petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry Mardel 5 in 1 Test Strips for Saltwater & Freshwater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Sentry Mardel 5 in 1 Test Strips for Saltwater & Freshwater

Virbac Mardel 5 in 1 Test Strips for saltwater and freshwater aquariums
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sentry Mardel 5 in 1 Test Strips for Saltwater & Freshwater
Review 1 for Sentry Mardel 5 in 1 Test Strips for Saltwater & Freshwater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It Works For Me

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
I used this to see if my fish tank's pH was too high or low, but I also checked the others. (The five are nitrate, nitrite, total hardness, total alkalinity/buffering capacity, and pH.) It worked but I had trouble matching the colors up. I am not sure if I have trouble because the strips are messed up or because the strips are so old. I have had this kit for about 2 years now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry Mardel 5 in 1 Test Strips for Saltwater & Freshwater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

So-So

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from PA
Product worked well for the first few weeks, but after that the test results were very sparatic, it's better to take the extra time and use a chemical kit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry Mardel 5 in 1 Test Strips for Saltwater & Freshwater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to Use

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Poulsbo, WA
Measures all the important levels in the aquarium with very easy to read results. Included diagrams/color charts show if levels or normal or where you need to adjust.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry Mardel 5 in 1 Test Strips for Saltwater & Freshwater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedApril 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I have helped with water testing before using the tablets and vials. I like using these strips much better. Even a beginner can use these and get accurate readings. I will be buying more of these.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry Mardel 5 in 1 Test Strips for Saltwater & Freshwater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Complete Test Kit

PostedFebruary 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
This test kit measures everything that you would need to know about your tank's water quality. The test strips are easy to read. It also comes with a detailed booklet on water quality that is filled with useful information.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry Mardel 5 in 1 Test Strips for Saltwater & Freshwater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedJuly 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Beaverton, OR
For $18 these test strips are amazing. Normally I shy away from the unbelievably cheap products, but these test strips work just as well, possibly even better than mixing and pouring liquids and test tubes in your water. You just dip in you water for 1 second, take it out, wait 30 seconds and then compare to the chart.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry Mardel 5 in 1 Test Strips for Saltwater & Freshwater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no guess work!

PostedFebruary 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Kennewick, Wa.
This product is fast, easy, and reliable! Takes the guess work out of providing a healthy enviroment for your fish-y friend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry Mardel 5 in 1 Test Strips for Saltwater & Freshwater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to Use!

PostedJanuary 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Very fast and easy to use. Great buy if you don't want to have to go to your local fish store to get your water tested.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry Mardel 5 in 1 Test Strips for Saltwater & Freshwater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mardel 5 in 1 Test Strips

PostedMay 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Lakewood, Wa
This product is not only fast but also very easy to read and to understand. The test results are always accurate and I rely on them greatly. I would highly recommend these test strips to anyone from the not so experienced to the experienced fish owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.