petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter

Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter

Easy-priming turtle tank filter for tanks, vivariums, box turtle pools or aquariums up to 30 gallonsTurtle Clean canister filter comes with spray bar system, mechanical filter sponge, biologically active ceramic media and carbonWater pump motor can run dry up to 30 daysOne year guarantee
Average Customer Rating:
3.32 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
5
14 out of 25(56%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Review 1 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never worked

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
TurtleSlave
from Boston MA
I bought this to replace the much smaller Zoo Med filter I use for my turtle, hoping that I would not have to change the water as frequently. Unfortunately it did not work at all. I consider this a total waste of time and money. I tried setting up multiple times, changed elevation of filter and water level and it never worked more than a trickle after the first few minutes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
ninjaturtle
from UT
Don't buy this unless you like getting frustrated and cleaning fliters every week. No joke every single weekend you will be cleaning this if you want it to work. I found it to be totally ineffective and a complete waste of money. I have one baby Florida Red-bellied Cooter in a 40gal breeder roughly 1/2 full- This says it will do 30 gallons. It doesn't. It will run ok for a couple of days then the cascade tube, the plastic tube with the holes in it, will barely trickle. I feed my turtle out of the tank and wait until he does his business to put him back in and it still can't handle it. It is made of cheap plastic that will break if you aren't very careful assembling it. Waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

impossible to clean!

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dragonfly57
from NY
I cant imagine how this product has as many stars as it does... I found it to be totally ineffective and a complete waste of money. I have one red eared slider in a 40gal breeder roughly 1/2 full- so a filter advertised for "up to 30 gallons" should work well. I thought an external canister filter would be easier to clean and not take up any precious space in her tank. Within a week, the trickle of water from the cascade tube had slowed to a dribble and the tubes were completely BLACK with algae. I had to check the picture on the box to remind myself if they were supposed to be clear- they were THAT dirty! by week two I had to dismantle the entire thing to scrub and soak each piece, do a serious gravel vacuum and 1/2 water change... the tank was filthier than I'd ever seen it. That was a week ago and guess what? murky water again- and clogged tubes. The ONLY thing this filter has going for it is its silence. But you would get that from not having a filter at all and frankly, twice weekly vacuums would be less work than cleaning this thing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not all its hyped to be

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
reptyguy
from Hagerstown, MD
I have two red earded sliders in about 20 gallons of water with this filter and it does not keep up. The tubing gets green and is next to immposible to keep clean. And I have to disasambly the whole unit every weekend or the tubing get clogged and does'nt work right. Would not reccomened this to even my enimes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this filter is junk

PostedJune 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
turtlemike
this filter is the biggest piece of trash i have ever used. i use it in a 20 gallon tank with 1 turtle half full of water. within 2 days i need to do a full water change. even using better carbon, it doesnt help. i am hoping to return it when my new filter arrives.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

quick delivery but..

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
AndyF
one hard plastic tube missing from box. One plastic anchor for tubing broke immediately. I hope the pump holds up better than the small plastic parts. Glad I had other parts to substitute for missing and broken pieces. Had one week.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

little tricky

PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
maljess0303
little tricky at hooking this filter up because the picture on the box and the instructions are totally opposite. go by the instructions! it works great with another filter in my 55gal. with a turtle, the tubes get dirty so fast, so make sure to keep them clean. overall we are highly satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy this filter !

PostedJune 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hilo
Best purchase I've made so far with regards to keeping my young red eared sliders healthy - easy to set up and prime and so quiet you don't even know it's in the room - the lid is a little tricky to get off at first but I have a feeling that will get easier as the locks get a little more used - I used just regular polyester fiber instead of the very restricting foam filter that came with it - also took the carbon out of the bag and put it in a nylon stocking that I cut down and tied so I can just buy a bulk container of carbon and replace monthly instead of getting expensive pre made carbon packets
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Good

