petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel

Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel

Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Exercise Wheel"
Average Customer Rating:
3.505 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
19
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
22
67 out of 97(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Review 1 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super silent

PostedDecember 25, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Texas
The silent spinner is a very appropriate name.. Unfortunately, like most wheels that are constantly used, it will eventually wear out. If the pet using this wheel isn't very heavy, it will probably last longer than it did for my nearly one pound hedgehog. He LOVES his wheel and ran on it for hours on end at night. The wheel lasted about a year before it just fell apart. I will be buying another one soon. Another drawback of this wheel is that it is curved so that if the animal messes in the wheel, it STAYS in the wheel.. causing him/her to run in his/her own mess. This means you need to clean it more frequently than wheel that aren't curved. Other than that, this is THE quietest wheel out there. Trust me, I've been through every single wheel petstores sell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+32points
33of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fun wheel

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from 10002
cant let your pet out the cage well this exercise wheel is just for them they will enjoy hours of fun well worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Deal for the Hamster's Needs

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I have a large syrian hamster named Bean. she had a small silent spinner and now we have the huge spinner! I wont have to worry about future back problems now! The spinner was on a great sale and I got it, and it was shipped and to my house when it said! everything was speedy and on time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

purple wheel

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
The wheel is okay, its pretty loud but my hedgehog loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This thing is HUGE

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I read a few places that the Silent Spinner is great. I bought the 6.5" and it seemed nice - but that size is too small for my Syrian hamster as he has to arch his back.
This 12" is the next size up ... it is TOO BIG
The company really needs an 8" wheel
sad
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved by my chinchilla

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chico, Ca
This 12" in wheel was a great purchase for my chinchilla. Right after putting it in his cage he jump on and took off, it was great to see him enjoying it. I left the base on the wheel and also hooked it to the side of the cage so it would be more stable. It is as it said, silent spinner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet!

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bellevue NE
My hedgehog was so noisy all night on his old wheel. This new wheel is much quieter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Baby Chinchilla

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
I have a 3 month old chinchilla I have to keep separate from my other two because the younger of the other two is jerk to her. I have a massive ChinSpin for the others but I couldn't afford another one so I gave this a go...I don't like that it's plastic but she's not much of a chewer so it's not a huge issue in my case. She won't be able to use it before the close of the year though; even at 12" it's just not big enough for an adult chin. It is markedly more quiet than any other plastic wheel and that's what i was after so I'd recommend it as a starter for sure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For my rats

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from FL
I got this wheel for my three dumbo rats, its very big and is perfect size for them. Luckily it fits inside my Petco Rat Manor perfectly.
I was worried they wouldn't want to use this but I got it for them anyway, for those times I'm not able to play with them when they need their exercise. But I can hear it going right now! 2 of my rats really enjoy using this everyday, my third one, not so much. But 2 out of 3 isn't so bad.
Upon trying to figure out how I take this apart so I can fit it in the cage, it slipped out of my hands and shattered on the floor. Its cheap plastic and will break if you drop it. Luckily I only split the colored part and could easily glue & tape it together. It still works but I am so disappointed it had shattered in the first place.
It is not 100% silent, but nothing ever is. Compared to other wheel's out there, this is probably the most silent one. And if they run on it really fast, I noticed it sorta shakes the whole cage. That worries me, but the wheel seems pretty secure.
Online, they don't let you pick a color. I got stuck with blue but went to Petco and easily exchanged it for purple!
I would recommend this for rats, baby or full grown. Introducing it to them as a baby will help them get used to it by the time they're an adult, and the size is great so they'll grow into it anyway.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Silent is right!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MA.
I have bought other wheels and not only were the Chinchillas up at night, we were too with the squeak squeak of those other wheels. This wheel is so quiet and safe for your babies with no holes that they can catch their feet or toes in. I would buy another when time calls
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle,Wa
This is the best wheel on the market. My gerbils have the 12 inch wheel and its perfect. They can run correctly (most wheels are too small ) , without worry of them hurting themselves. They are happy running, in this large wheel, they can really fly. I recommend this wheel as it is made very good and it is easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

hate it!

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
This product is terrible. My hedgehog loves it, I hate it. It is the loudest thing in the entire world. If I attach it to the bars of her cage it makes this creaking noise.If I have it on the stand it makes a creaking noise AND it moves around while shes on it, and the noise that it makes if it touches the cage wall is enough to wake the dead. This would be a fine wheel for a daytime pet, but me and my nocturnal hedgehog can no longer share a room at night when she is awake.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York
The silent wheel really works, I have the smaller one for my hamster and the 12" for my two rats. If you have rats you need the 12" size, the other two sizes available are much too small. But the wheel is definitely much quieter than the metal ones and the plastic bottom is comfortable for their feet, so much better than the mesh wheels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Largest Wheel I've Seen

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
This is a good wheel for my rats (even though only one of them uses it). It is not completely silent. I think the amount of noise is dependent on the type of cage you have and how you attach it/position it. I first tried the next size down wheel for my rat but she kept on sleeping off so this was the best choice because she fits in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not silent

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from ca
it bounces and makes so much noise my girls can hardly run more than two to three seconds at a time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It'd be a good product.... if I didn't receive it broken

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from PA
I had this wheel shipped to me along with a couple of other things. Everything else was fine but this wheel was completely cracked. There's no way that my hamster could've used it without getting hurt. I am going to have to return it because of the damage but also because the wheel is way too big for my hamster. I noticed that the only sizes were small & giant. My hamster already had the small one & was falling off so I thought the giant one would be the way to go. Guess not. I wish there was a medium sized one. So overall, the wheel seems like it would've kept my hamster entertained, happy, & safe if it wasn't damaged & if there had been an option for a medium-sized wheel..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pulls hair out

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ione ca.
I have 2 chinchillas that we thought were getting spoiled by getting all the best stuff. We are upset after everything we buy from your store that our babes would be missing there fur due to this product. We will not be buying from you again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad, bad, bad

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
Silent spinner is definitely NOT silent. It's been driving me insane for the last week and I'm returning it. The rubber bearings make an insane amount of noise, plus the claws against plastic have kept me up for the last week.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Texas
This wheel is so loud and hard to clean, I do not recommend any one to buy this wheel. My chinchilla loves it but it is so loud!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet Large Silent Spinner 12" Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

As good as it gets

PostedJune 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New Mexico
My rats love this wheel, and I chose this because their little toes and tails can't get caught in anything, so it's pretty comfortable for them.
However, i'm giving this a 4 (3.5 if I could) because it was very expensive (in store), and only quiet if my rats WALK on it, but my rats like to run as fast as they can and it wobbles very loudly. I'm afraid it's going to fall apart soon. I've had it for a little under a month.
I cannot find anything better though. The more affordable/durable ones are not comfy for their little feet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>