petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter

Superior odor controlAdded fresh, clean scent crystalsAdvanced clumping technologyIdeal for multi-cat households
Average Customer Rating:
2.529 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
7
7 out of 17(41%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Review 1 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Petco low dust multicat litter is great

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NYC,NY
I have SEVEN cats and FOUR litter boxes. I always try to find an affordable cat litter, that clumps well and has NO SCENT. Cats DO NOT really like SCENTED litter.I don't know what people mean by "no odor control"!! I scoop the litter twice a day. I control the odor. Most people are lazy and think litter is fine if cleaned once a week. What happens if you flush your toilet ONCE a week??? Cats are very clean, and litter needs to be scooped at a minimum of once a day.This litter works well, low dust is great because of allergies for the cats too, and it is economical.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Litter

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Eastpointe, MI
I am satisfied with the Petco cat litter. I have tried many other brands and Petco is just as good if not better than other cat litters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Odor control, not clumping

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Clifton, NJ
Worst odor control of any litter I have ever used. The clumps fall apart as soon as you pick them up with the scoop. Petco should take this off the shelves. They should not be selling such an inferior product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product falls flat

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Trego, MT
The is a very inferior product. There is little odor control, and the clumping is not that spectacular either. After one day my box looked like it had been used for 3 days. And the smell was not pleasant at all. This product is also finer and tracks worse than other brands. I won't be using this product again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Product

PostedJune 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, ca
This cat litter does not clump as advertised. It also has no odor control. We have one cat and could smell her business on the first day we tried using the litter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't clump very well

PostedJune 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
I like the price & the fact that this litter is almost dust free. The weather's been unusually damp, but this litter seems to make very weak, crumbly clumps. Didn't have that problem w/ the dusty supermarket brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall Good Litter

PostedFebruary 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Detroit, MI
I have been using this litter for years. I have two cats and three litter boxes. The litter is fairly natural with little additives. I prefer the unscented formula as do my cats. Cats prefer litter that is natural to the dirt and clay that they would use outdoors. Many litters on the market are made more for humans and add scents and additives that probably are not good for your cat especially since they lick their paws. Yes, this litter is a bit dusty but I would take my cat's health over additives that can cause them harm anyday. I believe this is a good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wayyy too dusty!!

PostedNovember 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
I bought this because the price was right. Having 12 cats I have to cut corners wherever possible and litter is pretty expensive. But I can barely get through scooping the 5 litter boxes I put this in because it's so dusty. It made my eyes water and made me gag several times. It does clump fine though, but the dustiness is way too much. Will go back to Tidy Cats when I need to dump and refill.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

excellent clumping!

PostedNovember 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Columbus, OH
i have two cats that share a litter box... before trying this product, i had only used some mainstream litter brands. with those, the urine NEVER clumped. it was always crumbled up and IMPOSSIBLE to scoop. so i thought i'd give this petco brand litter a try since it was on the cheaper side. i am EXTREMELY happy with it! the urine actually clumps for once and is easy to scoop. and my cats definitely track less litter out of the box now. i'll only give it 4 stars because i agree with other reviewers in that it might not do the best job at covering up smells... but my litter box is in the basement so i don't even care about that. i recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dusty and stinky

PostedSeptember 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
It was on sale so I bought it and I will never buy this again. I use it for 7 outside cats(2 feral adults and 5 kittens) and even though the boxes are outside you can smell them which hasn't been a problem with the other litters I have used. I have to use cat litter deodorizer and a lot of it to keep the smell down. I used it and when cleaning out the box the next day told my boyfriend to not use it for his indoor cat since there is no odor control. Not to mention how dusty it is and the fact that the clumps break apart. I'm going to use the rest of the 30 lb container with the outside cats, where the odor is less of an issue and then go back to Arm & Hammer or Tidy Cat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
For the price, this litter is great. My cats track less outside the box so I am overall happy with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like using this litter for my kitty!

PostedJune 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have been using this litter for my kitty for almost a year now and I have heard no complaints from him! It doesn't leave a bad odor and doesn't contain clay in it which is really bad for your pets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WORST litter ever do not wast your money

PostedNovember 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
This litter doesn't work and leaves your home SMELLY. I used it and had to buy EXTRA stuff to go into it like the arm and hammer kitty litter deodorizer just to make the litter last a day. I had to dump out the litter box DAILY and had to scoop it literally right after my cat used the bathroom. This litter is horrible. You might as well just use sand OR buy the better stuff and spend a little more. I'd never buy this again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love this Litter!

PostedOctober 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
I have 18 cats and use four very large litter boxes filled with this Petco Scoopable multi-cat litter. It clumps into very hard clumps and is so easy to scoop and clean. My cats love it too and are very good with using the box and not the floor............this is great stuff!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst litter i've tried so far

PostedSeptember 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
i can smell the worst stench ever from the cat box from upstairs, it smells worse than the waste itself!!
never again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT PURCHASE

PostedAugust 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
This is the worst cat litter ever. It is extremely dusty and smells awful and my cat won't even use it. She used my curtains instead. I usually use the PETCO bulk litter that you can get in the store and thought this would be similar, but it is horrible
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Multi-Cat Formula Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst clumping litter ever

PostedJune 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Although I applaud Petco's effort to conserve the environment by using reusable containers, I will not buy or recomend this product again. It has a very week clumping ability. Just the act of scooping breaks the clumps appart into its original form. This leaves a litter box full of urine soaked dust that is very smelly and requires the whole pan to be dumped to get rid of. I will be going back to my previous brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.