who has a puppy or is getting a puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WONDERFUL!

PostedJanuary 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
smd382
from New York, NY 10025
I feed this to my dog, Brownie, and boy, he eats it quicker than you can supercalafragalisticexpealidocus because he just LOVES IT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

use with care!

PostedMarch 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
wayofthedog
I fed my puppy this for a few months but after researching the topic of dog food I realized there were better options. If you read science diets' label the first two ingredients are; cornmeal and chicken by-product. Corn meal is junk-food for dogs because of its' low nutritional content it does have protien and carbohydrates in it but it is the type that dogs can't digest very well. Chicken by-products are everything from a chicken except what you would eat this could possibly include chicken heads, beaks, and feet. for these reasons and others I switched my dog to food with lamb as the first ingredient -no by-products or cornmeal! my dog seems to have more energy now and likes the taste better!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

food

PostedNovember 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
cruzer
from pullman, wa
science diet is the greatest food out there and i allways use it for my dogs and they have the best coats i have seen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HILL'S RULE

PostedAugust 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
TONIE
from NEWPORT NEWS, VIRGINIA
I AM A PROUD OWNER OF A TOY POODLE (RECOE) HE IS 7 MONTHS OLD. SINCE DAY ONE I HAVE GIVEN HIM NOTHING OTHER THAN SCIENCE DIET (PUPPY SMALL BITES). ALL OF HIS DOCTORS VISITS HAVE BEEN ANYTHING OTHER THAN PERFECT. HE IS A RED TOY POODLE SOMETIMES THE COAT CAN FADE, BUT WITH SCIENCE DIET IT HAS HELP MAINTAIN HIS SEXY. I REFUSE TO FEED HIM ANYTHING OTHER THAN SCIENCE DIET. I GREATLY RECOMMEND HILLS SCIENCE DIET DOG FOOD TO ANY DOG OWNER. WITH SO MANY CHOICES YOU WILL NOT GO WRONG.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJuly 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
KimP
from Mesa, AZ
My dog is a german shepherd mix and I adopted him from out local pet shelter about six months ago. He has alot of stomach problems and parasite problems. It seemed that he couldn't handle any food, he was on Iams, and Purina and neither of those worked. It was even getting so bad that the vet had to put him on a boiled rice and boiled chicken diet. That was all he was able to have for a long time. Slowly we weened him off onto Science Diet Prescription Food for stomachs and he did really really well and is now able to eat the Science Diet puppy food with no problem. We are very glad to have this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
This customer did not provide a text review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best

PostedMay 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
spee reg
from tampa,fl
i love this food for my pit bull, very strong and muscular, best food ever
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

rescued puppy

PostedFebruary 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
Puppy Rescue Worker
from Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Two girls found a puppy in a ditch near my house and brought it to my door. I took it in to see if anyone would claim him. I took him to the Vet. He weighed 4.3lbs. After three weeks of Science Diet large breed puppy food he now weighs in at 12.9lbs. I put all of my dogs on Science Diet. All have gained weight. Thanks Science Diet!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality dry food

PostedDecember 30, 2005
Customer Avatar
Eddy
from Monroe NY
I have been feeding my golden retriever since I got her as a 8-week puppy. She's has grown to be a healthy 80 lb dog now at 10 months. The stools she produced were never excessive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hill's Science Diet Original Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puppy Owner Worry Free =)

PostedDecember 15, 2005
Customer Avatar
Sami's Mom
from Mesa, AZ
This is a great food for my Golden Retriever. She gobbles it right down and I don't have to worry about anything bad being in her system. I can't believe some of the junk they put in other dog foods. This is the one my vet. rec.'s and I can see why. People don't eat additives (unless they want to) and they certainly don't eat things like a cow's tail and crunched up chicken beak (Yuck!), so why should my puppy. She is growing big and strong and I love that I could buy a food specificially to fit the needs of a larger dog who needs more. Good stuff!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.