petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for API Aquarium Salt

API Aquarium Salt

All natural salt, made from evaporated sea water, promotes healthy gill function, reduces stress and loss of electrolytesUsed to improve the efficiency of medications and reduce the harmful effects of nitriteMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.886 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 out of 35(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for API Aquarium Salt
Review 1 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aquarium Salt

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hillsborough, NC
Had an freshwater fish aquarium for about a year and just realized we need to add aquarium salt, even in a freshwater aquarium. Salt is working great and fish are definitely happier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tank therapy

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I got the 16oz carton, and it's been great at helping my goldfish with his anchor worm infection. I use a low concentration for the tank itself and then a high one for short-duration salt baths. The salt dissolves quickly and the amount is very easy to measure and control. My fish is looking healthier and less stressed already!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from SeaWorld, Orlando
It keeps Stormy's tank clear, but not the community tank. Probably because my shubunkin is the largest fish in the community tank, and he's making the water cloudy. Some of the fish in the community tank have been regrowing missing pieces of fin and tail, but the salt hasn't done that for my betta. Overall, it's pretty good. I recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SAVED MY BETTA'S LIFE!!!!

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Louisiana
Marble (my betta) had a hole in his side one morning I went to feed him and it was not there the day before. After reading a book quick and checking online, I found out it was cotton wool's disease. If any of you know what that is, it is VERY LETHAL to bettas, killing them within 24 hrs. I had to go to work and didn't have time to go the pet store to find a solution!! Thankfully my husband has a turtle and I went through his stuff to see if anything would help and I found this salt and put it in the bowl. By the time I got home from work and the pet store, my betta had already started to heal! Amazing! SOOOOOO happy I had it! Marble is still alive today, but his side still has scars from that dreadful day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for bettas

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Beaverton, OR
My betta's top fin seemed to be disappearing even though I couldn't really understand why as I keep his tank very clean. After doing some research, I bought this at my local Petco and boy has it made a HUGE difference. His fin has grown back and in general he just seems much, much happier. I have him in a 2 1/2 gallon jar with live plants and a heater as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

miracle salt

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
Ok so my Betta supposedly had fin rot, he is living in a 1 gal bowl and so I decided after searching a ton of sites for how to treat fin rot they all said change the water and add some aquarium salt for healing. So i went to petco sure enough i found some aquarium salt (this brand). I bought it followed the directions a few days later, his fins were nice n red again there was no whiteness anymore. My betta absolutely LOVES it, I put it in every time I change the water! Highly reccomended for any one whose fish have any disease at all this really relieves the pain and heals as well. Also highly reccomended for anyone who wants to make their fish really, really happy!
The salt also improved the water condition/quality.
OVERALL: I just love this product! I would buy it again for my next betta or fish!
:) Hope this helps! (sry it was so looooong)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice product for differnt reasons...

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Omaha
We bought this product for general maintenance of our aquarium as well as to help treat ich more naturally if it should occur in our tank. It is a nice thing to have on hand from my past experience.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best at preventing and aiding diseases

PostedMay 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from va
i got some of this for my pleco because my friend told me it is best to have some for tropical fish. i used some in my goldfish tank as well. then i decided what the heck might as well use some in my friends tank too. so i did and all of the fish are happier than ever
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute Must Have

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Hanover, PA
Your tank simply cannot go without this product, even if you aren't treating for illness.
Follow the instructions on the carton for your tank size and enjoy the increased vitality and color in your fish. They'd thank you if they could talk!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MsStolte

PostedApril 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
This is a generic product at a good deal, get some if you need some aquarium salt.
I bought it with future intentions to use it for raising brine shrimp.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honestly, my tank wasnt bad to begin with

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Beaverton, OR
my tank didnt have any problems or anything, but while at petco, i decided to get some anyway. I havent noticed too much of a positive change, but then again my tank hasnt gotten worse.
~im not 12 anymore~
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helpful For Sick Fish

PostedJanuary 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
I got this product when my female white tetra got ich. I put the salt in because it says that salt relieves stress in fish. Along with medication my tetra healed in less than a week! Plus my fish are way more active and vibrant. Sadly, plecos are to sensitive to put salt in their tank.
Overall: This helps relieve stress in fish so that fish are more vibrant, active, and heal twice as fast. But don't use it with plecos and other catfish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nicee

PostedDecember 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Jersey
My fishes were sluggish and most of them died due to some fish ilness, some had fit rot, and other were starting to get it. I used this with some medicine and it worked like a charm my fish are much happier. Plus for a 10 gal. tank one carton of this is more than enough plus the price is cheaper than it would be in stores.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Must have product.

PostedOctober 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Bronx,NY
I use a little aquarium salt in my betta 5 gallon tank...Also, I use some when I clean his tank.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just buy it

PostedSeptember 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
I use this as part of the cleaning process and have managed to keep a healthy tank
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Aquarium Salt

PostedJuly 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
I had a tropical fish tank. A lot of the fish were dieing and I bought this product at a local petco and it worked great. It made my fish last so much longer. It was great that I could have a fish in my tank living for a year instead of a couple months!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Every tank needs a little salt

PostedApril 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Fall River, MA
I've got a community tank full of tropicals (primarily mollies and swordtails) They're noticeably more active with a bit of salt in the tank. Promotes happy healthy fish and facilitates healing in hospital tanks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap and Effectual!

PostedJanuary 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
My neighbor’s betta had some white stuff on his fins. I added this salt and it was gone in about a week.
This is such a low-cost and easy preventative, that every fish owner should use it before “trouble” arises.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perkier Fish!!

PostedSeptember 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
I used this during a water change after reading about it and within a few hours all of my fish seemed a lot perkier!!
I'm trying to use it to help a fish I'm treating for finrot...hopefully I will see good results for that as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for API Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good to use for treating ich.

PostedMay 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Round Lake Beach, IL
I've used two teaspoons per gallon and an elevated tank temp of 85 F to treat ich. It works very well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>