petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps

Tetra Whisper Air Pumps

Patented dome shape and sound dampening chambers minimize turbulence and produce a smooth quiet stream of airTetra Whisper Air Pumps come in sizes for 10 gallon up to 100 gallon aquariumsThe New Shape of Silence
Average Customer Rating:
4.109 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 119 reviews
5 stars
70
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
13
96 out of 119(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Review 1 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so bubbles, much wow.

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
leeru
from fargo, nd
had to get a replacement pump after my last one of 10 years died. i love this pump, it is completely silent, i dont even have it resting on its feet, its leaning on its side between my canister filters, and there is no annoying vibrating noise. my last pump vibrated so bad i had it on like a pillow to cut down the noise. not so with this pump.
this pump is powering a bubble wall that runs the length of my 55gallon tank, and it looks awesome.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It doesn't whisper at all.

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Smellsfishy
from Lutz fl
Purchased as an extra source of oxygen while I was heat treating ick. Pumps works great and makes plenty of bubbles but is super loud. Returned and purchased a second hob filter instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

veary good

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
coltsrock
from texas
i am veary pleased with it the only down side is that it does not have an air line when you bye it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good!

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bergerman
from Hilltown, PA
This pump is working great after a few weeks. It's super quiet and works really well!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Look No Further Go for it

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
BornToExplore
from Iowa
This is very quiet Pump, I had bought Txx Fxx product before which was noisy but had it returned and bought this Tetra Whisper Pump for my 10 gallon tank this one is only 3$ more than the basic pump but is lot more quiet and efficient. Look no further go for it..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very quiet

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
treatthemkindly
from Al.
It's quiet and works well-doesn't jump around-easy to set up and put to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

So-so

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
JitterBugz
from San Diego, CA
The big problem with this air pump is that it can vibrate very loud. A simple lift and shift in position makes it quieter but it doesn't last long.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good pump

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
pasha2001
from florida
its an ok pump it has great power and can handle more than one air bubbler. But it is kind of noisy, but its worth it( so mush better than the petco brand air pump-so noisy)
good product well worth the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Loud..will be returning

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
troutman
from North Carolina
I purchased this pump based on reviews and to update a 25 year old Whisper pump. The noise from this pump drove me crazy for 2 days and I will be returning it. My 25 yr old pump is quieter than this new model. I think I will try the PETCO brand since the reviews are better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Pumps

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
rickysladynow
from Dallas, Texas
I have used these in the past and are great. Very quiet as well. I would buy them again if needed
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and quiet, just like a pump should be

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
FishyVT
from Lyndon, VT
I'm using this pump for my 55 gallon tank. The dual air ports allow me to use one for my air stones throughout the tank, and the other for my under gravel filter. Only issue I have is when I bump it and it rubs against a wall and vibrated horribly. But thats my fault, not the pump's.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, reasonable price

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
DMD123
from Tacoma
This is a good little air pump that seems to have plenty of air pressure behind it. I have used a couple of these over the years and been very happy with their durability vs the money spent. Ive spent more on expensive air pumps and did not get any better longevity or quietness so I rate these very good in comparison.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Works, kinda...

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
JetBlack
from Sacramento CA
The pump works and provides a lot of bubbles. The problem is the whisper part. The pumps after awhile start humming that becomes an annoying drone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quite and reliable

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mermaidchic
from St.Pete., FL
It does exactly what it's called whispers. I like it comes with a presser adjusted to adjust bubble amount, but hoes and bubbler not included. I like it and it works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
BDizzle
from Raleigh, NC
The Tetra Whisper air pump is very quiet when in use and small enough to keep out of sight. Definitely worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of quite power

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mrhappy817
from Mass
This is a very quite pump. if you run the pump with no valve it can get a little nosie but the volume that you get can air a very big tank. I would recommend getting a valve to control the volume of air you get. I got the whisper 20 for my 30gal tank and it puts out to much air. The fish didn't like all the bubbles, just turned the valve down and I have happy fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product but...

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
DaMasta
from Phx
I've used these air pumps for about 6-7 years in various tanks...mostly with a 100gallon. I presently use three (3) pumps...2 Whisper 100's, and a Whisper 60 in my 100G. tank. What I would like to see mentioned, and have yet to see a comment about is that these pumps diaphrams will tear and quit pumping in 8-24 mos. You might as well plan on buying the kits within that time period. It's a shame that none of the pet stores that carry these pumps handle these rubber diaphram valve replacements. Other than that, I do love these pumps.....wish these were sold with a kit in each new one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Quay
Very Quiet! Many Bubbles!
You Forget That's It On!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does the job, but is noisy

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
nygirl35
from austin tx
I purchased the "for aquariums up to 20 gallons" model, or SKU 997579 for my 20 gallon tank.
I have tried this filter on a few different surfaces - up, down, etc. and the hum is extremely loud on all. I was hoping the Whisper would live up to its name, but it didn't.
It does produce a nice stream of air - I have it powering two airstones currently, with lots of bubbles. Looking for something quieter to replace it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tetra Whisper Air Pumps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best air pump

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Skrapps
from Los Angeles
I'm new in the fish hobby,and before I purchased this air pump I did lots of researching,so i liked the reviews.And let me tell you that I'm very happy with this purchase,NO REGRETS.....VERY QUIET HAVE IT IN MY LIVING ROOM AND CAN'T REALLY HEAR IT EVEN WITH THE TV OFF......AND I HAVE THE 60 gallon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>