petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer

Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer

Protein skimmer with aquarium pump for saltwater aquariums up to 100 gallonsRemoves dissolved proteins and organics from aquarium waterFor external hang-on or in-sump installation
Average Customer Rating:
3.234 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
15
28 out of 46(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Review 1 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Get a better one

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
rassob
from MA
I purchased this skimmer, yes it does skim but it throws in tremendous amount of air bubbles inside my tank. I tried every trick to get rid off the bubbles, but no luck, such that I lost one of my precious fish and some corals because of that.
I would say spend some extra few bucks and get a higher end one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dont waist your money

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
nickstersfish
piece of junk. don't throw your money away. I bought this skimmer 3 months ago, and I'm still waiting for it to start working!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible quality

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Luvmydogsfishrats
from Edmond, Ok
I bought this online. I let it run for two weeks to try to break it in, and the whole entire time I had it I was frustrated. Microbubbles go everywhere into the display tank. If you have a sump, it probably works okay, but putting on the tank as a HOB is a bad idea. It never skimmed properly. It produced a light "tea" colored liquid. This is nowhere near the sludge a protein skimmer should remove. Spend the extra fifty dollars and get a skimmer that wont make you pull your hair out!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seaclone skimmer

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
coldtanr
from wisconsin
I have been using the seaclone 100 for months and I can tell you that it pulls out all sorts of nasty stuff. I have it in my sump as the design for hangon is not a comfortably safe (for leaks) as I would prefer. I have a 30 gal saltwater tank with a 10 gal. sump and I have perfect levels of ammonia, nitrate and nitrite. I give this product a thumbs up . for the money it is good. If you want to spend more, go for it, but you dont have to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Could have to been so much better-

PostedJune 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
ScottNYCReef
from NYYC
This skimmer is not design correctly. As my title indicated, this skimmer could be so much better if they made some modification to it. A major disappointment is the way water output is controlled -it controlled via the air intake. This is one of the worse design ever. I don't understand why they would do that. Why not just make an output valve. I could modify this skimmer to make it work better but it's not worth the trouble. This skimmer works but it take too long to collect the skimmate. If you are looking for a skimmer rate at 100 gallon then this is not the right skimmer. This skimmer is more fitted for a 30 something gallon. I returned the skimmer and got myself a PSK 100h. The PSK works 10000% better than the cy-clown. I mean cyclone :).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Protein Skimmer

PostedMarch 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
soccergurl34928
from Portsmouth, NH
For the first three weeks of having this protein skimmer in my tank, I thought it was a complete piece of junk because it blew out nothing but micro bubbles. Once it broke in though (approximately three weeks later), there were no micro bubbles in sight and started working perfectly. It's probably the best bet for your money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible skimmer

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
godssin2k3
from temecula, ca
i bought this skimmer with great anticipation based on customer reviews on the petco site. upon arrival... skimmer leaked... created massive ammounts of micro bubbles... and skimmed horribly.
i read of site reviews later... learning this was considered a horrible product even by novice hobbyist.
u get what you pay for..... in this case.... junk
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Skimmer

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
JessL
from St. Louis, MO
Skimmer was a good purchase! Great deal for the price although it was missing the suction cups. Overall good product although II wouldn't suggest it for a aquarium over 45 gallons but it does a good job on my 40!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good skimmer, but not silent

PostedDecember 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
supermexlover
I have had the Seaclone for almost a month and it has been working really well. Just once you get the venturi to work, it makes loud gurgly noises. I have two other tanks in the room with pumps that make noise, so it doesn't bother me too much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does it's job well!

PostedSeptember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
CaptainNemo
from Toppenish,WA
Upon arrival and opening box,included is a parts check off list. It turns out there were several parts missing from this product. I called Petco and explained the issue of the missing parts. Petco took all my information and sent me a second Seaclone with all parts included, which arrived in a prompt fashion and right to my front door. Very nice! You need to adjust air valve knob until you get result you desire. Works quietly and efficiently.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Over all pretty good

PostedMay 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lokkstar
from Minnesota
Of course it's not the best but it does an okay job. I say if you can get it cheaper, go for it but at 100.00 it's a pretty steep price. I had mines for a week before it broke in, be patient and it will break in. When you install it, make sure to unplug the intake air tube and let it run for a few days. Once it start to foam nicely then slowly twist the air cap back on until you see no bubbles go into the tank. Takes a bit of time to fiddle with adjustments but works great when you learn how to. One hint, I found out that it works best when the water temp is warm. When my water temp was at 70-75 degrees it had a hard time foaming but when I installed my heater and whoop it up to 80-82 degrees, it started to foam real nice. It makes the water a lot lighter to foam.
A lot of people are giving this skimmer a bad review and are creating their own way to modify it. I say don't! I don't see why it's so hard for it to work. It doesn't skim the best or get the best result but it's really how you adust it (either for dry skimming or wet skimming). Mines seem to work great. Follow instructions and you'll be just fine. Came home earlier and had a quarter cup full if yellowish brown stuff.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good for the price

PostedMay 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Surfratphil
This skimmer is perfect for my 30 gal reef. Works great so far. Lots of foam and my water is testing out great! I am very satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Product

PostedJanuary 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Guest432
Works great!
It doesn't leak and it seems to be getting the job done. The product is also very quiet. The cyclone is also very fun to watch, the kids love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good.

PostedJanuary 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
MacTownFun
from Texas
Two thumbs up from me after two days. Good instructions, pretty easy to install, seems like pretty durable material, already got a full cup of foam/dirty water.
Seems like a very good skimmer, especially for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Product

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
AL2009
from Shelby TWP., MI
My first Protein Skimmer. I have no problem to install. Really good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedNovember 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
OscarR
Good product, good value for the price. Exellent process with Petco with free shipping.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

O-Rings are cheap too

PostedMay 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
HeyFishyFishy
from Shawnee, KS
I've used the SeaClone100 on a 55gal Reef Tank for 10 years without replacement. I used another SeaClone100 on an 80gal FOLR for six yrs. Yes, users should frequently check for leaks, as with any product that relies on O-Rings to seal joints. This product is inexpensive and works it's butt off! For $2 you could buy enough O-Rings to keep it running well for years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal

PostedApril 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
jami78
I bought this unit last July for my 55 gallon FOWLR tank. No problems. worked great. I recently upgraded to a 90 gallon tank and have since added corals. This skimmer is still working very well. The price was amazing and the product works great. I have had a few leaks, but that was because I didn't put it back together well enough after a cleaning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just wait a little bit longer

PostedFebruary 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
paulo64
when the skimmer gets ajusted just wait at least a month before you take it back. patience is the key to the bio whell so is the skimmer. it will quiet if not tampered with and ajusted once ajusted do not move it.
if you ant to buy a skimmer that is not loud buy this one.
i have had it for 11 years in my 29 gallon aquarium. Works great. dont be fooled by patience. just wait... every book says that. here is my reef tank with 2 seaclone 150 skimmers. they work great
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Instant Ocean SeaClone Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Happy with Seaclone

PostedJuly 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
swtvolfan
In 2 months with the SeaClone, I've not been too pleased. First, the O-ring on the J-tube snapped as I tightened it, then the skimmer did not "skim" much. I finally kept adjusting the air intake to get some skimming, and got some, but not much, plus it gets noisy with lots of air. Just today, the J-tube started leaking - I had just cleaned out the intake filter and must have tweeked it. I have just put it all back together, but if I had it to do again, I would go with something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>