PostedMay 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
TBECK
When i first bought this i really thought i had my money's worth. It was quiet and it did an okay job for it's price. Then six months later, i clean it out which i always do on Saturdays. I cleaned it out and placed it back in and hooked it up. It stopped working. I keep on fixing around with it but it wouldn't work. So for your own good, do not buy this because it just eats your money and and falls asleep.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedMay 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
MacsimumMyers
from Palm Harbor Florida
Once set up correctly this filter works like a charm. It's for 30 gallons or below but It does a great job with a low load 55 gallon as well. Works well for Axolotls as you can minimize current with the adjustable out flow tube.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zoo meds 501 sponge filter

PostedFebruary 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Zembonie2
Great product, easy setup, very quiet, only problem I had was figuring out how to make it start, then after trial and error i found that the solution was to raise the top of the external filter above the level of the water
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So quite....shhh

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
johnteddy
I finally was able to purchase this very good filter. It only takes minutes to clean and replace the filters. Not to mention it does not cost as much to replace either. And did i also mention that it whispers? It is the best cheapest realiable filter for turtles. I recommend this to anyone that doesnt have much money to spend on turtles. Considering the fact that they tend to poo alot, you need a reliable filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

must read this

PostedNovember 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
researchit
I bought the zoo med 501 for my 20 long tutle tank. Set it up very easy sometimes takes awhile to prime. Ran it and thought it did just ok until I read another reviewt suggested putting the charcaol bag on the bottom and the ceramic medium on top. Well I did and wow what a difference in the flow of water comming out of the wand its like a whole new filter, this think rocks. I almost returned it glad I didnt dont pay attention to the directions hwen it comes to the medium
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filter

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
blwatson
from Bloomington, IN
I bought this filter about a week ago, and it has been the best filter purchase to date. I have a 3.5 year old red eared slider in a 30 gallon tank. This filter works flawlessly and makes cleaning the tank a breeze. Just make sure that you fill canister all the way to the top to prime (oops). All in all this filter works perfect for the setup I have. Great deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ali
This is the 3rd brand of filter I've purchased, and the best. It keeps my turtle's water clean for over a week, and it gives her more room to swim around. I would recommend this to any turtle owner. Even though the price is a little bit high, it's an investment that is well worth it, because I found myself paying more for filter cartriges with other filtration systems than I payed for this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good at first...

PostedApril 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
ZSkorinko
It was working fantastically for a few months but when i introduced a second small turtle it apparently couldn't handle it and it's now dying...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJuly 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joshua
I just bought this filter and it seems to work great so far, and it eliminated the stench of the tank fast, because it is a 2 chamber process, first it sucks water into the carbon chamber which absorbs the ammonia, that chamber is big, then it goes into the mechanical sponge chamber which filters and sends the clean water back into the tank
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Works great when it works!

PostedJune 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
dregone
I have gone 3 of these. The first two stopped working when a pebble clogged them overnight and the motor burnt out. The third sustained a crack in teh plastic container and poured water all over my counter. They are expensive and should be made better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the price

PostedApril 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
crazyexpo
from Columbus, GA
To the point I used this on a 20 gal tank with 2 turtles. This thing had 10 gal of water and worked likeit was filtering 100 gal. But on the flip side it worked great in my 8 gal feeder tank. The Fluval 4 works great. have 3 all running 30 to 40 gal each.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean 501 Turtle Tank External Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

zoo med reptiles 501

PostedFebruary 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
77hardy
from ny
I love the Zoo Med 501 filter for turtles it works so great I have it in a 75 gallon tank with several small turtles and the tank never gets dirty , I have never had to change the water to the tank I have had to add water because it lowers after a couple of weeks . I just cleaned the filter and sponge and I have had it for over four months and this is the first time I cleaned the filter. The trick to have a clean turtle tank is to not over feed your turtle I feed mine pellets and kale and not every day because if you do you will get cloudy water I switch them off and on like every other day. the tank is almost all the way full except about maybe 8 inches off with 2 large turtle docks also bought at petco and they only work good if you have small or medium sized turtles . I hope this helps you in buying your product
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>