petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee CritterTrail Z

Kaytee CritterTrail Z

CritterTrail Z includes the "Petting Zone" for catching Z's and a Zip-out ball for exerciZeCritterTrail Z offers spacious living and it comes complete with a Water Bottle, Food Dish, and a Fun-nels climbing tubes
Average Customer Rating:
3.428 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(166 Reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 166 reviews
5 stars
57
4 stars
35
3 stars
26
2 stars
18
1 star
30
103 out of 166(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Review 1 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Product

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
I got a teddy bear hamster, whom we found to be very intelligent. The third day we had him, he disappeared. We finally found him. We assumed he climbed up and got out from underneath the ball. We taped it and put him back in. Within the next week, he got out 6 other times. We finally figured out he was biting the latch to the Lookout Tower. We taped up so man things, then decided it wasn't worth the $50 we spent. My advice is to just stick with HabiTrail.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedApril 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Montgomery, PA
I have had this cage for 5 years and had 1 hamster for 2 years and the other for 3 but they both chewed on the door and the hideout on the top they could push open so I had to tape it other than that it is amazing
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hamster cage

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lake Stevens, WA
just as shown, easy to put together, promotes exercise. I would say, buy a nice cage the first time around. Got a different one before but my hamster wouldnt run in the ball area because it was too small. This was is perfect esp but you can take it off the cage and have them run around also. Only down side, she was taking her bedding up to the"lookout area" and getting stuck because the bedding was getting stuck in the tube. Otherwise, great cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but one problem

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Macomb, MI
the wheel part isn't secured so you should tape it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not for gerbils

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from denver colorado
my gerbil hated it all it did was stay at the bottom of the cage dont buy plzz waste of money!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for gerbils

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Katy tx
My gerbil loves the bottom of the cage & honestly the cage looks pretty cool, a nice room decoration but he won't go in the tubes at all. I've tried putting the tubes on my bed & letting him run through them which works fine but when I put him in the tubes on the cage he finds it hard to bend his body to fit the tubes. The wheel was a good idea but I have put him in it & he does nothing. Going to see if I can return it. If you want a cage or habitat for a gerbil get a tank
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quick and easy.

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Medford, OR
This item is exactly as described and is very quick and easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Butler, PA
I have four mice and purchased this product to expand the two habitats I already had for them. It's incredibly easy to put together and easy to clean, and the Crittertrail Fun-nels fit wonderfully into it. It also has a lot of space for toys and nesting areas.
Only issues I've had with it is that my mice don't seem to care much for the ball/wheel attached to it, nor do they care for the viewing area - even after I put nesting material up there.
I would also keep in mind that the plastic is not very thick, particularly around where tubes can be added. So long as you aren't terribly touch with it, it should be fine. I've had other habitats from the same brand knocked over before and they didn't have so much as a scratch on them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would not recommend anyone to buy this!!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hartford, WI
I bought this cage about two months ago. Have had nothing but problems! If only I knew a hamster cage would cause so much stress, I would have kept the receipt and returned it. Sadly I tossed it :(. I usually don't write reviews, but I needed to with this thing.
It took me FOREVER to figure out how to put it together. The instructions were terrible. The latches that are supposed to keep things together, barely do the job they're supposed to be doing. My hamster has made the ball into her nest, which is fine. But now I need to spend more money on a seperate wheel for her. In the past week, she has escaped THREE times. She is my sons hamster, so this is a HUGE deal, as he is only five and he loves her! I spent nearly $50 on this poor excuse of a cage, and am now going to have to purchase another one. I believe it said somewhere on the box that this cage was ESCAPE PROOF. Which it certainly is NOT. She has been escaping by pushing the tube that is "attached" to the wheel. Which also is supposed to have a locking device on it...doesn't work. Never will I buy from the makers of this cage again. I feel like we are better off just buying a glass aquarium with a screen top. Searching for a hamster for hours every night, is not a routine I wish to continue. I would highly recommend NOT buying this cage. Save yourself the stress of assembling the dang thing AND the stress of your poor hamster escaping! :)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Its all right....sorta.

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
This cage is okay.... accept for that its really hard to clean. The tube leading to the lookout tower gets stuffed with hamster bedding from out hamster, and its really hard to get it out. The hamster ball is really good, doesn't make much noise, but it got really dirty. We opened it to clean it, and it took a long time to make it clean. After that, we tried to put the hamster ball back together, and it wouldn't go. So, if you get this cage, i suggest you buy an unattached wheel to go in the main area. And for the lookout tower, well, our hamster loves it. We like it too, but when we took it out to clean it, it wouldent go back into the cage very well. And now, its stuck at a weird angle.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall really nice! Love the wheel

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
My older pare of gerbils loved the wheel. So much that I had to stick something under it at night so I could get some sleep haha! its a bit small, but I got this at a store for SUPER cheap. at the price I got it, it was totally worth it. The water bottle holder is nice, but I would like it a bit higher. It keeps wetting the bedding because I put in a lot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not My Favorite.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
My first hamster was a little smaller than your average one, and could push the lid on the tower open (the opening is on the top). He'd do that, then jump onto my shelf and onto the floor. I can't remember how many times he did that. Also, my hamster (unique, but still a hamster) liked to make the ball into his nest. He had a little igloo home, but loved that ball. So, I had to get him a separate wheel to keep him in shape. I wouldn't recommend this, because of the tower being so weak and easy to open. If it were latched with metal, I'd have been able to bend it to make the fit tighter, but that wasn't the case. On a side note, it was very hard to clean. I had to take off every individual piece if it was to get a good cleaning, and it took about 10 minutes of frustrated grunts to put it back together. As I said, not recommended.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the worry

