petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size

You'll never buy live food againFarm raised crickets are cooked in the can to lock in the natural juicesJust pop the top and you have a fresh and flavorful diet your animals will readily consumeIdeal for most small lizards, turtles, fish, birds and
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
12 out of 15(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Review 1 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for some baby birds

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
seaplane
from Colorado
We've been using this brand of mini crickets and meal worms to feed baby wild birds such as blue birds and a brambling. Worked very well for them. Also, if you print online ad and sometimes with email offer, PetCo will honor their online price and deals at local stores.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product!

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
DrogosKeeper
from Durham, NC
My bearded dragon loves these. We are going to start offering the larger ones, but up until this point (he is 4-5 months old) these were the perfect size. They do smell a little as others have mentioned...but it smells no where near as badly as live crickets smell after few days in the keeper!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

He loves it

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
soursop
from meridian idaho
My turtle loves this item. The worms are good size and is a good treat for my turtle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect size for baby geckos

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sewgood
from Oakmont, PA
These are nice and small for baby geckos. However, most store-bred geckos are raised on live crickets - if raised on live, they will NOT eat freeze dried! We found this out the hard way, and had to run back to the pet store when our baby Leopard Gecko would not eat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST FOOD EVER!

PostedMay 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
mrtaz510
from union city
Right when i open the can my leopard gecko comes out of his cave and he eats them right away. the only live food i give him is meal worms. Ive had him for a week now
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My hedgehog loves them!

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
RosieTheHedgehog
from Boston MA
She gets some every night. A single can lasts almost a week for us. Never had a problem with them going bad before I use them all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
DaynerXD
from Lowell, MA
I have two bearded dragons and I had been giving them live crickets for a few months. They were just too difficult to keep alive, and messy. I figured I would try the canned ones and my beardies both like them. They stay good for at least two weeks, because thats when I run out. Much cheaper and more manageable than live crickets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
robden
my turtle doesn't like it that much.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Blah!

PostedJune 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
ShadowDragon
My beardies eat... allot, they will eat anything I put in their food dish, but these creepy little things that remind me of raisins... They just wont touch them. I only bought them out of desperation when my usual pet store was out of crickets.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good food!

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deb1
Some of my turtles will eat these just like live food. They love them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedAugust 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
pasta
from Purdon, Texas
I have ordered this product for feeding orphaned baby birds that eat insects as a main part of their diet and this fits the bill! Since I can't go out and catch the insects they need, the mini size is perfect for the babies. Thanks! I recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They may stink but they get the job done!

PostedMay 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lauren91
from IL
I bought my leo some live crickets and some of these canned ones. I really like these because they are smaller and are easier for my gecko to eat up. As soon as I spoon a couple into the bowl its already getting up and running over to eat some. They sure do have a smell to them though so I don't recommend taking a whiff.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

doesnt last

PostedNovember 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
jagfan130
i bought these crickets for my two frogs and yes they are nice and they eat them with no problem but they never lasted. it says to put them in the refrigerator after opening and i do and the next day or two i open them up and they have molded. i tried having them out of the refrigerator and they still molded. it would be ok if they would at least last a week. Two days is a waste of money. I'm sorry but these are bad if you are on a budget or don't have time to keep going out to buy more.
If theres somone out there having the same problem, i switched to exo-terra crickets, and JurassiDiet Easi-Crickets. i have never had a problem using their products or having them mold.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini Crickets for mini mouths!

PostedApril 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
BlueTongueSkink
from Broomfield, CO
These juicy, fresh crickets are perfect for smaller mouthed lizards and frogs. Pre-cooked, not freezed dried. Freezed dried foods lack the nutrition these cooked crickets have. These crickets are great for reptile mums who hate live food, so it makes feeding easy and well, easy. Overall; Great pre-cooked crickets are a must for small reptiles. Its a must have.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets Mini-Size
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy feeding

PostedJanuary 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
(No name)
from (No location)
This product is awsome. My leopard gecko loves it. But to encourage it to eat, I take tweezers/feeding tongs and wave it around to catch my gecko's attention then, I drop it in front of him and he eats it. It is very convenient, it is easy, and it is cheap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.