petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages

Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages

The no nuts and bolts approach to premium bird cagesOur Nina Dometop Bird Cage, sized for finches to conures, features an incredibly easy-to-assemble, knock-down designDimensions: 18" L X 20" W X 51" H
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Review 1 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great looking cage

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Korin
from TX
I got the red version of this cage as an upgrade for one of my parakeets and it looks fantastic. It's a deep almost burgundy colour and very spacious for the price. Very easy to put together. Love the large front door, the included perch, metal skirt and the fact that the cage is on wheels. Price was a main factor for me when I decided on this cage. Most around this size were more expensive and I was excited that Petco put this one online.
The negatives: the cage bars are not the welded type but fit inside drilled holes in the frame. I feel like they are a tad less sturdy than the welded and that the design can be hard to keep perfectly clean as food and such can work it's way inside the crevices. Also if you use snap-on food bowls or toys you'll see the difference between these bars and welded ones as welded bars are more stiff and things really latch into place on those. The food cups that came with the cage are too big for my bird as well, something I more or less expected.
My cage was slightly damaged when I got it. I don't think this is a manufacturing issue but rather a shipping problem. One of the side panels had badly bent tabs and a bent bar. I had to run to the hardware store for pliers so I could bend everything back in place before putting it together. There were also scratches in a few places from the box being banged around and damaged during shipping. I didn't want to mess with returning it so I just used the touch-up paint and called it a day. Touch up paint is a poor match and looks pink compared to the red of the cage, but luckily the scratches were not overly large so it's not noticeable unless you know were to look.
Overall I give it a 4 because I prefer welded bars and because of the shipping damage and subsequent hassle. If it weren't for that I would say 5 paws!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great House

PostedNovember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
JMC1
from Columbia Maryland
This is a great cage. My Cockatiel has adjusted to his new cage quickly. The size of the cage allows more room so that the water is not a mess each day. The cleaning is a dream and the seeds guards are A+++. Feather still may float outside the edge but the seeds are kept in.
Thanks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great cage

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
monica22
This is a great cage for a great price. I've been shopping for months, new& used. This is a great value and my parrotlettes love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
birdlover98
from Spokane, WA
This cage is so wonderful! It is big enough for my cockatiel and all of his toys, and it has room to spare. It is really easy to clean, and it has a liner so bird seed don't fall on the floor. A wonderful product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best purchase ever

PostedSeptember 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
katess
from Eagan, MN
Great cage- easy to clean, looks great and the price was right.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sturdy cage

PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
petrie
from lancaster ca
a very nice and sturdy cage with half inch bar spacing.
I am so happy with this cage I plan to purchase another one for my second bird.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice cage

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
ljp03
from NY
This cage is well made, fairly easy to assemble (with two people), and looks great. My cockatiel is having a bit of trouble getting in and out of the cage - the side bars are horizontal and she can climb, but she is afraid to go in and out of the front door as the bars front and back are vertical (no where to grab without sliding!) This is something that the manufacturer should take into consideration, as should a bird owner who knows their bird.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage!

PostedFebruary 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Birdlover2
The Nina Dometop cage is perfect for my Jenday Conure. She loves it. It was sent/delivered quickly, and was super easy to assemble. Looks great in my living room too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

bird loves it

PostedFebruary 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
dinobird
its a great bed! i put it together within 20 minutes. One thing that is slightly flimsy is the seed catchers very loose and scare my bird if someone bumps into and easily falls apart. Handles with springs are sort of sticky and hard to open. But other than that great buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Bird Loves It

PostedDecember 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tomsde
from Newark, DE
My little green cheeked conure just loves her new cage. I transfered her from a cheaper, less substantial cage and she never looked back. The 3 food bowls are great for feeding healthy foods. The cage is sturdy and easy to clean.
Petco has the best prices anywhere for this cage! I was astouded I got such a steal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice Cage

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ashly
As advertised, this product from Avian Adventures arrived packaged very well with all the cage parts wrapped to reduce damage during shipping. It took me about 45 mins (or less) to assemble the cage and while doing so it was obvious that quality materials were used throughout. While i knew the dimensions before purchase, I must say that this cage would be perfect if it were just a bit wider, without being as wide as the next size up.
For the money, especially through PetCo, this is a lovely cage and i would recommend it to a friend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful habitat for my bird

PostedOctober 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
BLUEE
from FOREST HILL MD
i I PURCHASED THIS A FEW WEEKS AGO AND MY HUSBAND PUT IT TOGETHER IN VERY LITTLE TIME. ITS A BEAUTIFUL CAGE AND MADE VERY WELL. IT HAS A LOT OF ROOM AND I ALSO GOT THE CORNER PIECE FOR MY LITTLE CONURE TO STAND ON. IT IS EASY TO CLEAN AND THATS IMPORTANT WHEN YOU HAVE 6 BIRDS LIKE ME AND ANOTHER ON THE WAY. I DEFINITELY WILL BUY ANOTHER CAGE FROM AVIAN ADVENTURE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT CAGE

PostedOctober 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
HKMSCM
I think this is a terrific cage. The only problem is that the seed tray does not fit exact at the corners and a little seed still gets on the floor. Overall, this is a superior product and sure has eliminated a lot of mess on the floor. My canary seems to love his new home. He even uses the large perch. Am very happy with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little cage

PostedOctober 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alias
Its just the right size for two very naughty lovebirds, nice to look at, and its easy for me to take care of.
The only complaint would be that the seed catcher doesn't hook on very well, but still is handy to have.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So good I ordered another

PostedSeptember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
iEmpress
from Northampton, MA
This cute as a button little cage assembled in minutes, and it feels plenty sturdy. It comes with 3 stainless steel food cups, and a super-smart shelf down below. Too convenient! The manufacturer even includes a small bottle of touch up paint.
I bought two of these to use for rolling the parrots to different places in my home when the added security of a cage (versus playgym or Java Tree) is necessary---like when new people visit or I'm in and out an open door. No more hyper-vigilance, and they're still "in on the action." I also switch the parrots to these when I'm taking their big cages apart for thorough cleaning, perch replacement, etc.
Our medium-sized conures and mini-macaw spend the majority of their time OUT of cage, but they really like being in these safe little playhouse-cages a few hours at a time. The Nina cages have made our lives a lot easier and more fun.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FABULOUS

PostedSeptember 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gee
from Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Perfect for our two lively parakeets - Rock and Roll. VERY easy to keep clean. I use a very mini hand-held cordless vac (made to clean computer key boards) that works beautifully to clean around the seed guards and inside the pan after I remove the newspaper. Easy to put together, but a few bars on the side pieces where severely bent out of shape upon arrival. Fortunately, my spouse is very handly and managed to get them back in place. Seems good and not worth the risk of replacements being damaged. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Avian Adventures Nina Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great purchase

PostedSeptember 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
cruie
I am very happy with my new cage. I was doubtful that you didn't need tools to put it together, but it was true. I even put it together by myself which surprised me. It is very nice looking and has everything you need for a bird.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.