petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food

Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food

Holistic and balanced large breed dog foodGluten-free blend featuring natural, holistically formulated ingredientsSolid Gold dog food contains bison and ocean fish mealNo artificial preservatives, added sugar or byproductsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.842 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
5 stars
69
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
75 out of 76(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Review 1 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for sensitive skin.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
SDShep
from San Diego CA
We have used Solid Gold Wolf King for our 100# + Australian Shepherd mix for over a year. He had severe skin conditions with hot spots and hair loss. Our vet determined he was allergic to poultry, etc. Since using Solid Gold his coat has returned and is now full and shiny. The only negative side effect is gas, gas, gas!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best dog food on the market!

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
CherylMck
from East Moline, IL
I have been using Solid Gold for several years and was so happy to find Petco started carrying it a few years ago. When I received the e-mail from Petco.com with the free shippping offer I was very surprised & pleased that I could order it online to be delivered to my front door!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Repeat Delivery

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
neecee333
from Pinellas Park, FL
I love providing Solid Gold Wolf King for my two Labrador Retrievers, especially after reading, Food Pets Die For by Ann N. Martin. I'm not sure I'll continue Repeat Delivery, however, as the vacuum seal was broken on the food when it arrived. The vacuum seal prevents spoiling since no preservatives are added to the food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have Been Feeding This Food For Years!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
TheSocialPet
from San Leandro, CA
Several years ago I was working at a doggie day care center in Oakland. This person had very high standards for all her dogs, and she was feeding Solid Gold Adult Maintenance to all the guest dogs. I tried the Wolf King for my dogs for the lack of all filler grains, the bison and fish meat and all the wonderful ingredients in a single kibble at an affordable price. I also love that the bag is air sealed upon arrival, meaning that the bag is not contaminated during shipping.
Since then I have fed the food to many, many dogs ranging from puppies to senior dogs and both small, medium and large dogs. I do soften the food with juices to help the small dogs eat the larger pieces, but the mini Dachshund has no problem eating it dry!
I love this food and wouldn't feed anything else!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
WWWScotty
The best kibble for large breeds when a raw diet isn't an option. Easy transition for delicate constitutions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food, well worth the price.

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Avesnovuelan
from MN
We have two pit-mixes, one is about 55 pounds and one 65. We switched to this food because our girl is allergic to chicken and it contains no chicken or chicken by products. Both dogs love the food and we have seen shinier coats, reduced stomach problems, and even better breath since switching, probably because they are digesting it so well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs love this food

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
DAW5
from Bellflower, Calif
I have 2 large dogs that love this food. On of my dogs has itchy feet, and the itching has seemed to subside since I switched to Wolf King. The other dog is a little overweight and has lost some weight since the changeover also. I recommend waiting for online sales at Petco for the Solid Gold products as you can get a much better deal than in the stores. Have had no problems with the shipping as it comes boxed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
GWMillman
This is the best dog food on the market hands down at any price point (I have a large St. Bernard with digestive sensitivities). I use the automatic delivery service (as I live very very far away from a large city) and it is flawless! It saves the worry, forgetfulness, and trip to the store, very impressed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only food that my collie can eat

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from WY
My english standard collie would always throw up her food the first years of her life. I tried all of the different types of food at the stores. This is the ONLY food that she can eat, and not have stomach problems. I would recommend this food to anyone who has dogs with sensitive stomachs. She is 9 years old and doing very well on this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It saved his ears!!!

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
reneek
from Nebraska
Our dog is an indoor/outdoor dog. He had horrible ear infections the first few years of his life. They were so terrible that he had to be knocked out so they could flush them and he was on very strong antibiotics
! Since switching to Solid Gold - Wolf King, he has had minimal ear problems. His coat is shiny and healthy. He eats 1/2 as much as the popular name-brand we were feeding. He has enough energy to hit the roads with me; he's the best running buddy! Without Solid Gold, I sincerely believe our 5 yr old dog would be deaf! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs Love it

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuckyChance
from Palm Springs, CA
Both dogs love it...what more can I say. If they are happy I am happier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
GSDs
from Atlanta, GA
Best food ever!
My dogs both have sensitive stomachs and this food keeps all of us happy :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

dogs love it, no allergy problems

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
davmis
from Middle, Tn
I can have a good food delivered for less than going to the store and the dogs love it. I have 5 large dogs, a few of them have allergies and the Solid Gold Wolf King is the only food that I can feed all 5 without problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dog food

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
WildOneHere
from Richmond, RI
My Lab was shedding terribly until my trainer suggested I try Sold Gold Wolf King and Solid Gold Sea Meal. My dog LOVED the food and in less than a week the shedding was almost nil and her coat is so soft and shining. She asts like a pup again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Gold products equal solid nutrition

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nursezan
from Memphis, TN
I have been feeding my 3 large adult dogs Solid Gold Dog Food products (the bison and vegetables, or the chicken and potatoes, or lamb, or fish varieties) for over a year. All 3 dogs are extremely healthy and energetic, have normal body weights and the shiniest coats possible. They love the taste of all the varieties, they're satisfied and do not overeat. The food is made of the highest quality ingredients (safe for even a human to consume) and it's packaged in the USA, giving me the confidence I am providing my beloved animals with the gold standard in pet nutrition.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Skin Allergies

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
MontyKrieter
from Bartlett, IL
We started our 4 yr old Aussie on Wolf King a year ago. Previously, he had terrible skin allergies to the point of steriod shots, daily med's, and was still chewing his paws to the point of infection. What a battle!! A co-worker suggested this food & viola!! No more problems!! Love this food! Thank you Solid Gold...
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent food

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
kmarsh
from Washington
We've had our 2 basset hounds on this food for several years and our vet always comments on the health of the dogs. They maintain a very healthy weight and have great skin, coats, and muscles.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This dog food is awesome!!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
DogWalker27
from Overland Park, KS
I have a 5-year old viszla. I have gone through many dog foods over the years to find the right one. We walk everyday, so I'm the one who has always picked-up his stools. When I saw that the grass eat ate the day before was actually digested in the stool, I new this was the dog food for me. I will never feed my dogs anything else but BISON!!!!! His coat is so soft and shiny and he has lost weight, getting the "icky" stuff out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs' favorite

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
BuckeyeDogLover
from Philadelphia, PA
I have 8 dogs (6 pit bulls), and they all love this one. Even with some of the other Solid Gold, my dogs can sometimes be finicky, but they love this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Solid Gold Wolf King Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Large Breed Food - for my Sunshine dog

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
DogLover562
from Long Beach, California
I agree that Solid Gold is a good food. This large breed formula. I am currently in rotation with Sunshine Farms and Solid Gold pet food and my dogs are thriving. Their coats are excellent and stool nice and compact!
Give this brand a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>