petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Grannick's Bitter Apple

Grannick's Bitter Apple

Taste deterrent and training aid for dogs
Average Customer Rating:
3.843 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
11
39 out of 51(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Review 1 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A success

PostedMay 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
from California
Wow, this stuff works. My cat eats more greens than any cat I've ever seen -- he has to have some with every meal and there's no stopping him. I had gotten him kitty grass, but he still was eating my houseplants. I'd tried putting pepper on the leaves but that was time consuming and it wore off quickly. I sprayed this stuff on once and he hasn't touched the plants since. It also works on other things around the house he used to chew on, like knobs and drawer pulls.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Disappointed... my puppy kept biting the leash after I sprayed it :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

apple bitter can work

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Austin
I bought this dogg apple bitter for my ferret. Good News!! She hates it !! I have been using it for about 5 days and she gets the point but still is rebellious. The bottle is half gone already (thats how bad her pooping and biting problem is) I also use it when she runs around the house and tries to sneak around places she knows she is not supposed to be. It doesn't seem to be toxic although could have bought the cat kind. And they also have one for ferrets. I hope this will teach her and not have to use it forever. It is a little expensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, Pa
Easy to use. I have two bottle, one for my room and the other in the kitchen. I do not find the odor offensive, I guess since I do not really smell it but my dog does smell it and finds it offensive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bangor, ME
My pup was in the habit of carrying and chewing his leash when on a walk, among other things he chewed on. A quick spray of bitter apple and he totally leaves it alone. perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product didn't do anything

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
We used Bitter Apple to spray on items we don't want our kittens to touch or play with. Even though we sprayed it on the items, the kitties still played with them as if nothing had changed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

saved my furniture

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Federal Way, WA
this is an amazing product - my new bulldog puppy loves to chew ... spray this on, one quick sniff and taste - and he leaves it alone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing ever

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Franklin, TN
Best thing ever!!! My puppy won't get near anyhing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pup still mouthed sprayed item

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Camarillo, CA
I've used this with my other pets and it worked. This time my adopted pups have some anxiety so it didn't deter them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more chewed up leashes . . .

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
Within the first 2 weeks Isla Grace came into my life as a rescue dog I had to replace a collar, a harness and a leash because she chewed them. (I know, I'm a little slow: Keep them out of her reach!). So I've sprayed all those items plus my garden clogs and flip flops which apparently make terrific chewy toys. You have to re-spray about every 4 weeks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

taste more like golden delicious

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ogden, utah
does not stop chewing.
I had the ointment before and it worked. this product is like eating golden delicious apples, my dog love it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT to deter from pad eating

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tennessee
This made my puppy stop eating her bathroom floor things. Before, she would shred her pads, now I spray this spray on the pad, and she doesn't eat in anymore! WIN!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Crescent City, Fl.
The bottles arrived in excellent condition with no leakage. I used it on places like edges of rugs that he chewed on before and now he doesn't.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Des Moines, Iowa
My 5 month old Golden Retriever was not happy being baby-gated into our kitchen-- he was tearing everything up! So we used the Bitter Apple on the furniture in the living room so he could roam while we are at work. He hasn't chewed on anything! ---and we all know how puppy Goldens love to chew!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Decatur, GA
My pup smells it when I spray and doesn't touch that spot again until it dries, then he goes right back to it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Stuff

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Saratoga, CA
This is a good product to get my puppy to (temporarily) stop biting people and things. Now I just have to put the bottle near his face and he'll back off. I wish it lasted longer on my child's skin however.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grannick's Bitter Apple

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA
I have a 10 week old lab who is a chewer!! This works great on such things as a wicker basket, my shoes, etc. and anything I don't want her to chew on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Grannick's Bitter Apple

PostedFebruary 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have anew puppy. Chewing comes with the territory, and Earl does his fair share. Picked up Bitter Apple. Well doesn't stop him a bit. Likes it actually. So now I have a full bottle 16 oz. of chew stimulant!
Try a small bottle first. Or make your own hot sauce.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

saved our curtains & furniture

PostedJanuary 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Our family recently got a little bullmastiff puppy and he was chewing on everything in the home. We sprayed this bitter apple on our curtains, door stoppers, table legs, you name it and it worked immediately.
The only thing it didn't do was stop him from biting our hands. We read that if you spray this on the back of your hands it will stop him. Oddly he licked it and kept biting/nibbling. Perhaps it reacts differently on skin then it does on furniture.
I would definitely recommend this. It doesn't hurt to try it if you want to save your furniture. Worse case if it doesn't work for you, it wasn't a lot of money wasted.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Grannick's Bitter Apple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work

PostedDecember 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I bought this product hoping my puppy would stop biting our rugs and bed skirt. NOPE!!! She'll sniff this stuff for a second or two and will be right back at biting and tearing up our furniture. Besides, this stuff dries up too quickly. Once it dries, it defeats the purpose of what this product is for.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>