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
Overall, it's a nice concept, but there are some major drawbacks. The space where the wheel is attached has a large hole underneath. My robo hamsters are super active and always climbing. My fear is one day they're going to figure out a way out. Also, the tower seems very flimsy. The instructions were very vague and after it was all said and done, the tower can actually sway. The locking mechanisms for the ball and tower don't seem very secure at all. Luckily we have small hamsters, otherwise a large one would probably be able to get out just by pushing these things open. I only bought it because it was very similar to another model and I didn't want my children fighting over who had the better cage. My son, unfortunately, won that battle because his is more secure and he doesn't have to worry about a whole in his cage. I will be buying my daughter a new one, ASAP!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this cage

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from lawrenceville,GA
This cage is like a space cage. It is hard for you pet to get out but there is maybe one spot you should look at every day but this cage is great i say five paws for this cage oh and i got this cage for my birthday it was the biggest so i opened it first GET THIS CAGE
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Utah
I normally don't write reviews but I hope this will help others know what they can expect.
Overall it is a neat product with a lot of nice features. The build quality is overall pretty good but there are some QC and engineering faults that have caused me nothing but trouble since the start.
To start with the part that holds the ball on the top is supposed to snap into place but the plastic tabs are bent (I'm guessing during the cooling phase) causing them to not make contact so the whole assembly lifts off easily, and in our case the cats can simply push it right off. We simply taped it on to keep it secure.
Next, the tube system that goes up to the little dome does not snap into the hole properly. I fought with it both ways, multiple ways and only managed to snap one of the keeper tabs off rendering that hole nearly useless. I resorted to using the other hole (against the vague instructions) and using zip ties, one large and two small ones to keep the tube secure otherwise it would just sit there and lean sideways.
Next problem was with the ball retainer latch assembly. My daughter managed to snap the tiny keeper peg off on the second day so now the ball won't even stay on until I devise some other method to retain it.
The wheel rollers that the ball is to ride on is a brilliant design but after the first day the rollers quit rolling and the ball just drags across them. I took them each out and sanded/polished their little shafts as best as I can, and I greased them and they still stick.
For nearly fifty dollars I didn't expect to have to deal with it endlessly. Now not only have I spent two or more extra hours just getting the thing usable I still have to fix the ball retainer and then there's the time it took to write this and document it.
More than disappointed. I thought of returning it after the first tube dilemma but after that effort I am determined to make this work one problem after the next.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
(click to see the video)
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Probably not the best choice.

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lexington, KY
I bought this cage as an expansion to my hamster's empire, and it works great for her. However, I can see some potential problems.
The lookout tower may pose an opportunity for escape for larger hamsters. If you push on just the right spot, the latch will pop and the lid will swing open. Not so much of a concern for dwarves, since their size won't allow them to put forth the right amount of force to pop it open, but Syrians have the bulk and the brains to get the job done.
The ball attachment on the top is also a prime opportunity to escape, as it rests over a gaping hole in the lid of the habitat. Just be sure to keep any tall hideaways and toys away from this area - especially if you're using this habitat for mice or dwarves.
The -basic- design of this cage is good, but the extra features do make it a risky choice. Honestly, I'd go with the simple, basic Crittertrail One. It has a wheel for exercise, and the "petting zone" for a loft area, so you'll get the exact same benefits for a lower cost, with greater security.
And remember, just ONE of these habitats is never going to be enough space for your hamster, no matter the breed. If you want a prefabbed cage, plan on buying two or three and a pack of connector tubes to give your hamster the living space it needs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ITS TOO SMALL!!!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from chicago,IL
i bought this for my brother for christmas and also bought him a short haired hamster and when he went in the tube and it was too small and almost sufficated so if you are buying a short haired hamster DONT GET THIS CAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma City, OK
This cage is NOT escape proof! My sons hamster has escaped 2 times out of the "penthouse", doesn't use the ball to exercise but put most of her bedding in there to sleep and her potty goes all over the top of the cage. JUST THIS MORNING, after taking off all the tubes until I can figure out what to do with the cage, she has figured out how to move the part of the lid that the ball is on! That part was tilted so she could crawl in the ball and escape at the same time. I am highly disappointed in this cage and for the amount of money it is worth, its truly junk. If it hasn't been 4 months and the receipt thrown away, I would demand a refund or a new cage. I'm very upset with this cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy!!!!!

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
this cage looked fine but when i got it my hammy sugar opened the door right away and she's not that much of an escape artist
i wouldn't buy the wiring is cheap and its small , and hamsters don't seem to like how the ball is attached and they don't go anywhere when there already used to be able to roam under supervision
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kaytee CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great deal, but not worth the money

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Fairbanks, AK
The house that goes with it never secures correctly (the tube). Also, hamster moved all his bedding into the ball and would run with it in there!. Loud! But when he went potty, it would leak through. Ended up taking the ball out and had to tape the top down because I could not find any accessories that would work with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>