petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Tropical AquaTable Aquarium Octagon

Midwest Tropical AquaTable Aquarium Octagon

The beauty within this 28-gallon elongated aquarium can be seen from every angleThe clear acrylic tank displays a world of wonder to family and friendsIlluminated from beneath, the light gently shines through the blue glass gravel
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Tropical AquaTable Aquarium Octagon
Review 1 for Midwest Tropical AquaTable Aquarium Octagon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks Great

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Benedetto
from Katonah, NY
This product is great. The water is clear, easily lighted from the bottom, and an elegant furniture piece. I can't think of getting another tank for a good price like this. Easy to setup and clean. It comes with most of the essentials and enough space to tuck equipment and wires underneath or behind it. I am overall happy with this purchase.
I wish Petco offered the larger version of this product. (40 Gallon Octagon)
Things to think about when buying this tank.
- It is a little smaller than you would expect.
- It runs longer rather than circular.
- The Filter, Plants, Blue Glass, and Light are all included.
- You will still need to buy a 100 to 150 watt Heater.
- You should get an air pump, the filter is not sufficient.
- It helps to have a power strip with a built in Timer, as the light is hard to turn on with the switch residing under the base of the tank.
- I think the provided filter is enough since it's rated up to 40 gallons, but I bought a spare replica for double that action in keeping the water clean, since its positioned near a window.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Tropical AquaTable Aquarium Octagon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a must for aquarium lovers

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
deerpinky
from ohio
Love It!! Very easy to set up. When people step in my door their reaction is "oh my, that is beautiful."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Tropical AquaTable Aquarium Octagon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Midwest Tropical Aqua Table

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
pwgf
from Markham IL.
I think the table is very beautiful it is an awesome conversation peice. This company also makes an end table. I hope that you get that in . Love your sells.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Tropical AquaTable Aquarium Octagon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
kida
from Memphis
I love love this tank its a very easy assemble & beautiful . I find myself watching the fish more than my t.v can't wait to add the end tables.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Tropical AquaTable Aquarium Octagon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy!

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
ladybird4291
Easy to set up, beautiful addition to our home...dont care for the condensation that occurs near the pump on the glass top, but that is easily fixable with a nicknack covering it. over all ...its a great buy and the fish seem to enjoy it!..would definately recommend for anyone wanting a tank/table combo
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+19points
35of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Tropical AquaTable Aquarium Octagon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most unique furniture ever

PostedAugust 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
evango
This is more than a fish tank, this is a centerpiece furniture. I finally got around to buying it and I can say it was definitely worth every penny!
First off, the tank came very well packed. It was fully stocked with 5 different sized plastic plants and enough glass gravel to cover the bottom of the tank. This really saved me a lot of money. I still bought some decor though as the plants alone aren't enough. You can also change out the gravel if you'd like, but the glass gravel it comes with is translucent to let the light from below shine through very well.
Before I purchased it, I had read that some people complained about the outlet cord couldn't be hidden. I solved this problem by cutting a couple small slices in my carpet and tunneled the cord under the carpet and thereby hiding it. Otherwise, the cord's gonna be a problem for tripping and overall will not look good. If you have hardwood or tiles, go to your nearest hardware store and try to find a safety cord cover (they have them for baby-proofing).
So overall great tank, great supplies, great shipping, and only a minor issue with the outlet cord. My guests will be talking about it for a long time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+30points
33of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Tropical AquaTable Aquarium Octagon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I want another

PostedMay 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
animalfreak101
from Spokane Valley, WA
I bought one about a year and a half ago and I put it in my living room and it is beautiful and I love it. It brings in the wonder of an aquarium but it doesn't waste space I use mine for a coffee table.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
27of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Tropical AquaTable Aquarium Octagon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful world

PostedFebruary 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
sarahhh
I got this tank as a gift from my husband. I love aquariums and entertaining, so it was wonderful to be able to combine the two! i have gotten many compliments and after everyone is gone it is nice to sit and relax watching the fish swim around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Tropical AquaTable Aquarium Octagon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The coolest tank by far

PostedJanuary 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kitana
works as a centerpiece to a room or as just a coffee table. fits in nicely with any decor. Add simple fish like Goldfish,guppies , neons and mollies to start. Want more of a challenge! Add Angelfish! Enjoy! Comes complete with filter and lighting add the gravel and the decor and your all set to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Tropical AquaTable Aquarium Octagon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A nice aquarium

PostedJanuary 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Neptune
from Indiana
This aquarium was given to me. It is a nice aquarium. We have received a lot of compliments with it. The light is underneath the aquarium. When it is turned on, the light against the blue gravel provides a nice color to the aquarium. CON. The cord for the light has to run somewhere. It can be an unsightly trip hazard if the aquarium is used as a coffee table. I found that it works best if the aquarium is an end table or an extra table against the wall so you can hide the cord. Also, there is limited space between the cut out area of the coffee table lip and the glass table top. This limits the filter system that can be used. Overall, I like the aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Tropical AquaTable Aquarium Octagon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My best aquarium!

PostedApril 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
ZAK007
from California
This is the #1 aquarium that I would reccomend to anyone! It may be pricey, but it is all worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.