petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles

TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles

Uses whisper filtration technologyAmphibian and reptile tank filter works in as little as 2" of waterThree-stage filtration removes debris, discoloration, odors and ammoniaFrog, newt and turtle tank filter is perfect for waterfalls
Average Customer Rating:
4.186 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
34 out of 43(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Review 1 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tetra Fauna Filter

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bronx
This is an AAA+ filter. Keep away from gravel/sand and it is the best low water filter I have ever installed. Water stays clear and clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Really?

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
I bought this product for my small Red Eared Slider to put in a 20 gallon tank. I have had it for a year. It does not pick up the grime that he leaves on the gravel that lies on the bottom of the tank, so i am forced to clean my tank very frequently. I was recently told that for a turtle, you should buy 3x the filter from how big your tank is. But i thought, for the price, it should pick up everything. In all, I was pretty displeased with my filter, and if you have a turtle, encourage you not to get this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good product but motor clogs easily

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I use this to filter a small pond in my hermit crab terrarium. It's perfect for that purpose as well as humidifying their tank. I glued small pebbles all over it, and it looks great. I stick filter pad material in between the intake vents and the intake to the motor, and that helps prevent clogging. Even so, that only works for so long. I've already had to replace one motor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I needed

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
It's a good filter. Works great to keep the tank water clean, clear and odorless, but it doesn't really pick up big debris, so I don't recommend feeding your turtle in the tank.
The only thing I really don't like about this filter is the fact that the clean water coming out of the filter falls right in front of the intake area, and that water pushes away any possible tiny debris that it could be removing from the water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to set up and clean

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
A little loud but overall great. So easy to set up, just plug in and go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great filter

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Florida
This filter is great. It's pretty quiet when it flows and makes a nice waterfall effect. My turtle also loves playing in it. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very good filter

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Roanoke, VA
We have 2 red eared sliders in one tank and we were using a fish tank filter and having to change those filters at least once a week. I bought this filter and WOW what a difference. The water is crystal clear and keeps the smell under control.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Works great at first....

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Mo
I have gone through 2 of these filters in 4 months. At first it works great. The water flows through nicely ad the tank is clean. Then slowly the water coming out of the filter is less ans less until it is just a small trickle, leaving my tank green. I do a weekly water change, and I have taken it apart and cleaned everything but nothing seems to help. Also the filters are quite expensive and have to be changed once a week, 10 days max. I am switching to a zoomed 501
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best for turtles or frogs

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Visalia, CA
This filter works perfectly. The cool thing it's easy to install it picks up my turtles mess that they make I think it's the best filter you can have for the price and the turtles.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Filter for Turtles

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
I have a red-eared slider and this filter has worked wonderfully. It is easy to clean and keeps the tank so clean. It is also sturdier than most, my turtle can't detach it from the side of the tank, he has detached lines and filters from the sides of his tank before. This is overall the best filter I have found for him. He also seems to love to get right under the fountain of water that comes out and let it pour over his shell. Changing the filter every couple of weeks is really the only cleaning it needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good filter with a huge con

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Edison, NJ
The filter itself is great. It is very quiet and keeps the tank very clean. I have a 4 inch RES and he is pretty messy, but his tank is crystal clear because of this filter.
HOWEVER, the suction cups on the back are not strong enough to hold the filter up. It causes the filter to either tilt sideways (causing dirty water to go back into the tank), or sink below the water (making it ineffective). There is no point in having a great filter if it's mechanisms do not allow it to work. I wouldn't recommend this filter until the problem with the suction cups is fixed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Far So Great

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from California
I first bought a Tetra Whisper because I thought with the amount of water in the tank that I wouldn't even need to waste any money on a bigger filter. Well, I was wrong because that piece of trash did not work what-so-ever.
I bought this filter, by the same Tetra company, with low expectations because it only costs $6.00 more than the compact Whisper. When I got the product it was absolutely much, much better than I ever expected. To be able to see my tank get cleaned for the first time properly without me stressing out my turtle and rearranging his home gave me SO MUCH relief.
The package says it can be used for waterfalls and I have to agree, the amount of water it filters provides a nice, strong flow (I initially figured this was a gimmick for advertising). I can't recommend this product enough because rarely do you actually spend money on something that exceeds your expectations like this one did for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Keeps water clean, but burns out quickly.

PostedJune 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
While installing it, I did exactly what the box said, but I ended up having to make the holes for the suction cups bigger in order for them to fit.
When I got over that, it seemed like a great product for a while. But after only three months it stopped working. I bought another, and that one only lasted about four months. I wouldn't recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tetra ReptoFilter for Frogs, Newts, and Turtles

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
i have the large version of this filter in my 50 gallon turtle tank filled with about a little over 40 gallons of water and it keeps my water crystal clear. i would definitely recommend this product. if you have a 20-50 gallon tank i would recommend the larger version at 125 GPH and before i upgraded my tank i had the 90 GPH version in my 15 gallon and it worked great so i would recommend these!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great purchase

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
My water is so clear I don't have to change water as often which is great for me and my 7 year old son.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

works good but quits

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
I think the filter works great but just burns up. I have replaced about 6 of them in the last 2 years. I just cannot recommend it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great filter

PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
i have this filter in my 55gal, along with the zoo med 501. they keep my tank crystal clear and that is very hard to do with a turtle. we have it in both of our tanks and we are very satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Miami, FL
This filter is perfect for 20g or less, it's inexpensive and more reliable than the 501 and the submersible one by zoo med, it's only 17.99 in my stores and it works great, keeps water crystal clear in my 20L turtle tank, it's also very quiet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exceptional filter

PostedJune 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
I've had this filter for about 2 years now, and it's works the same as the day I hooked it up. It's VERY quiet, and unless the water level is too low or there aren't rocks placed for the water to pour onto, you wouldn't even know it was on! My two RES hatchlings have grown a lot in 2 years, so about 7 months ago I upgraded from a 10 gallon to a 30 gallon. The filter still does the job! However, I do need to change it more frequently, so I'll probably upgrade my filter as well. I would recommend this filter to anyone with a 20 gallon tank or smaller.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for TetraFauna ReptoFilter For Frogs, Newts & Turtles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good filter

PostedFebruary 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
this filter is good for a tank smaller than 20 gallons and for a very low water level. more than 3 inches of water in a tank 20 gallons, this filter is ok but not great. i have a 20L and this filter keeps the water clear but food settles at the bottom of my tank in between the rocks and water heater. all in all its a good filter if u keep the water very low. i kno im going to need a more powerful one for my tank:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>