petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Grannick's Bitter Apple

Grannick's Bitter Apple

Taste deterrent and training aid for dogs
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
9
32 out of 42(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Review 1 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A success

PostedMay 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Anon
from California
Wow, this stuff works. My cat eats more greens than any cat I've ever seen -- he has to have some with every meal and there's no stopping him. I had gotten him kitty grass, but he still was eating my houseplants. I'd tried putting pepper on the leaves but that was time consuming and it wore off quickly. I sprayed this stuff on once and he hasn't touched the plants since. It also works on other things around the house he used to chew on, like knobs and drawer pulls.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

taste more like golden delicious

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
pacdog
from ogden, utah
does not stop chewing.
I had the ointment before and it worked. this product is like eating golden delicious apples, my dog love it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT to deter from pad eating

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
maltesmom2016
from Tennessee
This made my puppy stop eating her bathroom floor things. Before, she would shred her pads, now I spray this spray on the pad, and she doesn't eat in anymore! WIN!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Martil
from Crescent City, Fl.
The bottles arrived in excellent condition with no leakage. I used it on places like edges of rugs that he chewed on before and now he doesn't.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
MurphyPascal
from Des Moines, Iowa
My 5 month old Golden Retriever was not happy being baby-gated into our kitchen-- he was tearing everything up! So we used the Bitter Apple on the furniture in the living room so he could roam while we are at work. He hasn't chewed on anything! ---and we all know how puppy Goldens love to chew!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Catamarack
from Decatur, GA
My pup smells it when I spray and doesn't touch that spot again until it dries, then he goes right back to it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Stuff

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
BerneseMtnDogLover
from Saratoga, CA
This is a good product to get my puppy to (temporarily) stop biting people and things. Now I just have to put the bottle near his face and he'll back off. I wish it lasted longer on my child's skin however.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grannick's Bitter Apple

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ruthi
from Sacramento, CA
I have a 10 week old lab who is a chewer!! This works great on such things as a wicker basket, my shoes, etc. and anything I don't want her to chew on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Grannick's Bitter Apple

PostedFebruary 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
cameron1
I have anew puppy. Chewing comes with the territory, and Earl does his fair share. Picked up Bitter Apple. Well doesn't stop him a bit. Likes it actually. So now I have a full bottle 16 oz. of chew stimulant!
Try a small bottle first. Or make your own hot sauce.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

saved our curtains & furniture

PostedJanuary 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
judzenija
Our family recently got a little bullmastiff puppy and he was chewing on everything in the home. We sprayed this bitter apple on our curtains, door stoppers, table legs, you name it and it worked immediately.
The only thing it didn't do was stop him from biting our hands. We read that if you spray this on the back of your hands it will stop him. Oddly he licked it and kept biting/nibbling. Perhaps it reacts differently on skin then it does on furniture.
I would definitely recommend this. It doesn't hurt to try it if you want to save your furniture. Worse case if it doesn't work for you, it wasn't a lot of money wasted.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work

PostedDecember 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
cbii
from New York, NY
I bought this product hoping my puppy would stop biting our rugs and bed skirt. NOPE!!! She'll sniff this stuff for a second or two and will be right back at biting and tearing up our furniture. Besides, this stuff dries up too quickly. Once it dries, it defeats the purpose of what this product is for.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

puppy

PostedAugust 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
margo311
from stl.mo
very good product, that all just spray your things but what i have learned is to let her and him see me spray
there is no odor and it sprays and drys clear
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it because my puppy hates it!

PostedAugust 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
CTBitterApplelvr
My 4 month old golden retriever pup is a joy, all except her biting/mouthing. This product completely saved my wood, pants, flip flops and anything else I didn't want her teething on. Im so happy I found it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ugh....sad times

PostedJuly 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
jenn29jenn
from minot, nd
got this hoping our new bulldog would stop biting.....he LOVES IT....on to the next thing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth it

PostedJuly 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
jolene25
I have a 9 week old Black lab. She loves to teeth so much that she thinks my 5 year old and 13 month old boys are chew toys. My sister gave me bitter apple and I love it!!! I just spray it on my boy's arms and legs and she doesn't even nip. It works great and it is gentle on humans. It is worth the investment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recomend

PostedJune 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
jevps
This bitter apple works great for puppies chewing on furniture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mixed review

PostedJune 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
shortysmom
from Roseville, MI
My dog has hot spots and this only works when I first apply. After product dries, it doesnt work anymore. He bites himself as soon as it is dried.
On the flip side, I have used this in my hamster cage. He likes to try to chew the corner of his cage. I spray this and he stays away. I will continue to buy for that reason alone.
I think this product just depends on the animal
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked for me

PostedApril 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bonzai
from Massachusetts
Have a 3 month old border collie who enjoy snacking on the scatter rugs. Since I have hardwood floors the rugs are needed. Sprayed all 3 rugs w/ it & she snacks no more. She will lay on the rugs but has stopped eating them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grannick's Bitter Apple ,best purchase ever

PostedFebruary 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
brnee77
Grannick's Bitter Apple
Taste deterrent and training aid for pets.
this is the best stuff i have ever bought, my dog had a bad chewing problem it took about the whole bottle to teach her not to chew on stuff but by the time the bottle was gone my dog (,which is a full blooded cocker spaniel) has never chewed on a wire or actually anythying.And now we got a new puppy,(full blooded chichua) and i'm gonna teach her the same thing by using Grannick's Bitter Apple,Taste deterrent and training aid for pets. so yes i recomd this product for anyone who has a dog that chews on stuff around the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Wonders!!

PostedFebruary 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
petfan
from TN
My hamster kept nagging on the bars of his cage and it would keep me awake at night plus I read that nagging on the bars can case brain damage so I got this Bitter Apple and sprayed it on the bars, my hamster tried it out a couple times and the results are… Now I get some sleep at nights!! GREAT!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>