petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318

Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318

Provides mechanical, biological and chemical filtrationFully submersible internal turtle tank filterTurtle Clean filter cleans tanks up to 30 gallonsLow noise pump system
Average Customer Rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
14
16 out of 34(47%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Review 1 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I hope this helps anyone that is new to having turtle terrariums.

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
I tried this filter and another external filter on a 30 gallon terrarium for aquatic turtles. It became dirty and had a low-flow by the next day or so. I think it might be a decent set-up for a 10 gallon tank. I tried it alone after cleaning it, replacing the parts and am sad to say that I couldn't use the filter. The current was strong or fast enough to properly filtrate 30 gallons. I hope that if you consider buying this product, you will only use it on small tanks for the best results. I don't review a lot of products but this one, I ended up giving away to a friend in need of a 10 gallon fish tank filter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont waste your money

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Orleans, LA
This is classified as a "reptile/turtle" filter for up to 30 gallons. I can not stress enough that this filter is not fit for turtles in any size tank. We had two stinkpot hatchling turtles in a ten gallon with this filter and it did not keep the water clean at all and crapped out on us after only a couple of weeks. Dont waste your money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sub-par

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Royersford, PA
I can't praise this product too much. I have two juvenile red eared sliders in a 10 gallon tank, and I have to clean the entire tank in my bathtub at least once a week. Honestly, the filter works for a while, but the blue sponge filter cartrige gets full really fast and the second chamber with the bio sponge and carbon gets absolutely gross! I can't seem to win when it comes to filters. Who can keep up with such messy turtles!?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

is NOT a good filter

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NC
this filter needs to be thoroughly cleaned at least once a week and thats with weekly water changes! i only have one newt in my tank and this thing really gets disgusting! newts are suppose to be cleaner than turtles too, so definitely not good for a turtle either. i heard good things about the 501 canister, so i think I'm going to see if that one works better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good...

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
We have a red eared slider; he's not even a year old. This filter kept the water clear while it was empty, but as soon as we put him in, the water started getting super cloudy. There is only maybe 2-3 gallons of water, and this filter kept it clean all of 12 hours. The filter is super quiet like it promises, but it doesn't keep anything clean. Wouldn't recommend it at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best yet!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Louisiana
I have 2 baby Red Eared Sliders, a 2 yr old Musk Turtle, and 2 small fish from the ditch out back, all in the same 20 gallon tank. I tell you, those sliders are some pretty messy turtles! I've tried other waterfall type filters and they all eventually stopped working after only a few months. But this filter has kept up for a year so far. It gets filled up fast from my sliders who tend to shed their skin (gross). I'm not sure if that's normal or not, but it happens. But this filter is what I would recommend for your tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Filter

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Any review that says this filter is a good choice is not true. This filter is the absoloute worst, plain and simple. I use it in a 15 gallon take thats about 1/3 filled with water and 1 baby red eared slider. Couldnt even keep the water clean for a week and it doesnt matter how often you clean the filter. WILL NOT KEEP THE WATER CLEAN!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
6of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so far so good

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
its working very well, i got a 12lb turtle and she hasnt destord it yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST TURTLE FILTERS EVER I USE TO HAVE A 501 FILTER THAT COSTED 55 DOLLARS BUT IT A RIPOFF IT ONLY LASTED ME LIKE 5 MONTHS WITH ONE TURTLE BUT IM AMAZED WITH THIS 318 FILTER ITS SO EASY TO MANTAIN AND CLEAN AND SO FAR I HAD IT FOR A YEAR AND IT STILL WORKS GOOD AND I HAVE IT WITH TWO TURTLES JUST REMEMBER DO NOT BUY THE 501 FILTER
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
I recently inherited a red eared slider from a freind i went to petco to purchas a new filter. When i got ther i was told it was a great filter quite and efficient. It worked well for anout fifteen minutes and the only thing that was in the tank was water. I returned this filter and was given another. Later that week it gave out once more overall it is a terrible filter I recomend spendig fifty dollars and gettin a good filter
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very nice

PostedMarch 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
I just got one of these today and wow what a difference. Very quite, I had to get close to tank to make sure was running. This is a great product and the people at the store were very nice and helpful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING*****

PostedMarch 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Huntersville, NC
I bought this filter a few days ago. I put it in the water and it started up right away. The reason I say its amazing is because my tank water was kind of dirty from sand and when I came back an hour after putting it in the water clearer than day. The only problem I had was that if the tank had sand in it, the filter might pull the sand towards it because of the current.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great buy

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
from US Virgin Islands
I have two turtles papito and mario and the pump worked great. it was quiet and very easy to installed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps the tank Clean!

PostedFebruary 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Crete,Il.
I found this to be the best filterfor my 10 gallon turtle tank. I've had Rocky for about 15 years and went thru a number of filters. This one is small but efficient and quiet. I clean the sponges each time I change the water about once a week or two. It's very easy to use, and takes a lot less time to deal with than bigger more complicated filters. Definately give this a try! Just make sure you use the charcoal and replace the sponge containers the right way. I put one in backwards and had to pry it out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps it clean!!!

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Coral Springs, FL
I have 2 baby turtles (Lilo & Stich) in a 10" tank. The filter is great it really keeps my turtles tank clean. It's quiet, and easy to install; the electric cable is safely protected so it won't harm the turtles. It's small enough to givethem swiming space, but big enough to catch all the waste. In fact, my turtles love it so much "lilo" sleeps on it sometimes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It all depends on what you use it for

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
"I am using this for a 5.5g tank with two african dwarf frogs. It's perfect, as they need filtering, but don't make much mess. This is far better than a fish filter for them, because it has no moving parts or intake valves where they can get stuck. Unbelievably quiet - if I didn't see the moving water, I wouldn't know it was on. That said, reading the reviews of people using this for turtles, I am not surprised at some of the unhappiness. Turtles are VERY messy. This is NOT rated for a 30g tank - it cycles 30g per hour. There is a big difference. This is intended for a small tank, and i have my doubts whether it would be good for anything but the smallest (baby) turtles without a second filtering source. With turtles, you need to get DOUBLE the capacity of whatever it's rated for fish. Bottom line: turtle owners should be using CANNISTER filters. That's the only way to have any chance of keeping a turtle tank clean. And you need a large volume tank - about 30g per turtle except for babies."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

PostedNovember 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Kapolei,Hawaii
So far so good water,flows crystal clear water but its only been working one day on thejob so well see?
But kinda expensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save your Money

PostedOctober 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have this filter for my four month old Penn Cooter
,I have to change his water and clean his tank twice a week, and the filter is very hard to clean. May be this could be used as a back up but I wouldn't waste the money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A life saver

PostedJanuary 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
We have 2 filter systems in our 55 gallon tank, 1 (tetra whisper) under gravel and this little one on top. We had our main system (whisper) go out and this little one picked up the slack and maintained it for a few days. We have had this one for about 4 months and are very happy with it still. Im not sure how it would do alone but it is a GREAT back up plan.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zoo Med Save Your Reptiles Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

what happens

PostedAugust 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
what happens after 2 months I have the same filter, change the cartridges etc, but it is dirtier and dirtier....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>