petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PETCO Litter Box Mat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

PETCO Litter Box Mat

Protects floors and reduces litter trackingCleans litter from pawsPerfect for any size litter boxStops spills from migratingMachine washable
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
22 out of 25(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Review 1 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and soft

PostedMay 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Naples, NY
Love this product. I previously had the plastic corrugated mats to hold litter, but they were a pain to clean and the cats did not like walking on them. These Litter Box mats are so soft and nice looking, my cats do not mind at all walking on them. Cleaning up now is a breeze and if it gets real dirty I can just wash it. How great is that!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect urine absorber

PostedApril 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Antioch, Il.
I have cats that sometimes miss the litter box even though they are in the box. They are great because the absob the urine but they don't let the urine go through to the floor. They wash up great too. I also cut larger ones up to use where I have problems with my cat that has kidney failure and is incontinent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Mat

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Columbia, MD
I have the 20x28 size mat and I think it is the perfect size. I have it protecting my carpet, but it has a rubber bottom that would help prevent it from slipping on a hard floor, which I also like.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's good! Less tracking - comfy on paws

PostedDecember 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
This seems to be the best litter mat we've tried. My girl kitty is quite particular about her mittens and she doesn't mind touching this. (Other mats she jumped over, and avoided completely) There is definitely less tracking, but, because it catches so much litter it's important to sweep, shake, or vacuum the mat periodically, 'cause when it's too covered in litter there will be tracking. Maybe that would be considered "user error" but I only rate it 4 paws instead of 5 because when it's too full there is some tracking. We have the tan one, it goes well with the light wood decor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good buy

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Works as advertised.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helpful

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
I found this mat to be better than the nothing I had going on in front of my litterbox before. Everyday there was a ton of litter I'd have to sweep up. Now it is greatly reduced and much of it is on the mat which is helpful when you can't stand having little pieces of corn kitty litter stuck to your foot. you can brush it off the mat but it is a little hard to get it all off and I think i caused slight scratches to the mat using a brush on it. I have the bluish gray background with the blue paws, it's cute. It won't get everything but its still very helpful. I still have the occasional time where my cat statche still tracks it all over the bathroom so the mat can only do so much, you'll still have to sweep but for the most part should be much less. My only reocmmendation is to give the cat lots of room to step on it before walking away, if only a small piece is out and the box covers most of it then it won't do a good job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have tried the rubber mats and this one traps the litter so much better. Also it easier to keep clean without the little groves and is machine washable. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful for bladder problems

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Our cat frequently misses the litter box, even though she's trying to use it. These pads do a good job of protecting the floor, and are easily washable and dryable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

waterproof mat

PostedDecember 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
from New York
Great product. I am actually using it as a floor mat when I go swimming at the local indoor pool. It works great as a floor cover when I change back into my clothes. Does a great job and now I don't have to put my towel on the floor. Wish it were just a little larger and came in a pattern other then pet related.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good

PostedNovember 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Lockport, NY
Mat is perfect for under the bigger litter boxes. I am able to use a broom to clean them and am very happy with them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works pretty well

PostedNovember 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
from North Jersey
It traps a lot of litter and is very easy to clean and air dries quickly. It does a pretty good job with containing the litter. Good investment
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Accident Forgiveness

PostedAugust 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Washington, DC
My kitty has urine accidents that get on the floor. This thing is great because it protects our tile floor and keeps the bathroom from smelling barn-ish from cat urine. The urine "stains" the mat, but eventually dries so there no lingering wetness. Plus, it's machine washable! I haven't washed it yet, so I hope it holds up. I didn't buy it to prevent litter from spreading so I ignored the reviews that said that didn't work. However, it takes litter right off her paws! Awesome!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mat for ferrets!

PostedMay 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
I use this mat in a corner underneath the SlippyPads (corner potty pads for ferrets). It is washable and catches up those inevitable "misses". I was worried the ferrets would scratch at it but they don't. I am ordering a couple more today.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cute, but mostly ineffective.

PostedApril 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Maple Valley, wa
Our newly adopted cat is a digger and he's pretty big too. He seems to end up tracking a lot of litter through the house.
Largely, this mat doesn't really help much. It is definitely non-slipping and it's nice looking. However it really does not do much to attract the excess litter and somehow much of the litter ends up under the mat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the perfect mat

PostedMarch 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
I really liked the size of this mat, and it's soft, so I knew that it would be comfortable on the cat's paws. I was hopeful when I bought it. However, I didn't realize how counterproductive it was going to be with my cat.
We have a large, high sided litter box for her, because she has always gone a little bonkers with the digging. The litter went all over the place, and I'm used to the clean up by now, but I believe it made the issue worse. The mat was almost too soft to be effective, if that makes any sense. The rogue scoopable litter pieces would roll off the mat and all over the floor with little effort from her. If you have a cat that goes overboard with burying their messes, this mat's not for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this mat!

PostedMay 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
I use these mats under my litter boxes but have found another use for them, too. I put them under my water bowls! My household has several cats and a dog and sometimes (well, most times!) the water doesn't stay in the bowls. Plus, one of my cats is constantly fapping and playing with the water bowls and water goes everywhere. With these mats down under the bowls, water is obsorbed and doesn't spead to floor and ruin it. Plus, having them machine washable is an extra added bonus. Love, love, love these mats!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works well

PostedApril 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
This mat has limited the amount of litter tracking throughout the house. Most of the liter stays on the mat from his feet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedApril 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Phila., PA
I have a cat with a litter box issue - she doesn't use it! So I put this where she was going on my floor and it works great! The pad absorbs the urine & protects my floor. The best thing is that it's washable! I throw it in my washer & dryer every few days, works & looks as good as new.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Litter box Mat

PostedMarch 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
I was relieved when I got this mat... The litter sticks to it and it's large enough for the cat to acctually step on it after using the litter box.. It's much better than the regular Mats and also it sticks to the floor so it doesnt move..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PETCO Litter Box Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Litter Mat!

PostedJanuary 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Louisiana
I love this litter mat. It sticks to the floor and the cat litter sticks to it! It's big enough to put the whole litterbox on and have enough around the sides to catch stray litter. It's easy to vacuum up litter and is also really cute! I am very pleased with this purchase. I've finally found a good litter mat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>