petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avian Adventures Chiquita Dometop Bird Cages

Avian Adventures Chiquita Dometop Bird Cages

The no nuts and bolts approach to premium bird cagesSized for cockatiels to amazonsEasy-to-assemble, knock-down designDimensions: 22"L X 28"W X 63"H
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Avian Adventures Chiquita Dometop Bird Cages
Review 1 for Avian Adventures Chiquita Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Bird cage

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Spokane, WA
This cage was well constructed and easy to assemble. No tools needed. Love the dark ruby color.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Avian Adventures Chiquita Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS IS A 10!!!!!!!!

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
I LOVE this cage!!!!!!!! In fact, I love it so much, that I just bought another one for a different room!!
It was sooooooooo easy to put together, and I am a single, older woman, yet, I was able to do it in 30 minutes. There is nothing at all that I can find wrong about it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Avian Adventures Chiquita Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my Gray

PostedJune 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Buford, GA
The Chiquita cage is perfect for my African Gray. And it was Ordered & Delivered in Just 3 days!!! It was so easy to assemble. Two of the L-shaped pegs on the top of the side panels were bent, but I adjusted them to fit into the slots. I would suggest installing the perch just after placing the side panels. One of the seed guards had a bent tab and was badly scratched (in packing/shipping), and I plan to order a replacement.
It is a beautiful cage, just needs more/better packaging for shipment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Avian Adventures Chiquita Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Big Cage

PostedMarch 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Middleton, WI
My Conur is a young 22+ years old and it was time for an upgrade. It was only reasonable, us humans get new cars, buy a house if we are able. This is a big solid cage. Assembly was tool less, easy and fast, it shipped in two large boxes, you may need help lifting and carrying into the house. It's a lot of cage, I had to make additional room. Now I am motivated to buy a cage for my other bird.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Avian Adventures Chiquita Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Middletown, New Jersey
We have a green conure that needed a new cage. After doing some research, Petco had the best price w/free shipping. The Avian Chiquita Dometop is a great cage! It was delivered in about a week and set up was a breeze. Didn't take more than 15 mins. A couple of places needed to be bent to fit into the slots correctly but that was easy to fix. The seed trays do the job and food cups are easy to take out to refill. Would definitely buy this cage again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Avian Adventures Chiquita Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

once in a blue moon a quality product

PostedNovember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Vermont
It is sad to me that not only are big corporations and financial institutions often sticking it to the rest of us, but their products are often ill-concieved and no good for any purpose other than maximizing their greed. So it was with GREAT PLEASURE to open the box with our new cage today and find a very well designed product. This cage was actually enjoyable to assemble as it was easy, the materials were all top quality and the way it was designed creates a sturdy, solid product. Somebody put a lot of thought into this cage and they did not skimp on quality.
The only two minor problems with the cage are that some of the prongs were bent (as was also reported by another reviewer) and the seed skirts could seal together tighter and more secure. The first problem was not too big a concern as the prongs are able to be bent back into shape--though it does take some force--but the second problem is a minor design flaw that should be corrected. I have already hit up against the skirt twice causing a panel to crash to the ground--but I am a little clumsy and I am sure this won't be a major problem.
Overall, this is a great cage and highly recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Avian Adventures Chiquita Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did Not Disappoint

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
I so wanted an Avian Adventures cage after being miserable with the first cage that we bought a little over a year ago. I wish I knew about AA then!
I first placed an order for one of the darker colors and was so disappointed to find out it was out of stock. At the time, I could only get the white one. Well, I could not be happier with the cage! It is a beautiful white, not a bright white, but a clean and pleasant color. It is very soothing to look at and it is very study and well made. I think another reviewer described the AA white cage as eggshell. Everyday I am so thankful that I ended up getting the white one because I can easily see where there are droppings that need to be cleaned.
Talk about cleaning! My old cage was a nightmare to clean. This cage is a breeze to wipe down. Daily, I use unscented baby wipes on the grate and just water and a paper towel on the bars and everything just comes right off. The cage is SUPER DUPER easy to put together with no bolts and because the seed guards and food and water bowl holders are very simple to remove, you can very easily clean them. The one thing that I had to get used to was how the bowl holders come off as you remove the bowls if you do not hold them in place. You have to hold them as you pull the bowl out; this is not difficult, but was a little annoying at first, but because they come out so easily for cleaning, I consider it a good trade off. Oh, this cage has made cleaning it something that I actually look forward to and not dread.
The only issue we had putting it together was that there were a couple of parts that were bent (and this did not occur in shipping as the cage was bubble wrapped and everything arrived in tip-top shape.) It sure appeared that there was some slight manufacturing defect to these pieces, but my son simply and gently bent the parts back into place with pliers. This may sound like a big negative, but it really was not and the cage still went together very easily, including the perch.
The cage breaks down just as easily to do a thorough cleaning, but if you keep the cage clean on a daily basis, then you can do a monthly deep cleaning by taking the cage apart. I intend to steam-clean mine, just like my old one, except this cage will not take me all afternoon to get the job done.
I cannot recommend this cage highly enough and I should mention that my sweet Caique loves it too. Petco had the best price anywhere and I actually spent less on this cage than the old one which was smaller and awfully hard to maintain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Avian Adventures Chiquita Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

super nice cage

PostedDecember 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
I just got this cage this morning and was able to put it together myself didn't for help...very simple to put together. and it seems to be of good quality...can tell by the way it made and goes together and the heaviness of it. Really like it so far and love the food and water bowls...such a pretty pattern on them. not fond of the price but i really like the cage. Kermit my green cheek conure will love this cage once i spruce it up with more perches and toys.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Avian Adventures Chiquita Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best cage ever

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
I've kept small and mid sized parrots (conure, Amazon and and quaker) for 20 years. This is the best cage I've found for any price. It isn't as big as the cage I used to have, but I like it better, and think my birds do too. The materials are heavier, less inclined to rust and corrode, less vulnerable to heavy beaks. The surfaces are very good for cleaning. I'm not very handy, yet I was able to assemble this cage without any help. All the parts fit perfectly. Because I like to move the cage often, my husband is going to attach the wheels more firmly, but we're very happy with this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Avian Adventures Chiquita Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage!

PostedOctober 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
I've had this cage for over 2 years and compared to other cages I've seen, it is truely the best. It's easy to assemble and the finish looks great! The spring loaded door locks are easy to use & will keep any bird from escaping. The solid doors for the food cups are nice too---they help keep food inside the cage. This cage is very durable & attractive too.
I have a small conure & he really uses all of the space in his cage. He has pleanty of toys & a snuggle hut + several perches at various heights in the cage. He loves climbing around his cage, going from perch to perch. This cage was an investment, but well worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Avian Adventures Chiquita Dometop Bird Cages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great

PostedDecember 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
great qualities but bad prices but great cage
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.