petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls

Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls

Wholesome, meaty, and convenient beef dog food rollFortified with essential vitamins and mineralsScientifically formulated by veterinarians and animal nutritionistsNatural dog food contains only premium ingredientsUse as treats, add to dry food, or feed as a complete meal
Average Customer Rating:
4.298 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 104 reviews
5 stars
81
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
15
88 out of 104(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Review 1 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My picky little MinPin

PostedJanuary 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Jersey Shore
I only feed my MinPin the few foods my Vet recommends. Trouble is she is a picky eater and would never take a liking to any of those brands. Recently I heard about Natural Balance and deceided to give it a try. I purchased a 2.5 lb. beef roll and now she is in her glory! She eats her entire meal and licks the bowl clean at feeding time. Her energy has increased and her coat shines like never before! When I get home from work each day she greets me at the door as always, only now she makes a B-line after the greeting and sits in front of the fridge and waits for her meal. She is one happy little camper now. I will be purchasing the other flavors to give her some varity at meal time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible new formula!

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Long Beach, Ca
I can't believe they changed the formula. My dogs won't eat it! They have been eating this since they were puppies! Who's idea was this? What dog asked for sweet potato's or cranberries in there food! I ended up throwing it away. Do not buy it. Check the date on the review. The most recent are all bad!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beef Formula

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Turlock, Ca
The original Van Pattens beef formula is the best....don't change it with carrots and sweetpotatoes....my dogs live in California but they are not vegetarians...."Beef" No BHA, BHT, or Ethoxyquin fortified with vitamins and minerals.
"NO CARROTS AND SWEETPOTATOES" If it is delicious leave it alone...KEEP THE OLD FORMULA.....BORDER COLLIES AND McNABS LOVE VAN PATTENS BEEF FORMULA !
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DISAPPOINTED

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
I HAVE TO AGREE WITH OTHER REVIEWS CONCERNING THE "NEW" BEEF FORMULA DOG FOOD ROLLS: DISAPPOINTED. MY DOGS LOVED THE OLD BEEF ROLLS AND NOW THE ONE DOG JUST SMELLS IT AND WALKS AWAY. I HAVE TO AGREE IT SEEMS DRIER AND MORE CRUMBLY THAN BEFORE. I TOO WILL HAVE TO FIND A NEW PRODUCT AS A TREAT FOR MY TWO DOGS. SORRY NATURAL BALANCE, YOU MISSED THE MARK ON THIS ONE, AND NOT ONLY THAT BUT SO FRUSTRATED BECAUSE I HAD TO KEEP GOING BY THE STORE AND THEY NEVER HAD IT ANYWAYS. ORDERED IT ONLINE ONLY TO FIND OUT I WASTED MY TIME TO KEEP CHECKING ON IT AND MY MONEY TO EVEN ORDER IT.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Was great, now terrible

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Natural Balance Beef Roll used to be great! We used it all the time as a training treat and to get our dog to take her pill (she hates pills).
The new formula is more expensive, is a smaller roll and the formula was changed for the worse.
Please understand that the current version is of far inferior quality and usefullness than the old version.
Hopefully, there will be enough feedback to Natural Balance to get them to change back. I understand price increases, but they took a great product at a reasonable price and made a terrible product at a less reasonable price.
Summary: Skip this poor product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

New recipe is no good

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
I started buying the beef roll when it was $10 / 4lb roll. It was recommended by a trainer, who said that dogs loved it, and he wasn't kidding. I've given it to dozens of dogs since and they all wanted more.
Unfortunately, the new recipe isn't the same and dogs don't love it, anymore. I've justified higher prices and smaller portions, but I can't justify buying this completely different product. I used to recommend this stuff to everyone, but I can't anymore, because it's not the same. Specifically, it's not better; it's worse and dog reactions to it are the best test that I know.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for training treat

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Allen< TX
We use this for a training treat. Our Havanese loves it and he will do anything for this treat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Why Ruin a Good Product?

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mission Viejo, CA
I've been giving my dog Natural Balance Beef roll for years. He used to love it until they decided to change the formula. Now he won't eat it, and it's like cutting through plaster. I wrote to complain to the company. The rep claimed that they made it more nutritious with less additives. Oh, sure! Then why did they change the size from 4 to 3.5 pounds? I won't buy it anymore and now I'm looking for another brand that my dog will eat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

New formula

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bowling Green. Ohio
The old formula was the only dog food my shih-tsu would eat. Now he won't touch the new stuff. I don't know what to do. Why did you change it? Dry and crumbley. Fire the guys whose idea it was.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

new formula for beef roll

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cypress, CA
It is terrible, it crumbles, does not hold my dogs meds and it stinkes. I like the original formula better and I don't understand why you would change it? Now I need to break open a can of chicken to get her to eat along with her dry food. BRING BACK THE OLD BEEF ROLL!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

New recipe

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Frederick, md
My dogs used to love this roll. Since they changed the recipe and packaging, none of them will touch it any more. Please go back to the old recipe!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WHY!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fountain hills, az.
This new log is a joke! My dogs have been eating the old log for almost 2 years, and won't eat this one at all! I don't blame them. It is dry and crumbles all over when cutting! I'm taking mine back. They made a huge mistake! Who's big idea was it anyway?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NB beef dog food rolls

PostedMay 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
The product is a half pound smaller and the formula looks different. My dog took a few days to get used to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please bring back the old formula

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Our pups loved this product it was all they would eat and now won't eat the new formula at all. It's very dry and crumbles when slicing it. So disappointed! Please consider going back to the old formula!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

beef roll, Natural Balance

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from longview tx
I have been using Natural Balance for over 8 years now but the new formula is horrible. My dogs will just starve rather than eat it. Taking back the rolls that I purchased online to the store. Natural Balance has made a mistake changing the beef roll.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Boooooooooo!!!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hemet ca
This product USED to be great, until they changed the formula. The food is extremely hard to cut now, it's dry and crumbly once it is cut, and it used to be the only food my picky dogs would eat but now they will not even touch it. Not only that but they also raised the prices. It's really too bad because they did have a great product at one point.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

New Packaging

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
So they have decreased the size from 4Lbs to 3.5Lbs in the new packaging and increased the cost by $1. No Thanks
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EZ feeding

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NY 12020
This is the only food my Pomeranian will eat. She is the worlds "fussiest" eater. Have tried all wet and dry dog foods I could find and this is it. Just make sure you refrigerate the roll after you open it. Simply slice a piece and break it up in the bowl and done...
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great treat

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bloomington, IN
My dogs love this in kongs. Good on its own for training
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Natural Balance Beef Formula Dog Food Rolls
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good as treats

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
I slice these logs into 1/4 inch rounds then cut the slices into little squares so I end up with cubes of this dog food, and it's great to use as a treat. My guys love it, and I'm not giving them actual treats that are maybe too rich. I like to carry these in a treat bag with me in the park when my two Italian Greyhounds are off-leash and I reward them frequently for good recall, sitting, and obeying the down command. It's a relatively healthy treat, even with sugar/sucrose being in the top ten ingredients (second ingredient with other flavors), and I feel pretty good feeding it them, again because it's not junk food but they think it is! I also put the cubed pieces into a rolling treat dispenser to entertain them for a bit. It's pretty versatile, but I wouldn't use it as part of their main meals. Just for treats. And their tummies are good with it too, big plus!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>